Does anyone getting black squares in firefox using catalyst 13.1 - 13.2 beta3

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Heihachi88, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,070
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    XFX 5700 XT Thic II
    The only time I got those black squares in firefox is when my HD7950 was overclocked. When I running stock they don't happen.
     
  2. Heihachi88

    Heihachi88 Active Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970M CrossfireX
    I just turned off hardware acceleration - no more black squares ... hope they will fix it soon
     
  3. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,070
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    XFX 5700 XT Thic II
    Actually now that i think about it, There was times where my page was blacked out with a huge black square, like something has eaten the page.
     
  4. DaeDaLuS_015

    DaeDaLuS_015 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970HD OC Dual X
    Hi All,

    First post here but i just thought I'd say that i couldn't agree with this statement any more if i tried:

    "At this point I'm starting to believe that there is something inherently wrong with the HD 7xxx architecture. "

    My Sapphire 7970 OC Dual-X has been a pos since i unboxed it, I've just updated to 13.1 and i have this checkerboard issue, mainly noticeable on the facebook friends bar but I'd seen it flick up in sim city (when i got to play it, ha-ha) from time to time but not often (possibly unrelated). It's entirely reproducible in firefox with hardware acceleration on with my card. It didn't exist in 12.8 but sadly this is all the information i can give since between 12.8 and 13.1 my card has not been stable on a single driver, i get various bluescreens under win 7 from 0x124 through to 0x1A depending on the driver yet was 100% stable on 12.8 which suggests the drivers on my particular card have never been correct from release until now except for on 12.8. A pretty shocking state of affairs for a £300+ card. Not convinced I'll buy a Sapphire, or ATI/AMD card, again.
     

  5. kevsamiga1974

    kevsamiga1974 Master Guru

    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 580 SC
    (This may not work on Windows 8) but if you have Windows 7...

    And I don't even have an 7970 myself but try this if your extremely bored:

    Copy the atikmdag.sy_ and atikmpag.sy_ from 12.8 WHQL over the ones into 13.1 WHQL driver folder
    Copy the driver catalog files from 12.8 into 13.1 folder renaming them to the same numbers as the 13.1 driver catalog files and replacing the originals.

    Install modded 13.1 driver....and click away the modified driver warning nonsense, reboot.

    Any black squares in FF now ?!?

    If there isn't anymore.....it's atikmdag.sys (2D driver component on 7970) that's been screwed up since 12.8. :)

    ---------

    If there is....then further black squares testing fun awaits....

    dropping atidxx32.dll/atidxx64.dll from 12.8 WHQL expanded from the command line with Expand atidxx32.dl_ atidxx32.dll and dropping the expanded 12.8 files into FF root folder and starting firefox from it's own folder.

    In any case should help diagnose what component is to blame. Good luck...
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2013
  6. Valagard

    Valagard Guest

    I get this in Planetside 2 when looking at some hologram displays
     
  7. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
    different size blackboxes flickering & moving around in planetside? that's not the same as the FF issue

    i had a guy on twitter get that on 6970, completely fixed in 7970
     
  8. FrizzleFry

    FrizzleFry Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX Radeon HD 7870 2GB
    I started having this problem as well, when I upgraded my 6870 to a 7870 last week.
    I'm on Windows 8 x64, using Waterfox. I was on Cat 13.1 with the 6870before with no problems, started seeing the black squares when I swapped the cards. The only game I have really played since I got the card is Tomb Raider and it runs fine. The black squares only occur in the browser (but I could swear I have also seen them in IE10), and depending on where they are they will even scroll along with the page. I upgraded the driver to 13.2b7, no change.
     
  9. alexey_detr

    alexey_detr New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX Radeon HD7970
    Have the same issue with my new XFX Radeon HD7970. Even worse, I have played some games and this squares and other glitches appearing as well. I've tried to use Catalyst 12.10 and 13.1 but it's not matter.
    The one thing that I noted is that artifacts appearing only when GPU is heavy loaded. I think it's a driver issue.
    And it seems that solution still not found. That's weird, so many people experiencing this. Don't know should I RMA or just wait the new drivers from AMD.
     
  10. sekta

    sekta Master Guru

    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080
    The problem stopped for me on webpages but it's a 99% occurrence when i hover my mouse on the back button. The back button will become populated with black squares/corruption.
     

  11. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,215
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Try 13.3
     
  12. alexey_detr

    alexey_detr New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX Radeon HD7970
    Thanks! It fixed the Firefox issue.
     
  13. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,215
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Good to hear. :)
     
  14. Benny_26

    Benny_26 Banned

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 970 Strix + SA850

    Yes I do with 13.3 , i usually get the in the toolbar
     
  15. DavidGX

    DavidGX Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon Fury X
    This worked for a while, but then the problem started again. Unfortunate.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2013

  16. dadoremix

    dadoremix New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati XFX 7850 1GB
    hi

    i have also problem with black dots on facebook chat bar

    but i also have another problem with monitor

    computer is working, monitor go sleep, ccca 10 min (windows 8)
    and when i try to wake up, only i see pointer, no desktop, all BLACK.
    Only what i can do is HARD RESET
    to i go back to ATI 12.10 drivers where i dont have these problem + black dosts

    ati 7850 XFX 1GB
     
  17. Norezar

    Norezar Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5970 4GB
    All of the 23's do this for me on two different ATI cards.
     
  18. Daftshadow

    Daftshadow Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    im on 13.4 and getting the black squares and sometimes other weird stuff on Firefox. it goes away if i turn off hardware acceleration. is there any disadvantage to turning it off? i also have a second pc with an ati card as well and seeing the same things with hardware acceleration turned on.
     
  19. sikvdila

    sikvdila Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R9 390X OC
    I have same problem. I see black squares right corner of screen. I have same problem when installed 13.4 catalyst
     
  20. Prasad007

    Prasad007 Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD 7970M 2GB
    Same issue here.. but only on specific sites, such as chat in Facebook.
     

Share This Page