Does anyone getting black squares in firefox using catalyst 13.1 - 13.2 beta3

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Heihachi88, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    If anyone thinks they know the solution, can they post clearly on how and what to disable so we can test?


    As far as I know there is no single page you can load to see the squares? It takes some time. Someone already tested this to affect Windows 7 so it is not just Windows 8.


    I have uninstalled Firefox 18.1 and have installed Firefox 17.0.1 and am still waiting to see the corruption. If Firefox 17 is clean and 18 is not - then that's something to go on. I am testing official Catalyst 13.1.
     
  2. NiColaoS

    NiColaoS Master Guru

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    GTX 1660 SUPER
  3. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
  4. woniu

    woniu Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE HD7850 2048 OC
    I'm using Nightly which means Firefox 21 so it have fixes from all earlier versions too and the problem persists. It's not facebook problem only, but on facebook I can reproduce it easily immediately. I've already reported this to AMD and Mozilla.

    Here i found guy with the same problem as me https://support.mozilla.org/pl/questions/948987?esab=a&s=&r=0&as=s and here is the screenshot of facebook corruption http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/6652/beznazwy1jmy.jpg
     

  5. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    1. This is the correct link for reporting Firefox bugs: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/

    As soon as I confirm it is still present on Firefox 18.0.2 RC, I will report there.

    2. Your picture should be resized down from that huge resolution to make it easier to download and see. It only loaded the top half and yes that is the problem. It is not [only] Facebook. It is a Firefox 18.0 and 18.0.1 problem on web sites.


    We still need someone to confirm it is present on Firefox 18.0.2 RC.
     
  6. woniu

    woniu Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE HD7850 2048 OC
    You can easily check if it happens by going to http://www.nfohump.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=75190&start=120 and scroll slowly up/down. You should see artifacts poping.

    About Firefox 18, like I said earlier Im using Nightly (Firefox 21) so it have fixes which 18 will have.. so yes, it exist there too.

    And this picture is not mine, it's from that link which i posted

    If You have some free time please file a bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/ and post a link to it here or pm me
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2013
  7. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    Yes. I will absolutely post a bug the moment I confirm it has not been resolved in Firefox 18.0.2 RC.


    I cannot reproduce the bug in Firefox 18.0.2 RC, please try to reproduce it using 18.0.2 RC. Firefox 21 is highly experimental, although it does include latest fixes, we cannot use it as proof.

    http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla....s/build1/win32/en-US/Firefox Setup 18.0.2.exe

    I am scrolling down with Firefox 18.0.2 in the link provided without problems on Catalyst 13.1 official.
     
  8. kurtferro

    kurtferro Member Guru

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE NiTRO R9 390 WB
    i have too with 13.2 betas only
     
  9. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
  10. fluidz

    fluidz Master Guru

    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    32
    GPU:
    Msi trio x 2080ti
    Hi,

    Any chance you could take a snapshot of those black squares?
     

  11. kevsamiga1974

    kevsamiga1974 Master Guru

    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 580 SC
  12. Seren

    Seren Master Guru

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Asus Strix RX570
    I'm on Aurora and 13.2 drivers not getting black squares.
     
  13. woniu

    woniu Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE HD7850 2048 OC
    Win7 or 8 ?
     
  14. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    The following Black Sqaures problem has been observed under BOTH Windows 7 and Windows 8 running Catalyst 12.11 Beta or 13.1 or 13.2 Beta and Firefox 18.0 and 18.0.1:

    The solution is to either go back to Catalyst 12.10 or it appears that Firefox 18.0.2 will fix the problem. EDIT: Firefox 18.0.2 RC does *not* fix the problem.

    Wait for official 18.0.2 or download Release Candidate Firefox 18.0.2:
    http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla....s/build1/win32/en-US/Firefox Setup 18.0.2.exe

    This is not limited to Facebook, it appears on other sites as well:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2013
  15. woniu

    woniu Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE HD7850 2048 OC
    So i went ahead and installed Firefox 18.0.2 RC and _still_ having the issues so this is a no go. All versions of firefox are affected
     

  16. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    Thanks for testing.

    So right now it appears that going back to Catalyst 12.10 is the only solution. I am waiting to see it under 18.0.2 myself but if you detected it under 18.0.2 then it doesn't resolve it.


    Just out of curiosity, can you try Firefox 17 or older?
     
  17. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    It took me 24 hours but I finally hit black squares on Firefox 18.0.2 RC. You were right.

    I will start a bug report.
     
  18. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2013
  19. Seren

    Seren Master Guru

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Asus Strix RX570
    My bad forgot to say Win7 x64
     
  20. juzz

    juzz Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI 1080TI Sea Hawk EK X
    Maybe its 7xxx series only issue?

    My 5850 works just fine with FF (nighly), win7 x64
     

Share This Page