damaged GTX 460? (blue screen on startup)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by amar4nt, Mar 27, 2016.

  1. amar4nt

    amar4nt New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 460/1GB
    Hello everyone!


    I have a problem with my GTX 460 that occurred shortly after cleaning the inside of my computer. My Acer M7811 hasn't been cleaned for a couple of years. I used extensive amount of compressed air in cans to blow out the dust.

    Prior to cleaning I faced some very rare blue screens and just as rare situations when my screen froze and I had to force restart.

    After clean up everything was nice and quiet. I used 'Speccy' to check the temperatures on different components and they seemed pretty much the same when browsing internet etc.
    No major changes were made software-wise; all the drivers were there already together with a fresh Windows 7 Home Premium. Regarding hardware I added some more matching RAM (upgraded from 4 GB to max of 8 GB).


    After two days problems started:

    1. The monitor turned off suddenly saying ' The current input timing is not supported by the monitor display. Please change your input timing to 1920x1080 60Hz or any other monitor listed timing as per this monitor specifications'

    2. after that I managed to access Windows two or three times, once being able to access 'Specc' again. It showed the same low temperatures as before. Each time everything froze together with the cursor within 5 minutes and I had to force restart.

    3. Startup repair kicked in at some point trying to repair the problem. It failed and informed of a problem signature 6.1.7600.16385

    4. After that the screen went black each time right after 'Starting Windows'. During the last time it went black I could hear the sound of the system starting and the GPU fan blowing air very loud

    5. On the next restart I encountered a blue screen saying that 'attempt to reset the display driver and recover from timeout failed'. A file was also mentioned – 'nvlddkm.sus'. In the background, there were also some... dots? It wasn't just a solid blue colour, there were some weird striped patterns made of light blue dots.

    6. Blue screen happened each time from now on when trying to start Windows normally.

    7. When entering BIOS after pressing DEL I could also see that weird pattern made of dots in the blue background. In BIOS they were black and they appeared in horizontal stripe

    8. I can access Windows in 'Safe Mode' without any problems

    9. I decided to format system partition and reinstall Windows again. It works in low resolution without the GTX 460 drivers. After installing them, blue screen appears again

    10. Tried GPU drivers ranging from the latest to oldest accessible (early 2015). No change

    11. I enclose a screen from GPU-Z showing some details
    postimg.org/image/napqbhf9f

    12. I ejected the GPU, tried to clean the golden bits, spray some more air, make sure it is fully inserted. The only change it made was some blue dots in the background during the 'American Megatrends' startup screen. Happened once, though.

    13. All the above happened when my monitor (Dell E2310Hc) was connected with the bottom GPU slot. If I plug the cable in the upper one there is no blue screen happening after 'Starting Windows' screen; instead of that the monitor turns off and shows the prompt mentioned above in point 1. With the cable in the upper slot I cannot access 'Safe mode'

    14. Lastly Ia opened the card itself, removed the bits of dust left and applied new thermal paste. I did not see any visible damage but I might enclose photos. Same as before, the only novelty were some stripes of blue dots on one of the first startup screens. They seem to appear when the card is removed and put back in again.


    Anyone has an idea what might have happened?
     
  2. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,360
    Likes Received:
    896
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
  3. EspHack

    EspHack Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,447
    Likes Received:
    38
    GPU:
    ATI/HD5770/1GB
    that's a hardware problem for sure, if you have integrated graphics or another card try that and see if it persists, if it does then there's the astronomical chance your mobo's or gpu's bios is corrupted and you could try flashing it

    last stand would be cooking the card(no joke, it works)
     
  4. elite69

    elite69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
    and have you tried tho remove the 4gig you instal?And see if things are normal again?
     

  5. cudarenderer

    cudarenderer Banned

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti SC+ ACX 2.0+
    Therefore, Windows clean, program fixer, driver clean/reinstall, BIOS VGA changed... do NEVER fix videocard died!!

