Does FXAA really beat MLAA in IQ? A little comparison…

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by walkingdog, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. walkingdog

    walkingdog Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4850
    Does FXAA really beat MLAA in IQ? A little comparison…


    E6500, 4GB RAM, ASUS 6850
    FXAA:beta version 8
    MLAA:CCC 11.8
    Disable all normal AA when using FXAA or MLAA
    Note:modern games use check points instead of free save/load,
    for those using check points the angles of polygons among pics may be a little different,
    this will influence the results(jaggies), please keep that in mind.


    DEAD SPACE 2
    [​IMG]


    DEAD SPACE 2:when using FXAA, the light diffusion seems odd…
    [​IMG]



    FEAR 3
    [​IMG]



    FEAR 3
    [​IMG]



    WOLFENSTEIN
    [​IMG]



    WOLFENSTEIN
    [​IMG]



    SINGULARITY(angle fixed)
    [​IMG]



    MASS EFFECT 2(angle fixed)
    [​IMG]



    MASS EFFECT 2(angle fixed)
    [​IMG]



    you can download all png files here
    http://www.filedropper.com/mlaafxaa_1
     
  2. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,604
    Likes Received:
    379
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    I think it definitely does.
     
  3. BlackZero

    BlackZero Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,878
    Likes Received:
    479
    GPU:
    RX Vega
    ^ I take it you've compared them both on a range of games your nvidia card?


    It seems to depend on individual games but looking at those pics I'd say fxaa seems to have a better anti-aliasing effect but it also seems to effect lighting and sharpness, not always in a positive way.
     
  4. Psycho101

    Psycho101 Master Guru

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 460 SLI @ 850/4100
    Indeed, especially in the Mass Effect 2 shots, FXAA appears to smooth edges slightly better.

    However, all the still shots in the world don't show how both methods of Post AA look when the game is in motion. I've seen decent looking AA in stills before only to find that there's noticable crawl/edge shift when moving.

    I'm not ungrateful for you taking the time to do this, quite the opposite. It's a shame that there's no easy way to completelly assess both methods unless you happen to have an AMD card and can actually see the difference for yourself.
     

  5. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,491
    Likes Received:
    265
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Nice post, appreciate the time.

    For most of the pics FXAA seems to kill aliasing more, even looks a little sharper too, win-win for you AMD guys, having the choice of both, as some games are going to suit MLAA better.
     
  6. blinx

    blinx Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 680
    Good stuff exactly the type of camparisons I been wanting to see AMD should hire you:)
     
  7. perosmct

    perosmct Banned

    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    unknown
    something is wrong...fraps count fps should not change numbers shape it's an MLAA effect...

    in all comparison MLAA was always on CCC...!!! and you mixed it with FXAA i believe that's the huge decrease in IQ on some games...

    epic mistake...all pictures should be ignored...:3eyes::bang::pc1::wanker:
     
  8. walkingdog

    walkingdog Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4850
    No,I disabled MLAA in CCC when using FXAA,
    and before using FXAA I would check again that MLAA is disabled.
    (ran the game again to ensure MLAA was already gone)


    http://www.hardocp.com/article/2011/07/18/nvidias_new_fxaa_antialiasing_technology
    http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1623263
     
  9. Ti3Kob

    Ti3Kob Master Guru

    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    980Ti @1505/7600
    Stupid post as always perosmct..
    FXAA and MLAA are both post-processing methods of anti-aliasing.
    So if it's applied to the image on top of Fraps, both will use the effect on the numbers as well, just because it's a part of the image.
    It would require to render the image "before" the Fraps overlay to get unaltered numbers, and it's not possible yet with the implementations we have access to.
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2011
  10. perosmct

    perosmct Banned

    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    unknown
    and how then did you enabled FXAA...because in any game i used FXAA never but NEVER this happened to me...fraps never touched...it is not a 3d app, unlikely amd's mlaa annoys everything because it is a screen aliasing...:3eyes:

    i am asking because i am curious...i can post all these games with fxaa and mlaa...but the frap's numbers on FXAA do not have the same curves as MLAA.:)
     

