Display Driver Uninstaller Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Wagnard, Jul 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DM789

    DM789 Master Guru

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ???
    @hootmon : DDU is awesome job, but prepare for a lot of headache, especially if you still played some of the old games, ex : flatout 1 & 2, because latest 14.6 beta broke a lot of things.
     
  2. Hootmon

    Hootmon Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    XFX THICC III Ultra
    Yeah. Havent run into anything broken yet, but I just did the card swap yesterday.
     
  3. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    346
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    Noted.
    Thanks
     
  4. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    346
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    Here what is coming next.
    Something I've been working/playing around for a little while is making DDU run as a System process instead of the currently logged user.
    This as the benefit to be (as weird as its sound) stronger than an Administrator.(similar as "ROOT" on Linux)
    And by so , DDU wont need to modify registry or files permission anymore to do his work.
     

  5. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    Does that mean a service will be running all the time?
     
  6. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    346
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    No. There won't be service running all the time. Only when DDU is actually running and this service is removed after DDU is closed.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2014
  7. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    346
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    Display Driver Uninstaller 12.9.0 (06-01-2014)

    Changelog:
    -DDU now run as a System process to avoid permission issues and also avoid having to change itself permission on the system.
    -Updates to nVidia and Intel CleanUP
    -Worked a bit the messages-box on start-up
    -Updates to nVidia and Intel CleanUP
    -Language update : Korean (Contributor: 4Li)
    -Several little fixes on the code.

    http://www.wagnardmobile.com

    To answer questions that may rise about the system process :

    DDU is not running permanently. Lets say your user name to log into windows is "Bob". Usually all program that you start will be started with "Bob" privilege (can be seen on taskmanager). But DDU now start as "System" it has higher privilege. (Similar to "ROOT" under Linux.)
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2014
  8. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    346
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    Display Driver Uninstaller 12.9.1 (06-01-2014)


    Changelog:
    -Fixed a little issue that prevented the cleanUP of some folders in the users accounts.

    http://www.wagnardmobile.com
     
  9. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    346
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    Display Driver Uninstaller 12.9.2.1 (06-02-2014)

    Changelog:
    -Fixed "DDU do not start in (Safemode with networking)"

    http://www.wagnardmobile.com
     
  10. subscriber

    subscriber New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 6770M
    Thanks bro
    The only thing you should correct is that when everything is done,
    i mean after "Safe boot Clean Un-install" using your program and system reboot
    automatically the black Command Promp window appears with critical error about ieplorer.exe (Actually i disabled iexplorer and using Chrome or firefox) so program was trying to access AMD site link using iexplorer.exe but as i didn't have iexplorer.exe so it pops up error.

    Plz notify me if you updated program.
    Its working perfectly.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014

  11. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    346
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    Strange, the black box is simply a window I forgot to hide for restarting the computer. It shouldnt mention anything about iexplorer as I dont request it.

    Anyway I will hide this window in a future version.
     
  12. Diplomatic

    Diplomatic New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD XFX R9 270
    Help

    I used DDU to clean up the drivers on my computer but now it won't detect either of my monitors so I can't do anything at all. Also, when restarting the computer, it doesn't even beep now
     
  13. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    346
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    You have probably a hardware issue. An application can't stop your computer from even booting and doing the beep sound. (Post)

    I suggest you check cables, re-sit the videocard,check memory/processor installation, clear cmos, etc..
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014
  14. SlackerITGuy

    SlackerITGuy Master Guru

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 Fury
    Did the error message say "Unknown hard error"?

    Because I've been getting that since DDU 12.3 (when 14.2 was released IIRC).

    I also have Internet Explorer uninstalled from my PC.
     
  15. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    346
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    Oh yeah I remember that AMD tend to try to open a webpage for feedback. Could be that.
    If that is the case, I cant really do anything as its AMD stuff...
    But ill try to see if I can deny this.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014

  16. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
    But, DDU don't access AMD site, it can be other software trying to doing this.

    Maybe Process Monitor will helps to find out who do this.
     
  17. Diplomatic

    Diplomatic New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD XFX R9 270
    It was working perfectly fine before I used DDU.

    Edit: just saw your edit, I have reset the CMOS I also rearranged my ram sticks (they weren't in the best slots in the beginning) and this time the computer has booted up correctly. FYI, I used DDU in order to try and fix a long going issue I've had which is a "display driver Amd has stopped responding and has recovered" I got a new mobo, CPU, psu and gpu to try and fix and I'm hoping the cause is just a remaining driver file for my old card hd6670, DDU did say it detected a 6670, despite it being in a box in my cupboard
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2014
  18. SlackerITGuy

    SlackerITGuy Master Guru

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 Fury
    That would be awesome mate.

    :)
     
  19. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    Its a coincidence.

    If you get no beep, and no post, its a hardware problem.

    Nothing has booted up yet, so it cant be software.

    Cycle your powersupply. Turn it off at the switch for 30 seconds, then turn it back on.
     
  20. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    i belive the ad boxes inside the installer uses the ie dlls.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page