    Should bake your videocard at 385ºF at ~10 min in oven (do NOT use microwave!!) - search it in youtube about tutorial. ;) It's RIGHT solution without any doubt!! :)
     
  6. nz3777

    nz3777 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,371
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    Gtx 980 Strix
    Dont forget to sprinkle some Cheese on top of the gpu, otherwise the taste will be really bitter! Haha. ( joke ) I have seen only 1 guy bake his video-card but it did WORK afterwards. Use this as a last resort method try moving your memory sticks around to diffrent slots if possible as mentioned. Last but not least please let us know what happend after you try.

    What cable are you using for connecting your gpu? Vga? dvi? Hdmi? I would also try using a diffrent cable as well, could be a bad cable possibly? You did not state what inputs your card has or my old eyes missed it.Nz
     
  7. amar4nt

    amar4nt New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 460/1GB
    reporting back

    Thank you guys for all the replies!

    Agent-A01 – Thanks for the suggestion regarding updating BIOS and loading details. I have not done it yet as I worry I might damage the motherboard due to my ignorance but will definitely look into that! I also didn't try that GPU in any other computer yet as I can't access such.

    EspHack – Thank you for another great idea regarding use of integrated card. I noticed there is a VGA cable required though which I do not possess at the moment as I used DVI all the time. I am not sure what flashing means? I will give it some research though.

    Elite69 – regarding RAM – I run the computer several times: once only with the old 2x2GB, then only with the new 2x2GB, then the 8GB mixed up in two different configurations.
    No change observed (same old blue screen each time) apart from one fact (not sure if it's normal)
    I have 4 RAM slots: 2 white and 2 black.
    If I use 2x2 GB it works only in the black slots. If inserted in the white ones, computer doesn't start and the motherboard gives an unending beep.

    Cudarenderer – As I don't quite follow, by saying 'BIOS VGA changed' did you mean testing the integrated video card?

    And wow, I am quite surprised to hear about the 'baking' method. Is there a risk of damaging your motherboard or anything else after trying out a baked card?

    nz3777 - He :) Apologies but what did you mean by asking for my card's inputs? Is it the available slots at the back? If so there is an HDMI (top row), DVI (one in the top row and one in the bottom row which I use) and one more which has 'DP' engraved next to it.
    I use a DVI cable to connect my GPU with the monitor. The latter also has a VGA slot though.



    I don't know if that helps but just in case I post specs for my PSU as perhaps it might have contributed to all this?
    Fsp Group FSP450-60EP
    Max. Output Power: 450W - 500W Peak
    AC Input : 100-127/220-240V 10/5A, 60/50Hz



    In addition to my questions above, do you guys think that spraying compressed air into my GPU/PSU/anywhere else might have influenced this situation? I blew air pretty much from all directions into my GPU and sometimes I might have tilted the can slightly resulting in some 'liquid' coming out. It seemed to evaporate quite quickly but I wonder if it might damage devices it gets in touch with?
     
  8. elite69

    elite69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
    nop mite the ram should work in the 4 slots thers something wrong with your mobo.
    Also check that psu i would changit
     
  9. amar4nt

    amar4nt New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 460/1GB
    Thanks for your opinion, elite69. Just to expand slightly on those RAM slots - when I insert all of my 4x2GB and fill all the black and white slots it seems to work fine and the system is showing 8GB. But if I use only 2x2GB then I have to place them in the black ones cause the computer beeps and doesn't start if I leave them in the white ones.
     
  10. nz3777

    nz3777 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,371
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    Gtx 980 Strix
    I highly DOUBT compressed air will create any type of problem. Just my opinion tough.
     

  11. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,360
    Likes Received:
    896
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    @amar4nt

    That link i sent you is an executable, its pretty straight forward. I'd suggest you do that first. After you update you hit del/f2 or w/e to get into bios and you should see like "press f12 to load defaults".

    You can't do any damage, its perfectly safe.

    Also your PSU is "fair" at best, meaning it's not a quality unit but not absolute trash.

    Looks to be 6 or more years old, i would suggest getting a decent 550 watt bronze or better(efficiency) PSU for peace of mind. You could get a good one on sale for probably $40-60.
     
  12. elite69

    elite69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
    but the mobo should boot with the 4gig on both places black and white.
    Maybe the mobo slots have dust.
    When did you clean the system last time?,couse sometimes the slots can be a real pain.
    check for dust ram slots and pci express slot.
     
