Does anyone getting black squares in firefox using catalyst 13.1 - 13.2 beta3

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Catalyst Drivers Section' started by Heihachi88, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. Heihachi88

    Heihachi88 Active Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970M CrossfireX
    Sometimes when i load the pages with javascript - black squares appears on the random place in a firefox window. Someone faced the same issue?
     
  2. kevsamiga1974

    kevsamiga1974 Master Guru

    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 580 SC
    No, because I can't use these drivers but It's certainly a possibility.

    Try turning off firefox hardware acceleration and testing again.
     
  3. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    Absolutely.

    Fresh Windows 8 install no problem but as soon as Catalyst 13.1 is installed, black squares in Firefox.

    Uninstalled. Installed Catalyst 12.10 and no more black squares.


    Are you sure it's Java-related?

    _____________________
    Intel i7 950 [206] BCLK x 20 = 4.12 GHz @ [1.4000] CPU Voltage & [1.35000] QPI/DRAM Uncore Voltage, Batch 3029A40
    2 x 4GB Kingston HyperX T1 DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) [DDR3-1651MHz] 9-9-9-27 @ 1.66 DRAM Bus Voltage
    ASUS P6T Deluxe v.1 [LGA 1366 Intel X58] BIOS 2209
    Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme 1366 RT with 120mm Scythe S-Flex F fan
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX Black 2GB HDMI 2XDVI GDDR5 1050MHz Core Clock
    OCZ Agility 3 180GB SSD
    Asus Xonar DX sound card
    Antec nine hundred case, two front 120mm fans, one back 120mm Fan, one top 200mm fan
    Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W
     
  4. kevsamiga1974

    kevsamiga1974 Master Guru

    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 580 SC
    As completely ridiculous as this is going to sound, make a user profile for firefox.exe with CrossfireX > Disabled. And see what happens. :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2013

  5. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    How do you make a user profile for firefox.exe with CrossfireX > Disabled?

    I only have one video card. I am not 100%, but it appears that maybe Catalyst 13.2 Beta 4 released the other day has resolved this. [Edit: It has not.]

    _____________________
    Intel i7 950 [206] BCLK x 20 = 4.12 GHz @ [1.4000] CPU Voltage & [1.35000] QPI/DRAM Uncore Voltage, Batch 3029A40
    2 x 4GB Kingston HyperX T1 DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) [DDR3-1651MHz] 9-9-9-27 @ 1.66 DRAM Bus Voltage
    ASUS P6T Deluxe v.1 [LGA 1366 Intel X58] BIOS 2209
    Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme 1366 RT with 120mm Scythe S-Flex F fan
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX Black 2GB HDMI 2XDVI GDDR5 1050MHz Core Clock
    OCZ Agility 3 180GB SSD
    Asus Xonar DX sound card
    Antec nine hundred case, two front 120mm fans, one back 120mm Fan, one top 200mm fan
    Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2013
  6. woniu

    woniu Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE HD7850 2048 OC
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2013
  7. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    Yes, that's it! We are not alone, I found multiple references on the internet to Catalyst 13.1 and now Catalyst 13.2 all Betas up to Beta 4 having this issue.


    My 13.2 Beta4 did not completely install, I did not reinstall correctly and wanted just to see. Maybe that's why I incorrectly thought it was resolved.


    Right now, I think previous version 12.10 is OK, and some people say that 12.11 Beta 11 resolves this.


    I have tested 12.10 fully and believe it's OK.


    1. Can you see if disabling Hardware Acceleration fixes it?
    2. Try 12.11 Beta 11 (I believe it's the last 12 Beta).

    I was eventually going to test those two, if you find 12.11 Beta to resolve the problem - then we would not have to go back all the way to 12.10.


    Even though 12.11 Beta 11 is supposed to be 13.1 without WHQL certification, I think I did read somewhere that it still resolves our problem, so let's test that and find out and that way we can stick with either 12.10 or 12.11 Beta 11.



