Curve Overclocking: are you using it ?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by XenthorX, Aug 14, 2022.

  1. Maddness

    Maddness Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    GPU:
    3080 Aorus Xtreme
    When making the profile, did you also adjust the fan speed. Because even with a profile if the card gets to hot it will throttle the clock speed. I locked mine to 70% fan speed, which is still very quiet on my card.
     
  2. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,618
    Likes Received:
    620
    GPU:
    ZOTAC RTX 3070
    I did fan curve and undervolt and saved it to nb1 profile
     
  3. Maddness

    Maddness Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    GPU:
    3080 Aorus Xtreme
    Did you max out the power limit before creating the profile. Also what temp is the card running at when it throttles.
     
    Undying likes this.
  4. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,618
    Likes Received:
    620
    GPU:
    ZOTAC RTX 3070
    I never touched the power limit, it s at 100%
     

  5. Maddness

    Maddness Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    GPU:
    3080 Aorus Xtreme
    You are more than likely power limited if it's not temperature limited. Try creating profile number 2 and max out the power limit before creating the curve.
     
    Undying likes this.
  6. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,618
    Likes Received:
    620
    GPU:
    ZOTAC RTX 3070
    but why would i do that?, the power limit is always at 100% even before i edited the curve
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    this is the curve and afterburner right now
     
  7. Maddness

    Maddness Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    GPU:
    3080 Aorus Xtreme
    I see yours is maxed at 100%, mine goes to 121%. The only other thing is set your fan speed to 70% or more, don't waste your time with a fan curve though. See if that can hold your clock speed. If not report your highest temperature.
     
  8. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    243
    GPU:
    EVGA 3090 FTW3
    Many thanks for these updates! My 3080 Ti got super lost in shipping and I finally got a refund, probably going to snag a cheap 3090 the day after the RTX 40 series is announced later this month. I'll definitely be shooting for 850mV-900mV for heavy games as I don't really care to exceed 400 freakin' watts.
     
  9. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,326
    Likes Received:
    3,399
    GPU:
    RTX 4090 Gaming OC
    I'd say that would be a REALLY bad idea, but your life, your money...
     
    Maddness likes this.
  10. Maddness

    Maddness Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    GPU:
    3080 Aorus Xtreme
    You'll be kicking yourself in a couple of months. If you still have the 2080Ti, then hold off.
     
    Undying and Dragam1337 like this.

  11. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    243
    GPU:
    EVGA 3090 FTW3
    :D Yeah, I totally get that. I'm talking no more than $500 shipped for a 3090 from a panic seller. If I get one that way, I will use it for 3-6 months until there is actual MSRP stock of 4080's and then grab one of those.
     
  12. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    243
    GPU:
    EVGA 3090 FTW3
    Indeed, correct again. If I hadn't promised this 2080 Ti to a good friend when I ordered that 3080 Ti I never got, I wouldn't be in a hurry. He has been patiently sitting on a GTX 960 and I have a little bit of money that can be "wasted" for now due to a family member passing away recently.
     
  13. Maddness

    Maddness Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    GPU:
    3080 Aorus Xtreme
    Condolences, sorry to hear that.
     
    BuildeR2 likes this.
  14. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,618
    Likes Received:
    620
    GPU:
    ZOTAC RTX 3070
    Highest temp in games without curve goes to 84 or 85c in crysis remastered and unigine heaven benchmark
     
  15. Maddness

    Maddness Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    GPU:
    3080 Aorus Xtreme
    That will be why it's throttling. Have you got any pics of the inside of your case. Maybe we could recommend some better cooling ideas.
     

  16. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,618
    Likes Received:
    620
    GPU:
    ZOTAC RTX 3070
    I ll send pics, but right now after applying the undervolt, temps are at 63c while gaming, and about same performance i would say.
     
    Maddness likes this.
  17. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    243
    GPU:
    EVGA 3090 FTW3
    @Dragam1337 Okay, so finally got an EVGA FTW3 ULTRA 3090 ($360 from a friend after trading him my backup 1070) but any and all UV/OC efforts are marred by the same odd behavior as my 2080 Ti, where the effective clock is 40MHz-70MHz lower than what MSIAB/GPUZ/HWINFO report for Core Clock.

    I have to do *something* because this card runs at 1905MHz and 1.062v :eek: stock, bouncing off the 420w and 450w limits. Any ideas?
     
  18. Jobert

    Jobert Member Guru

    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 ti
    I have never had an issue undervolting any of the numerous 20 and 30 series cards I have used. A 3090 could easily run 1900 at around .90v and would take less than a minute to set that.
     
  19. Strange Times

    Strange Times Master Guru

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    97
    GPU:
    RX 6600
    it's funny that my 6600 is lower than 1070mv does not work, always crashes. no matter what frequency is, 2700 or 2000
     
  20. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    243
    GPU:
    EVGA 3090 FTW3
    @Jobert Yes, that part is not difficult. I've already tested a range of clocks and voltages from 800mV/1800MHz to 1000mV/2070MHz and things seem stable so far. My issue is that the gap between reported clocks and effective clocks grows as I go up in voltage. Here is the ~50MHz gap shown at 900mV/1900MHz so you can see what I mean.

    Screenshot (444) 1MB.jpg
     

Share This Page