  13. EspHack

    EspHack Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,447
    Likes Received:
    38
    GPU:
    ATI/HD5770/1GB
    OP I suggest you get a vga cable to try that integrated graphics, they cost nothing in most places, so we can be certain whether its the GPU or not then proceed with that

    flashing means installing a new BIOS, its kinda risky so its a good idea to have a PSU or a very reliable energy company

    as for the baking method, never seen anyone fry their system with a card that has been baked, most likely modern pcs have enough safeguards to prevent that


    follow these steps in that same order to minimize risk
     
  14. Twiddles

    Twiddles Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI 2080 2145-7550
    Please keep in mind that baking a card is a temporary solution at best! It gives you the ability to save up for a new one.
     
  15. Shadowdane

    Shadowdane Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080Ti
    My GTX 460 died in similar fashion.. one day just started getting red colored squares all over the screen.

    Did similar with dusting it out, ect.. at the time mine was still under warranty and I RMA'd it.
     

  16. amar4nt

    amar4nt New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 460/1GB
    integrated display

    Many thanks for sharing a bit of your wisdom and experience, guys! :)

    @Agent-A01 – big apologies for not replying to your advice earlier! I think I downloaded that file and updates the BIOS but will do it again just to be sure. At the moment I am waiting for a process described below to finish and that is why I haven't done it yet.
    I did reset BIOS to defaults yesterday though and now I have an additional Acer screen at the very beginning of the startup.
    Regarding PSU – that is a bargain! I would like to follow your advice. Are there any brands or models I should especially reconsider? I know nothing of PSUs at the moment.

    @elite69
    I actually did a throughout cleaning a couple of days back which started all these issues I am having now :) But I will double check although the memory slots look quite neat, maybe I accidentaly blew the rubbish inside.

    @Twiddles
    Thanks for contributing as well! I will keep that in mind.



    In the meantime, I used memtest86+ to check if my RAM is okay but that is still running and might take another day or two to finish!


    @EspHack I agree with you about enabling the integrated display adapter to see if the problems cease to exist or - hopefully not - the damage is bigger than I expected.

    Below you can find a link to a screen showing the dotty artefacts:
    postimg.org/image/wn1qn3xgt/

    I removed the DVI cable and connected the motherboard with the monitor using a VGA cable...
    - with installed latest GTX 460 drivers
    - with installed VGA Nvidia drivers from ACER's website (there were two, one proved incompatible before installation could start)
    - with all display drivers removed

    In all of those cases the monitor darkened and displayed 'No DVI-D cable' and that's it.

    When pressed some buttons on my Dell monitor and changed 'Input Source' from DVI-D to VGA the monitor stays black with a prompt saying 'there is no signal coming from your computer; to change to another source press the monitor button again'

    When I ejected GTX 460 and left the blue VGA cable connecting the motherboard with the monitor the computer didn't start and the motherboard kept beeping with 1 long and 2 short beeps.



    Device Manager > Display adapters
    - without drivers it shows only 'Standard VGA Graphics Adapter'
    - with drivers it shows only 'GTX 460'
    If I disable the device and restart the computer, it shows as 'disabled' but I didn't notice any changes.



    I cannot find any important manuals regarding my motherboard. All the specifications mention only 'Aspire M7811' as the name and googling the two numbers I found on the motherboard doesn't return any results. There is only one pdf on Acer's website but it's worthless and full of trivial info.

    Some specifications found on the internet say M7811 has a 'discrete' graphics card.



    I also checked BIOS if there any display options but I can't see anything. I am posting some of the tabs here just in case one of them proves important. Apologies if it doesn't!

