Display Driver Uninstaller Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Wagnard, Jul 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    355
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    If you can pin point the DDU version that was able to do that I will check what I changed.

    It could also mean that I didn't clean correctly in the past too :)
    Its more normal to see the system going to a lower resolution imo.
     
  2. DM789

    DM789 Master Guru

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ???
    i updated my windows a few days ago, and as always i always restart and let it finished updating.

    and about the reproduce thing, i probably gonna revert back to 14.4, if using 14.7 RC3 + DLL fix is not as good as using 14.4 alone.

    and about others report, its probably because AMD drivers is kinda bad for the last few months and most of them decided to skip it.

    well, i liked DDU, and was just reporting it, because its surprising to had a stuck on boot, after months of absent from using DDU.

    and my MOBO is not UEFI, i had this before UEFI became standard.

    @The Mac : the software you are suggesting seems to have malware on its current version and installer, when i opened the link, there is quite a lot of people saying to stay away, because it will hijack the browser even if we say no to the adwares, i will try to find older version of it.
     
  3. DM789

    DM789 Master Guru

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ???
    well, can't remember the last version of DDU i used, cos its been about a month (maybe more) since i last used it.
     
  4. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    355
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    From what you are saying it could be that previous version of DDU didnt clean everything. But its just a guess...
    Ill sure check :) I take every report seriously even if it somewhat sound not possible to me. simetimes I can be surprised :)
     

  5. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    its a shell extention, so most AV will tag it.

    Its coming from CNET, its clean.
     
  6. DM789

    DM789 Master Guru

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ???
    wow, my ESET is going crazy just for trying to download it, this is a first, are you sure that its a false positive ?

    because from the reviews, the past version doesn't seem to have the malware, but the recent version have it.
     
  7. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    hang on, ill check it out...

    edit: its fine, AV is complaining because CNET added 4 pieces of shovelware (spigot is probobly the culprit) in the installer, just decline them all.

    Unfortunately with shareware these days you cant avoid that stuff. They have to make money somehow.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2014
  8. DM789

    DM789 Master Guru

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ???
    okay, gonna have to disable my eset for a while, then download it, because i can't download it when my eset is enabled.

    Edit : have any suggestion for similar software to Fences from stardock ? Fences are good, but its not free, and the price are too high for my liking.
     
  9. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    yup, i had to as well.

    If you are using chrome, youll probobly have to disable phishing in advanced settings as well.

    unfortunately, all the windows organizers im aware of cost money.

    windowblinds is a bit cheaper but not as good as fences.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2014
  10. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    355
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    Btw a new version of DDU *should* be released today... just saying...

    Edit: Maybe not today but this weekend if all is working well.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2014

  11. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    grassy ass.
     
  12. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    355
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    Display Driver Uninstaller 12.9.9.0 (08-16-2014)

    Changelog:
    -Changed the way the GPU are detected for removal to help remove them when they are in weird state.
    -More details on the log about the GPU. inf, inf section etc...
    -Tiny change on the check update procedure.
    -Additional AMD cleanup.
    -Fixed a possible "stuck at rebooting screen" when trying to reboot into safemode.
    -New translation: Ukraine; Thanks to Vladislav Denega (TheStels)


    Download
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2014
  13. DM789

    DM789 Master Guru

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ???
    @Wagnard : it seems DDU deleted my Audio Equalizer settings, i just realized this, because when i was about to set my equalizer to music, all of it are gone.

    don't know if its affecting my Soundcard driver or not.

    my soundcard is onboard Realtek HD ALC8xx (can't remember exact number).

    and i haven't run DDU again, since i changed from 14.4 to 14.7 RC3, that i reported yesterday.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2014
  14. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    355
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    When you say gone, do you mean the equilizer doesnt exisst anymore or just the saved setting you had?

    Ill be suprised that DDU did this tho. but if you can confirm thats its really DDU I would apreciated.
     
  15. DM789

    DM789 Master Guru

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ???
    only the saved equalizer,

    and i am sure that its DDU, because after that hangs on load forced restart,

    at first the sound icon is displaying X in Red as if there is no soundcard,

    then i go to device manager, and disable and enable the soundcard, and the sound icon finally working again.

    i said its DDU, because i haven't run anything that is affecting my system,
    and it happens after my 2nd restart after using DDU.

    don't know if its affecting the driver, but just in case, i am currently downloading latest driver from realtek, to reinstall the driver.

    because when i ran the music (it was the beatles - Hey Jude (remastered)), it felt flat, and the quality seems gone back to basic sound.
     

  16. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    355
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    The system freeze could have done some damage. I don't think its directly DDU. That why we would need to test.

    Also, do you know by chance were the equalizer saved on the HDD?

    If you want also, we can test DDU via teamviewer. so ill be able to check if something goes wrong.

    Anyway thanks for reporting.


    Edit: When you say second restart, you mean the one after the cleanUP in safemode or 2 restart after the cleanup?
     
  17. DM789

    DM789 Master Guru

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ???
    well, thats the thing, Realtek hid the saved equalizer, that's why i hate changing the soundcard driver, because i always have to manually set the equalizer again.

    and sure, but how to use teamviewer ? i never had to use it, that's why i don't know, and does it required fast internet connection ?

    and yeah, no problem, just trying to help make DDU more better. :)
     
  18. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    355
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    Higly apreciate your cooperation :)
    Its doesnt require a fast connection (not too slow either like 56k lol)

    Just download the application from the teamviewer website. http://www.teamviewer.com/en/index.aspx
    WHen you will launch it, select the option that say RUN, (no need to install)

    It will then give you an ID and Password. email it to me at wagnard28@gmail.com or PM it here on the forum and ill connect right away.
     
  19. DM789

    DM789 Master Guru

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ???
    the event :
    1. ran DDU
    2. restarted to safe mode.
    3. ran DDU cleanup
    4. restarted.
    5. suddenly stuck on boot ( i left it for 10 min)
    6. forced restart
    7. when windows is loading the startup apps, the system suddenly hangs.
    8. another forced restart
    9. when windows finally load, i noticed the sound icon is weird.
     
  20. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    355
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    Thanks for clarifying this. Its indeed weird.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page