Debian Project Warns: Turn off Hyperthreading with Skylake and Kaby Lake

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jun 26, 2017.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,071
    Likes Received:
    10,076
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. RealNC

    RealNC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,590
    Likes Received:
    1,765
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    Microsoft is sure going to issue a mandatory microcode update for this through Windows Update, right?
     
  3. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,809
    Likes Received:
    3,366
    GPU:
    6900XT+AW@240Hz
    So, performance increase BIOSes are incomming?
     
  4. SirDremor

    SirDremor Master Guru

    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1050
    Sound like anti-Intel fake news.
     

  5. Juliuszek

    Juliuszek Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX1060/3GB
    Do you think this problem will stop Bitcoin miners for a while, so RX580 and GTX1060 became available again :)
     
  6. EdInk

    EdInk Active Member

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 (H20)
    The information is so vague, it seems doctored.
     
  7. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    1,333
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    my first thought exactly. turns out.. not

    i could be wrong but it seems (quick googling) Debian 16.04 got shipped with old microcode.
     
  8. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,067
    Likes Received:
    440
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 580X SE
    no, only fixing bios incomming... wich is already good btw
     
  9. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,643
    Likes Received:
    99
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    If people have come across the issue, they likely just blamed the software under Linux or Microsoft for Windows. It could have easily gone this long considering it's only the hyperthreaded CPU's and not i5, and the alleged sporadic nature of it. Microsoft may update it in a CPU driver, but ideally it is done through a bios update.
     
  10. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,067
    Likes Received:
    440
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 580X SE
    on other hand, HT or the AMD's equivalent is not a real core... some distro doesn't like it at all.

    Remember the 1st iteration of HT and all the drama in the community (real or not ;) )...

    the fix is welcome, even if you don't have issue :pc1:
     

  11. heffeque

    heffeque Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,151
    Likes Received:
    102
    GPU:
    nVidia MX150
    Did you even read the link's info? Is it so hard to actually get informed before commenting?

    Pears - apples.

    Debian is in the 9th version, you're confusing it with Ubuntu.
     
  12. Wolf9an9

    Wolf9an9 Member Guru

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Radeon RX 6800XT
    I will not be disabling HT on my wife's Kaby Lake Processor based PC for now as have never had a problem!
     
  13. Ghosty

    Ghosty Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,109
    Likes Received:
    301
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon Graphics
    Someone could in theory find wifi passwords from the coredumps. I'll see if turning Hypertheading off helps.

    **Edit. It doesn't help. About from turning the CPU in to a dual core. :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2017
  14. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,527
    Likes Received:
    3,073
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    They may already have.. this issue has been known for 6+ months now. Intel already pushed Microcode updates to OEM's to fix it. Whether or not they'll update the bios's for all 50000 models that every company seems to ship is another story.

    Honestly the real story should be that Intel sucks at communicating to it's users what's fixed and what's broken. In fact Intel just sucks at communicating in general - the fact that they abandon EU press with the X299 release is evidence of that. Company needs a swift kick to the balls - I just feel they are completely out of touch.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2017
  15. JamesSneed

    JamesSneed Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    564
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2017

  16. Ghosty

    Ghosty Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,109
    Likes Received:
    301
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon Graphics
    Microcode is actully very cool in what it does. Still hurts my brain trying to figure it out though.
     
  17. Singleton99

    Singleton99 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    85
    GPU:
    Aorus-Extreme-1080TI
    Just check mine , command prompt, type set, and then press ENTER. Note the string that is displayed next to PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER

    mine is model 94 and stepping 3

    So should i disable HT or not i've never noticed and problems .

    sorry i don't fully understand it all .. :)
     
  18. Ghosty

    Ghosty Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,109
    Likes Received:
    301
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon Graphics
    If your BIOS boots on UEFI, then you should be ok. As it uses secure boot. Basicially. Intel needs to update it's support from newer processors. It hasn't done since 2016.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2017
  19. Singleton99

    Singleton99 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    85
    GPU:
    Aorus-Extreme-1080TI
    Ok thank you ,:)
    My bios is in UEFI mode and i havent enable secure boot mode either .

    Over the last year or two ive only ever had a few BSOD and that from overclocking to far i think .
     
  20. Ghosty

    Ghosty Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,109
    Likes Received:
    301
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon Graphics
    You should turn Secure boot on. It can help stop virues that are able to run at boot.
     

Share This Page