    This BIOS version is P01-B2, it has been released on 4/29/2010
    At the bottom it says American Megatrends v02.66 1985-2010. On the top it says 'CMOS Setup Utility'

    Advanced Chipset Features (all enabled):
    - Intel Eist, Intel XD Bit, Intel VT, Inter(R) TurboMode tech, Memory Hole Remapping

    Advanced BIOS features:
    - Quick Boot (enabled), Quiet Boot (enabled),1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th Boot Devices, then Hard Disk,
    Optical Disk, Removable Device and Network Priority, Bootup Num-Lock (on) and USB Beep Message
    (disabled)

    Integrated Peripherals:
    - Onboard SATA Controller (enabled)
    - Onboard SATA Mode (RAID)
    - Onboard eSATA Controller (enabled)
    - Onboard USB Controller (enabled)
    - Legacy USB Support (enabled)
    - USB Storage Emulation (Auto)
    - Onboard Audio Controller (Enabled)
    - Onboard LAN Controller (Enabled)
    - Onboard LAN Option ROM (Disabled)

    Power Management Setup
    - ACPI Suspend Mode [S3 (STR)]
    - Deep Power Off Mode (Enabled)
    - Power On by RTC Alarm (Disabled)
    - Power On by PCIE Devices (Disabled)
    - Power On by Onboard LAN (Disabled)
    - Wake Up by PS/2 KB/Mouse (Enabled)
    - Wake Up by USB KB/Mouse (Enabled)
    - Restore on AC Power Loss (Last State)

    Frequency/Voltage Control
    - Enable Clock to All DIMM/PCI (Enabled)
    - Spread Spectrum (Enabled)


    I have no idea how I should approach this.

    1. Should there be two devices showing in the 'Device Manager'? Should I uninstall the only device that is showing up at the moment?
    2. Should I update BIOS? I could not see any new updates in the driver section on Acer's website (apart from the ones pointed out by @Agent-A01, that is which I think I already installed but not sure)
    3. I read about hardware switches that you need to flip in order to use the integrated graphics support.. Do you reckon that's the case with my motherboard? If so, how can I find it? I was looking at it for a while but can't see a damn thing.
    4. Or do something else? :)


    Thanks for getting to this point :) Any ideas?
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2016
  17. nz3777

    nz3777 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,371
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    Gtx 980 Strix
    @ Amar4nt- So let me get this straight no signal on the Gtx 460 or on Intergrated graphics either??? You had the 460 hooked-up using a Dvi cable didnt work, then you tried Vga cable for intergrated and that didnt work either?> I think you mentioned something about a diffrent monitor as well?>... Just to be sure have you tried hooking-up to a diffrent source aka tv, diffrent monitor? Could it be possible the monitor itself is messed-up???


    As far as Power-supplys go this is what you need to look for
    1) Corsair
    2) Evga
    3) Roswell
    4)Enermax
    5)Silverstone
    6) Thermaltake ( newer models )
    7) CoolerMaster ( newer models)
    8) Lepa
    9)Inwin

    Stay away from.....Inland....Diablotek.....Solid Gear......DynaPower.....Delta Electronics....Pc power and cooling.....Basicly any power-supply you see that costs $10-$20 dollars stay away from it, I cannot recall there was a namebrand when I worked at MicroCenter they were selling this really sharp-looking 1000 Watt power-supply for like $30 dollars, I was man I am so getting one lol, well having an advantage of working with techs do you know how many people ended-up returning those 1000 watters>? Lots and lots of fried systems put it that way. You do NOT wanna skimp out on your power-supply. :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2016
  18. CrazY_Milojko

    CrazY_Milojko Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,982
    Likes Received:
    271
    GPU:
    GTX760 270X GTX970
    You forgot to mention two probably best PSU brands out there atm imho: Seasonic and SuperFlower ...Cheftec PSUs are also good, but not all of their series. Past 7, 8 years or a bit more personally my No.1 choice is Seasonic, their top-pick models are expensive so as first love :D but once you try some of them it's really hard to buy enything else next time.
     
  19. cudarenderer

    cudarenderer Banned

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti SC+ ACX 2.0+
    Videocard "baked" doesn't affect mothrboard.
    See tutorial - bake any dead videocard and later should bake your GTX 460. :)
     
  20. nz3777

    nz3777 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,371
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    Gtx 980 Strix
    I appologize Milojko Seasonic is one of the best you are 100% Right on the money.Besides Seasonic makes alot of those other companys we mentioned earlier. Like a 3rd party type of deal. I have NEVER ran across a SuperFlower psu in my 5-6 years in Pc scene. Maybe they are rare stateside?
     

Share This Page