Cyberpunk 2077 (part 2)

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by rflair, Dec 18, 2020.

  1. slick3

    slick3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    224
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 +85/1200
    Why is there tons of dialogues when the outcome is the same, it may as well just be a cutscene - the illusion of choice is very real in this game. Some of the times, what you say does matter - in some selected key missions; but for the other 90%, it doesn't matter.
     
  2. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,053
    Likes Received:
    1,874
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Tested further with the following settings

    [LevelOfDetail]
    DecalsHideDistance = 100.0
    [Streaming]
    DistanceBoost = 50.000000
    EditorThrottledMaxNodesPerFrame = 3000
    MaxNodesPerFrame = 1800
    [RayTracing]
    GeometryUpdateBufferSizeMB = 8176
    ScratchBufferSizeMB = 8176

    Where before without the changes to buffers etc, there would be missing objects with distanceboost even at 35 - there arent any missing objects at all now even with distanceboost at 50. This DRASTICALLY increases vram usage - goes from 8gb up to 17gb vram usage at 4k with rtx ultra and dlss quality mode. It also increases cpu load alot - roughly by 20 to 30% on my cpu. However, and this is the important part, it doesn't decrease fps at all for me, and it runs WAY smoother than it does at stock - i imagine it's due to the massively increased buffer size, which means it has to stream alot less. Basically the frametime graph has zero spikes with the changes to the buffer.
    Sadly though, the flickering on some billboards were not fixed by increasing the buffer etc - i loaded in the game with stock settings to compare the billboards, and i found that the ones that flicker with distanceboost enabled, they aren't loaded in till you get closer with stock settings... so ideally those billboards weren't included in the distanceboost setting, cause then there would be no issue in boosting it like ALOT, assuming you have the needed cpu power.

    [​IMG]

    Anyways i will probably continue to use the buffer changes, even if i do decide to remove the distance boost... cause dang it runs nice !
     
    Netherwind, sertopico and Mufflore like this.
  3. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,551
    Likes Received:
    577
    GPU:
    RTX 3090

    Did you try -qualityLevel=Cinematic_RTX in Steam launch options? i'll try your tweaks hopefully the game won't glitch on me this time (i had crazy setting to view distance :p )
     
  4. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,053
    Likes Received:
    1,874
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Cinematic rtx gives a huge performance penalty, especially in city centers, as it extends the distance of rtx lighting and reflections... so no, im not using that.

    If you are gonna run with those settings though, then lower distanceboost to 40, just to be safe.
     

  5. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,551
    Likes Received:
    577
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    I'm seeing a lot of pop ups, i think i need to start a new game :(

    i'll finish my current run 1st though
     
  6. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,053
    Likes Received:
    1,874
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Pop ups ?

    Settings aren't tied to your savegame anymore, so it shouldn't be necessary to start af new game for changes to take effect.
     
  7. sertopico

    sertopico Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080 FTW3 GU
    Very interesting post, thanks for sharing. I really would like to try it but you surely need more memory for that. My 3080 ain't enough. :/
     
  8. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    304
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Ti
    Did you test it ? Maybe 3080 is enough and 17GB is just mem allocation.
     
  9. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,053
    Likes Received:
    1,874
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    It isn't - with the increased buffer size, it will stutter ALOT if you got less than 16gb vram.
     
  10. Maddness

    Maddness Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    872
    GPU:
    3080 Aorus Xtreme
    Is that at 4k or 8k you were testing.
     

  11. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,053
    Likes Received:
    1,874
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    4k ultra rtx and dlss quality mode :)
     
    Maddness likes this.
  12. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,263
    Likes Received:
    1,982
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    hey, where is this config file located?


    Asking for a friend he has a 3060ti now @ 3440x1440.

    He tried to play with it and then saw some sign appearing and disappearing @ boost 50

    https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd....133/0DC6E443D8D1098AC64450723BE202A0B7AFA5E8/
    that red light in the distance fainting.


    what would those buffers be in his case then or is that 8176 minimum?

    Or in general what would you recommend :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2021
  13. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,053
    Likes Received:
    1,874
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Hey, on a 3060 ti i would dial back the distance boost to 40 max, and then not change buffers, otherwise he is gonna exceed his 8gb vram. Or be even more conservative and only set distanceboost to 30, then he wouldn't need to change anything else, and shouldnt see any missing items :)

    D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Cyberpunk 2077\engine\config\platform\pc

    Rendering.ini

    But the red sign appearing / disappearing is just normal behavior - if he didn't have boost on, it would just appear / disappear 50 meters closer... aka very close, which is why the LOD is so distracting with stock settings.
     
    -Tj- likes this.
  14. DannyD

    DannyD Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,365
    Likes Received:
    2,164
    GPU:
    1080ti FE
    Noisiv and cucaulay malkin like this.
  15. cucaulay malkin

    cucaulay malkin Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,997
    Likes Received:
    1,523
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 Ti
    thx
    just installed.

    cp2077 is not on my list yet.letem fix it
    gotta say,never jumped over 2x during gpu upgrade
    feels good
    [​IMG]
     
    Noisiv and DannyD like this.

  16. DannyD

    DannyD Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,365
    Likes Received:
    2,164
    GPU:
    1080ti FE
    Very happy for you.:)
     
    cucaulay malkin likes this.
  17. Horus-Anhur

    Horus-Anhur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    1,558
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
  18. LocoDiceGR

    LocoDiceGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,433
    Likes Received:
    844
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3060 Ti
    sertopico likes this.
  19. skacikpl

    skacikpl Master Guru

    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    161
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 8G
    Horus-Anhur likes this.
  20. Horus-Anhur

    Horus-Anhur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    1,558
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    Why am I not surprised.....
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.

Share This Page