Dark Souls Performance?

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Xzibit, Aug 25, 2012.

  1. Xzibit

    Xzibit Banned

    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 Windforce
    So, the game is out and the resolution fix is ready.
    How it runs on your cards?
    On my it runs like sh!t - 15 fps when the scene is loaded with GFX effects(fire, smoke).
    Using 8 August build.
     
  2. Mozaik

    Mozaik Banned

    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Giga gtx 470@800
    On my 470 with 8x aa,4Xsupersampling,AO,AF16 on 1920X1080 it is flying.See rig for full conf.
    The game is fabulous and looks gorgeous with the res/DoF fix.
     
  3. Xzibit

    Xzibit Banned

    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 Windforce
    I'm asking AMD users. I know about Nvidia :nerd:
     
  4. DavidGX

    DavidGX Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon Fury X
    So... yeah...
     

  5. ClockClocker

    ClockClocker Master Guru

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    970 gtx
    Short: poopy on my HD7850, same issues.
     
  6. Xzibit

    Xzibit Banned

    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 Windforce
    Interestin what is the problem?
    Driver or that fix - author has nvidia card and ofcourse he tests "fix" on it
     
  7. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
    so test the vanilla game without any fixes on both nv & amd?
     
  8. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,199
    Likes Received:
    1,448
    GPU:
    6800XT Nitro+ SE
    have you tried the WHQL Offical June 27th drivers? Just saying you are using an unoffical beta driver, worth a try at least. You should be getting waaaay more performance with your card than 15fps.
     
  9. Slikar

    Slikar Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX970 WF3
    Well im using 12.6 whql and it runs pretty good on my 6870...1080p with 0.4 DSfix
     
  10. Lowki

    Lowki Master Guru

    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 xc ultra
    It runs like crap for me to....
     

  11. Crevox

    Crevox New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon 7870 2GB
    I can run at 30 FPS with 1080p on my 7870, but it doesn't take too much to drop that. Trying to downsample higher res is pretty bad FPS loss.

    This, of course, only happens when I play full screen with v-sync on. If v-sync is off or the game is windowed, horrible performance.

    It should definitely be running much better than this.
     
  12. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,524
    Likes Received:
    2,927
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Vanilla"
    Using that fix and with a resolution of 3840x2400 (1920x1200 x2 or such or that's the idea at least to force downsampling.) it still manages 30 FPS in nearly every scenario, there's one or two particular effects where it can dip down to ~20 - 25 but otherwise it's fully stable which is pretty good. :)
     
  13. Crevox

    Crevox New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon 7870 2GB
    What drivers are you using?
     
  14. sherrypizza

    sherrypizza Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD 6990M 2GB
    Smooth as hell on my HD6990m, 1920x1080, with 18th April drivers.
     
  15. RyviusRan

    RyviusRan Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte GTX 970 SLI
    Anyone have issues with fps drops to 15 at certain times when using the resolution and dof fixed with it set to 2560x1600 for resolution and 1920x1080 for DoF?



    So far I noticed it in this particular spot when these enemies start throwing fire bombs and I am staring in the direction shown in my screenshot.

    The only noticead it in a few other spots.



    My CPU and GPU are not being stressed at all so it seems like an engine issue.


    [​IMG]
     

  16. Crevox

    Crevox New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon 7870 2GB
    That's probably just because of the huge amount of background you're looking at, but yeah my GPU/CPU don't get stressed much either.
     
  17. RyviusRan

    RyviusRan Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte GTX 970 SLI
    I also noticed when using FRAPS to record there are even more areas that drop from 30 to 15 for no reason.

    Some large areas will run at 30 no problem but a small suddenly runs at 15.

    CPU is not even stressed when FRAPS is recording.

    It seems to be an engine limitation after all.
    Either that or brute forcing certain settings with Durante's fix is causing issues.

    Note: the PC I am using is not the one listed below my username.
     
  18. PC-TERRORIST

    PC-TERRORIST New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte GTX670OC @SLI
    Where can I get that fix??
     
  19. SaiBork

    SaiBork Master Guru

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    Nvidia 3080 Ti FE
    Fix is found here
    Makes it look much better.
     
  20. Crevox

    Crevox New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon 7870 2GB
    Yeah, but I don't experience lag in places that you do and some other people don't either. The engine does have its limitations/annoyances (a big gas cloud from a boss swing is usually enough to lag you, close to it or not) but can usually be overcome with the right performance.

    When broadcasting the game, it lags too, even with just dxtory hooked. It just doesn't like that much. :p

    Either way, other cards are experiencing much better performance (especially at higher internal resolutions) than mine, when they shouldn't be. I also shouldn't have to turn on v-sync in order to prevent lag/stuttering/major fps loss (especially because my friend doesn't have to and actually suffers FPS loss for turning it on).
     

Share This Page