Crysis 3?

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Stone Gargoyle, Feb 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,242
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    Ask and thou shalt receive
    http://www.tgdaily.com/games-and-entertainment-features/69582-crysis-3-to-push-pc-tech-to-the-max
     
  2. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,495
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    mostly very high, couple of things on high, 2xsmaa.
     
  3. SpiritHunter

    SpiritHunter New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 690
    Our graphics programmers said, 'we're going to give them a game they can't run any more’.”

    Mission accomplished I guess :)

    Making a game that nobody can't run isn't that hard, just tesselate everything to insanity and voila, unplayable. Making a game that looks stunning(granted it looks good) AND runs somewhat good, that's the hard part.
     
  4. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    I just tried MP and it's a lotta fun, yup. :p
     

  5. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,282
    Likes Received:
    6,064
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Yeah but for how long...
     
  6. Solfaur

    Solfaur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,649
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    GPU:
    GB 3080Ti Gaming OC
    For me it was for 2 hours in Crysis 2. Crysis 3 mp beta took 30 minutes. :)

    I'll eventually get Crysis 3 for the sp but I won't blow the 50-60 euros for a 10 hours campaign.
     
  7. LuckyNumber8

    LuckyNumber8 Master Guru

    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    79
    GPU:
    0
    http://pclab.pl/art52489-3.html
    Guys, just look at this site, they made tests in 3 different levels and just notice how BIG fps difference is. 3'rd test "Welcome to the Jungle" (PCGH.de tested only that level) is far less demanding than first two tests. Single 680GTX and only 30fps :D.
     
  8. Gabgoub

    Gabgoub Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Giagabyte GTX 580 in SLI
    Any difference in texture resolution for high and very high? I honestly can't spot the difference.
     
  9. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,239
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    wow the 690 really is poor there
     
  10. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,070
    Likes Received:
    584
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    How do I tweak the game with the CVar mod please? Do I just drop the C3Conf.exe file into the game's Bin32 folder where the Crysis3 executable is or does it need to go in the root of the Crysis 3 folder where the System.cfg and Autoexec.cfg files are?

    Any recommendations on what to tweak to maximise performance without compromising on the Very High settings I'm using? It might be a good idea really to have a separate Crysis 3 Performance Tweak thread for people like me! :D
     

  11. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,070
    Likes Received:
    584
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    It doesn't look like SLI is working properly there but I noticed GPU usage of 70-85% on both my cards while I was playing last night so I presume there's nothing wrong with the scaling on my setup... just the resulting framerate! :(
     
  12. Forceflow

    Forceflow Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Super
    Some more of my experimenting. Running at 1080p with everything on High and SMAA low. (Rig info in the box on the left). Latest nvidia drivers, of course.

    I've only been playing the first level, with all the weather effects in the dark. My current save is in the room with the smelting ovens.

    In-game vsync caps my fps at 30 fps, for some reason. Forcing adaptive vsync through Nvidia control panel gives me 50-60 fps at a relatively smooth framerate.

    Nevertheless, there are some f'ed up FPS drops at the weirdest places. Looking at semi-transparent glass definitely is one.

    Some stuff I'll be trying later on:
    • New Titan Nvidia driver
    • Moving installation to SSD (it's on a regular HDD now)
    • Playing around with the CVARs. I've already tried capping the FPS to 60 fps, but it's not exactly the same experience as adaptive vsync (more tearing).
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2013
  13. PNeV

    PNeV Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Armor
    Wow, looks like I wont get to play on Very High at all with those results.
     
  14. IAmGhostDog

    IAmGhostDog Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    XFX R9 390
    You can run it from anywhere.
    Point Choose Dir to Origin Games > Crysis 3
    "Apply Settings" will update system.cfg and autoexec.cfg.
    Corresponding settings in game will say "Custom"
     
  15. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,495
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    You'll be fine. I'm about 4 hours in and I've averaged over 40 fps if not more. not all on very high, shadows on high and shaders on high. there's no way I played it at under 30fps, trust me.
     

  16. PNeV

    PNeV Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Armor
    Looks like its the original Crysis all over again. Everything on High but Shaders to keep it smooth. Guess I will find out in Easter when I have completed all my Uni work to see how it actual performs. I will have Tomb Raider to keep me busy til then anyways :D
     
  17. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,527
    Likes Received:
    2,930
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Vanilla"
    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.php?p=1596731&postcount=1109

    A older post but it explains what the different SMAA implementations do. :)

    (I was a bit curious about the differences between them.)
     
  18. Vinnie

    Vinnie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,682
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    AMD R9 290X
    I just got my key. Will install it when I get home. :D
     
  19. darrensimmons

    darrensimmons Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE RTX3090 OC
    Just installed on my vista machine with 580 sli set up and a i7 920 at 4Gig and it runs allot smoother, perhaps this is another 6 series cock up? Or perhaps vista runs it better than win 7?
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2013
  20. Wanny

    Wanny Guest

    Game is gorgeous, fun enough and it got an amazing visual and sound production. Was well worth the money. Don't think i'll try MP tho. The only MP shooter I care about this year is DayZ Standalone!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page