Doom 3 Absolute Mod [Easy installer for SikkMod+HD Textures]

Discussion in 'Game Tweaks and Modifications' started by CPC_RedDawn, Oct 5, 2014.

  1. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    I've finished adjusting the necessary files to make the BFG and Plasma Phrozo effects compatible with AbsoluteHD mod. Should also work just fine with plain old sikkmod and vanilla D3. Also included a different splash screen (This one) though moved the '3' to underneath to center the image better.

    This little pack just includes the Phrozo effects for the Plasmagun and BFG only.

    Download (PM me if link goes dead): zPhrozoBfgPlasmaAbsoluteCompatible.pk4 13.8mb

    For screenshots, just checkout the original mod author source: ModDB
     
  2. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,115
    Likes Received:
    1,690
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Works better with poison, but now when I meet NPC's and cut scenes go off the game crashes with those settings.

    This is fun. =]
     
  3. noGuruATall

    noGuruATall Active Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    gtx 580 3GB
    Can u reupload?



    Btw how can I fix this?

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2015
  4. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    open D3DOverrider then enable triple buffering before start the game.

    D3DOverrider can get it from RivaTuner

    do we still need this mod?
     

  5. noGuruATall

    noGuruATall Active Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    gtx 580 3GB
    Can I use NVIDIA Inspector?
     
  6. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    can y not. hehe..
     
  7. noGuruATall

    noGuruATall Active Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    gtx 580 3GB
    Your PM box is full. Can u reupload?
     
  8. noGuruATall

    noGuruATall Active Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    gtx 580 3GB
    Triple buffering not help. Error is still visible.
     
  9. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    what kinda error?
     
  10. noGuruATall

    noGuruATall Active Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    gtx 580 3GB
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     

  11. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,115
    Likes Received:
    1,690
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Are you running SSAO? I didn't have mirror reflections or correct shadows with SSAO.
     
  12. noGuruATall

    noGuruATall Active Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    gtx 580 3GB
    Thank you. I disabled Crytek SSAO and error is gone. It's barely visible with HDAO. But IMO Crytek mode looks better.

    zPhrozoBfgPlasmaAbsoluteCompatible.pk4 13.8mb - anyone?
     
  13. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    2,012
    GPU:
    MSI 6800XT Gam. X
    Try using HBAO as it suits nvidia GPUs better (HDAO is basically the AMD equivalent).

    Also, I'm using VO as it seems to mimick the effect of HDAO / HBAO but has much less impact on performance.

    Granted, quality isn't as good, but I think VO's a good tradeoff.
     
  14. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    2,012
    GPU:
    MSI 6800XT Gam. X
    As this pack seems to include / have everything on by default, here's some general perf tips for SikkMod newcomers (some of these have been mentioned already):

    - disable soft shadows
    - disable occlusion mapping (note: you can move the contents of glprogs folder elsewhere, you needn't delete it)
    - disable SSIL if on
    - disable in-game antialiasing from Doom 3 Options (use driver-level AA instead if possible)

    I have the above disabled and basically everything else enabled, including Bokeh DOF.
    Mostly stable 60 fps with occassional drops, downsampled to 1080p from 1440p (VSR).

    For further performance, disable or adjust SSAO.
    You may also disable Motion Blur or use only Camera setting.
    Alternatively HDR / DOF, however IMO disabling these has a too noticeable effect on image quality.

    PS: downloaded, installed, tried and uninstalled this one.
    Very good-looking with all the bells and whistles, but I couldn't stand the changes made to gameplay.
    IMO gameplay should be left as is with graphics mods.

    Reverting back to "manual" SikkMod :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2015
  15. Niga619

    Niga619 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD 6870 OC (Spoil)
    re upload pls
    ty in advance
     

  16. Shataan

    Shataan Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    95
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080 RTX
    Ok, I`d like to try this. Which exact link do I download the easy installer from? Thx. I just want it to work, cause I am not fluent with dicking around in the .inis etc.
     
  17. kanej2007

    kanej2007 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,394
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB
    Thanks to the op for the information and link.

    As from yesterday I downloaded and ran the mod.

    Needless to say it looks beautiful!

    The only issue I have is poor fps, between 20-60 fps with the occasional dip below 10!

    What do you suggest toning down/disabling in order to get a constant frame rate of 60 fps with a single GTX 580 3gb?

    Thanks gurus.
     
  18. kanej2007

    kanej2007 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,394
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB
    Thanks for the tip AsiJu. I followed your guide and I'm getting much better results, not a fluid 60fps but almost. There is still the occasional frame rate drop somewhere in the 40's at times...

    Any other setting that can be slightly reduced without having an impact on image quality yet offer a frame rate boot?

    Soft shadows was the worst drop in fps for me & when disabling it there was a huge difference in performance...
     
  19. thokkiano

    thokkiano Master Guru

    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA Hybrid Titan XP 2016
    Is this mod for doom 3 BFG edition?
     
  20. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Dont believe it is, just original
     

Share This Page