CRU (Custom Resolution Utility) Tips, Tricks and Monitors OC (LCD/LED/CRT)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by OnnA, Oct 3, 2016.

  1. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,466
    Likes Received:
    5,409
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Be careful with going down with freesync range. If screen blacks out and looses signal you know you hit the bottom range.
     
  2. Tempest22

    Tempest22 Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    rx 580
    Hi everyone, I have a GL702ZC laptop with rx 580 4gb. The built in display supports freesync via edp (embedded display port) with a 40-60hz range. The built in display can be easily overclocked to 100hz, however any refresh rate different than 60hz disables freesync (it just cannot be enabled via the drivers). I tried tweaking the freesync ranges via the display port and hdmi cru methods but it I couldn't get the lower or upper ranges to update at all. Any suggestions?
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2021
  3. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,510
    Likes Received:
    3,437
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    That's because You don't have enough bandwidth.
    Must check what OC can be achieved along with FS, try 75Hz :p
     
  4. Tempest22

    Tempest22 Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    rx 580
    Thank you for your reply.

    The option to enable freesync disappears from the amd drivers when the display refresh rate is above 60hz e.g. you can't enable it for 61hz and above.

    I tried extending only the lower range with freesync active at 60hz (I didn't change the upper range) via the dp method but there were no changes. Would I still need more bandwidth to extend the lower freesync range? I could potentially be entering the wrong values in there.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2021

  5. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,510
    Likes Received:
    3,437
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    Lower value should be OK.
    All depends also on Quality of LCD ;)
     
    Tempest22 likes this.
  6. Tempest22

    Tempest22 Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    rx 580
    Thanks, that is good to know. I'd be happy with an extended lower range :).

    What is strange is that the default dp range settings are empty but freesync works at 60hz:
    default range.png

    I tried with the following values with no success so far (and with 31-39 for the min range):
    updated range.png

    The default timings of the panel are the following:
    default 60hz timings.png

    I'd like to kindly ask how can I find out what the correct values for the pixel clock and the horizontal rates should be? Apologies If I'm missing something obvious, this is new stuff for me.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2021
  7. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,510
    Likes Received:
    3,437
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    You must check the LCD spec sheet.
    Should be some PDF for it...
     
    Tempest22 likes this.
  8. lapidev

    lapidev New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx1660
    I guess no luck for me; any fps variation causes a blackscreen in Windmill, and choosing a range of less than 50-60hz prevents me from seeing the freesync button. https://laptopdev.com/
     
  9. Tempest22

    Tempest22 Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    rx 580
    Thank you, I'll try to find one!

    I have a suspicion that the freesync edp range is somehow set by the amd oem driver for the gl702zc laptop and is not exposed by cru since the tweaking I did in my previous post did no change anything for me and others here have had either negative or positive results. I think the implementation might be non-standard or custom in other words. What lead me to consider this is that in order to enable freesync to begin with on this laptop the oem driver needs to be installed first. It's disabled if you install any later driver first.

    Anyways any help is much appreciated, let's see how it goes!

    Update - this seems to be the spec sheet but I'm not able to make much of it :D
    https://www.displaytechnology.co.uk/assets/product_files/LP173WF4-SPF5_Datasheet.pdf
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2021
  10. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,510
    Likes Received:
    3,437
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    No it isn't there.
    So use Auto ;)
     
    Tempest22 likes this.

  11. Tempest22

    Tempest22 Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    rx 580
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2021
  12. tfam26

    tfam26 Guest

    Having a similar issue where simply deleting the 4096x2160 resolutions from the TVs settings disables VRR/Gsync completely in NVCP. TV is a standard 4k60hz model, with VRR support.

    Any workaround for this?

    edit: Found a half-assed solution I think. Basically when I delete any of the resolution entries from the "HDMI Support" it for some reason disables VRR on my display (TCLR625).

    If I simply modify, instead of delete, the 4096x2160 entry in "HDMI Support" data block to a standard 3840x2160 resolution it allows me to keep VRR/Gsync Compatibility while eliminating 4096x2160 resolutions from NVCP and games.

    Just to add, I am able to simply delete all of the 4096x2160 resolution entries from the "TV Resolutions" data block without any issue.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 22, 2021
    Tempest22 likes this.

Share This Page