  11. walkingdog

    walkingdog Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4850
    I already gave you the links above~~
     
  12. walkingdog

    walkingdog Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4850
    I forgot a game that should be tested-Borderlands,
    I played this game with 4x msaa before and annoyed by its jaggies very much.
    Now it’s no longer a problem…

    Borderlands
    [​IMG]



    Borderlands:Under most circumstances I think FXAA is a little better than MLAA.
    [​IMG]




    Below are some tests about gaming texture details,
    I don’t hope MSAA will be gone or replaced unless one day more “beautiful” AA solutions are presented, until then, MSAA is still my first choice…

    MASS EFFECT 2:”less jaggies, less details”, that’s the rule
    [​IMG]



    Borderlands
    [​IMG]



    Singularity:the mountains also an obvious disparity
    [​IMG]



    PNGs here
    http://www.filedropper.com/mlaafxaa2
     
  13. Ti3Kob

    Ti3Kob Master Guru

    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    980Ti @1505/7600
    I said Fraps because you used this word, but I could've said any overlay. I'm having the same exact effect with FXAA using RadeonPro overlay. Maybe Fraps is able to always be rendered on top, that could be logical in some ways. As far as I know, FXAA on AMD cards is only available through a shader injector ATM.
     
  14. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,604
    Likes Received:
    379
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    Out of pure curiosity... Does MSAA work in Mass Effect 2/1 with Radeons?
     
  15. Shagula

    Shagula Master Guru

    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080 Ulltra
    The shots your posted of Borderlands look great with FXAA. I'd be curious to see the impact of VGA ram usage between the traditional methods of AA and FXAA.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2011

  16. nexu

    nexu Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870 512MB (@795/1085)
    DX11 cards only? I know MLAA is, but what about this FXAA injection for AMD? I really wants to pick up Borderlands again, but i cannot stand those jagged edges in the game. But MLAA/FXAA makes it look much better.

    Thanks for posting the screenshots btw.
     
  17. phill1978

    phill1978 Master Guru

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 1GB 5850@840/1140
    I tinkered with morphological post processing and it gave an unusually high performance hit in battlefield BC2 and UT3-BE compared with x8 AA in BF and x2 SuperSampling MSSA in UT3


    for my money x 2 or x 4 Supersampling looks to be a perfect balance. It gives a slight flattening of all ultra crisp details but not an actual Smudge effect like Morphological and from what i can see on these shots Fxaa (although I am yet to try this). on SS You also lose that speckled bitmap scaling effect on textures that are moving towards you.

    One thing I have tried in UT3 and COD MW 2 is x24 SuperSampling CFAA and it retains all the image definition and looks beautifully clear and un disturbed. Obviously every edge is up sampled x24 times the amount and on a 1080p res this is quite a hungry process lol

    hopefully Raedon pro will get a Fxaa option soon for me to try, i do find morphological to look a bit 'console' :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2011
  18. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,643
    Likes Received:
    99
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    I agree, the 4x does look the best! no point setting anistropy to 8x or 16x etc, and texture and other quality to the highest settings, then smudge it out with the wrong antialiasing settings!
     
  19. phill1978

    phill1978 Master Guru

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 1GB 5850@840/1140
    ^ i agree, having top end filtering and textures to make the image crisper only to smudge it once more.

    just played again with morph on UT3 it wasn't as bad a performance hit as i remember on BFBC2 but then again I have updated my drivers a few times since and overclocked. I wouldnt of thought Morph would add much due to it being post process.
    Still, for my money Morph is no good for middle distance objects as you still see them scale and they are jaggy.

    also tried x4 super sampling on MSAA and it looks just great.
     
  20. raclimja

    raclimja Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 970 SC
    son. i am disappointed...:camo:

    where is the obligatory crysis and gta4 test:bang:
     

Share This Page