Crysis - Poor performance

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Slam, Aug 2, 2015.

  1. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    335
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
    maybe the weapon takes a bit more of on screen, but look at the realistic rendering of the weapon, the sights etc, the weapon is more realistic.
     
  2. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    335
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
  3. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Slam

    turn vsync back on, press the ~ key, then type r_display info 1. This will display framerate (and other stuff) in the top right corner.

    Chances are that the vsync bug is capping your fps somewhere between 30-50 frames.

    The only solution that ive found worked to fix this, was by creating a custom resolution in the Nvidia control panel for 1920x1080p, but change the refresh rate to 61Hz, or create a resolution of 1921x1081.
     
  4. fl2015

    fl2015 Member Guru

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC

    How about this?

    [​IMG]
     

  5. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    lol, how bout spoilers.
     
  6. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,694
    Likes Received:
    1,582
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Or maybe, just maybe... personal preference is actually something to be considered.

    The fact that the weapons take up a bit less space on the screen in the first game doesn't mean they are more fun to use.
    Crysis' gunplay is stiff, and offers little in the way of feedback. There's no weight to the weapons.
    Very few of the weapons offer any real feeling of power or "umph!" to make them fun to use.

    Crysis 2/3's weapons offer better feedback. A better feeling of weight and force. Add in the fact that they are more detailed, better animated... and have a slightly stylized look. Giving them a small sense of individual personality.

    The most the first game has going for it is it's visuals. And, even then, that's a matter of personal opinion. Yes, it looks amazing, but... personally, I prefer the art style in something like XIII or Mirror's Edge more.
    They are far from being technically superior. But, they have a stronger sense of personality.
     
  7. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    While i agree with Aura89, lets move on. We've been down this road soooo many times before (Should we debate FC2 vs 3/4 next):D.
     
  8. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,694
    Likes Received:
    1,582
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    It is the same tired debate back and forth.
    Over and over and over.
     
  9. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    335
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
    Thing is debate will stay as long as crysis is the benchmark of fps games in terms of pure photorealism pursuit, i can say bf4 can be a benchmark aswell.
     
  10. Uncle Dude

    Uncle Dude Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Sounds like the old 24 Hz bug when using HDMI. Using V-sync would cap your frames at 24. As someone mentioned, if that's the case, create a custom resolution (such as 1920 x 1082) and you can go back to a tear-free 60 fps with v-sync on.
     

  11. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,788
    Likes Received:
    155
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1660 Ti
    Yeah same here lol.
     
  12. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,788
    Likes Received:
    155
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1660 Ti
    Damn that Ascension level is very demanding, i haven't looked at the FPS, but it was def around 20s.

    On the first island map i was pulling 42-70fps depending where i'm looking.
    (I tweaked the shadows also, shadow res at 4096, shadow jittering at 5 looks really good)
     
  13. umeng2002

    umeng2002 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    3
    My rig can't even sustain 60 fps.

    It's just a poorly optimized game.

    Warhead was much better.

    Still fun games to go though again.

    ----------------------------------------

    Also, when I replayed them last fall, I did it on my GTX 260 Core 216.

    I locked the engine to 30 fps and played away. The game is so damn smooth when you tell it, in-engine, to cap at 30 fps.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2015
  14. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,694
    Likes Received:
    1,582
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Yes, Warhead does perform much better.
    IIRC Crytek even commented that forcing DX10 into the first game did cause some performance issues.
    Specially since none of the effects actually needed DX10, much like the DX10 effects in BioShock.

    They were only singled out because Microsoft paid for DX10 exclusive features.
    Warhead performs much better, and only needs DX9 to turn everything all the way up.
     
  15. Aura89

    Aura89 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,161
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    GPU:
    -
    delete
     

  16. slick3

    slick3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 +85/1200
    Isn't it because Crysis doesn't use all the cores in the newer CPUs? Thus being a huge bottleneck for w.e GPUs? I remember reading it somewhere
     
  17. TR2N

    TR2N Master Guru

    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    AMD
    Add the -dx9 tag to the end of the command line to get an awesome performance with this game :)
     
  18. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    I fail to see how people are getting poor performance in C1.

    I get a constant 60fps @ very high settings DX10 1080p 2xaa and it only drops briefly at on the ice level and then again on the end boss.
     
  19. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    335
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
    dual gpus is the answer to your wondering question.
     
  20. remicius

    remicius Master Guru

    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 2080 Ti
    fcking 24hz bug killing me,its nor works with DSR,only if i use a custom resolution.does any1 have some solution for that problem?thanks
     

Share This Page