    _____________________
    Intel i7 950 [206] BCLK x 20 = 4.12 GHz @ [1.4000] CPU Voltage & [1.35000] QPI/DRAM Uncore Voltage, Batch 3029A40
    2 x 4GB Kingston HyperX T1 DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) [DDR3-1651MHz] 9-9-9-27 @ 1.66 DRAM Bus Voltage
    ASUS P6T Deluxe v.1 [LGA 1366 Intel X58] BIOS 2209
    Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme 1366 RT with 120mm Scythe S-Flex F fan
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX Black 2GB HDMI 2XDVI GDDR5 1050MHz Core Clock
    OCZ Agility 3 180GB SSD
    Asus Xonar DX sound card
    Antec nine hundred case, two front 120mm fans, one back 120mm Fan, one top 200mm fan
    Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2013
  8. woniu

    woniu Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE HD7850 2048 OC
    I've had previously installed 12.11 beta11 also tried trick with the HW but problem still persist so no luck
     
  9. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    OK. well then it's 12.10 for us and then wait a couple of months to test next official Catalyst.


    Did you find any reliable way to test this? I just use latest Firefox 18.1 for a while and it appears there. It's not Java related, right?
     
  10. woniu

    woniu Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE HD7850 2048 OC
    I have this on facebook and on some private torrent site. Will investigate more. btw I don't have even Java installed here, so no I think
     

  11. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    Can you try accessing those sites in IE or Chrome? Maybe Firefox 17?

    Could it be Firefox 18-related?
     
  12. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    If you can't reproduce in IE or Chrome, I will reimage my system back to Catalyst 13.1 state and test IE and Chrome - just to make sure this isn't a Firefox 18 problem. All reports I saw appear to be for Firefox 18, but that may be just because we're all using Firefox - still let's eliminate that as a problem.
     
  13. woniu

    woniu Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE HD7850 2048 OC
    On IE everything is good so I'm 99% sure this firefox problem. I've already reported it on firefox forums. Btw I'm using Win8 and AFAIR on Win7 all was good

    *EDIT* Tested on Win7 machine and nope.. also artifacts :(
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2013
  14. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    Well that's interesting. I am going to reimage the system to known Catalyst 13.1 problem state then remove Firefox 18 and install Firefox 17


    to isolate this to Firefox 18 if that is what this is. Unless it affects all Firefox versions.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2013
  15. woniu

    woniu Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE HD7850 2048 OC
    I'm 99% sure that it's FFox problem. Let me know what You find
     

  16. c627627

    c627627 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon HD 7870 XFX
    Ok, I will reimage now but it may be a while before I notice artifacts.


    So far we know it's both Windows 7 and 8 and it appears Catalyst 12.10 is OK but not Catalyst 12.11 Beta or 13.1Beta 11 or 13.2 Beta4.


    It appears IE and Chrome are OK, so testing Firefox 17 would isolate the problem to either all Firefox or Firefox 18 only. Where did you report the issue for Firefox?
     
  17. sekta

    sekta Master Guru

    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080
    I get black squares all along the bookmark toolbar regularly but never on the actual webpage. So just the Firefox UI.
     
  18. DM789

    DM789 Master Guru

    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ???
    i also have this black square issue for firefox, but its a rare occasion for me, so for now, i'm not annoyed by it.
     
  19. NiColaoS

    NiColaoS Master Guru

    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    960
    I went back to Windows 7 and I don't have issues.

    All I know is, Mozilla is blocking all drivers on Windows 8. I mean, at least 12.8/12.10/12.11. That's the moment I re-installed Windows 7 and I don't know the situation any more.

    On Windows 7 Mozilla is blocking only 12.8. All newer drivers are working normally.

    After the blocking, Hardware acceleration is not completely off. They revert you to Direct3D 9 which has no problems, seemingly at least.

    If you press about:support what info you get? Do you see anywhere "Your driver is blocked bla bla" ?

    Mozilla said they were trying to reach Catalyst devs to inform them about the memory corruptions they found, but I don't know what exactly happened afterwards. In short, it's not Firefox's problem... You know, Firefox is using Directwrite, Direct2D and Direct3D. Full HWA like a game... That means the state of the browser is now heavily depended on the drivers' condition. Unless you turn HWA off. That's bad solution, though... Having AMD GPU usually means you've to turn off HWA for Flash, now for Firefox etc... I don't even know why we have GPU afterall.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2013
  20. woniu

    woniu Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE HD7850 2048 OC
    I'm using latest firefox it's called Nightly. And no, my driver is not blocked nowhere in about:support. It says it support direct3d 10 along with directwrite and d2d ON. I get most corruption on facebook with friends rightpanel on.

    I will look on bugzilla for similiar problems and will post it here if i have some new info

    Btw all my games works perfectly fine, only firefox is affected
     

Share This Page