CRU (Custom Resolution Utility) Tips, Tricks and Monitors OC (LCD/LED/CRT)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by OnnA, Oct 3, 2016.

  1. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    622
    GPU:
    Nitro 5700 XT
    Question: While tinkering with my PowerSpec 1710 laptop connected to my Samsung UE510 via DisplayPort 1.2 cable, I was able to use CRU and NVCP to setup an overclock to 2160p@72Hz. Trying to do the same on AMD R9 390 yields a warning about the resolution not supported.

    1) Is there a way to force the custom resolution? I have the settings I used on the laptop, and I created the resolution in CRU.
    2) Could it be the DP cable supplied by Sapphire isn't DP1.2?
     
  2. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,501
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Not cable IMO
    First try to set up custom resolution in Adrenalin & check if it's working NP (it's a good way to check for errors)
    Then set up CRU, done.

    All in all the bandwidth is all that matter ;) in GPU, Monitor etc.
     
  3. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    622
    GPU:
    Nitro 5700 XT
    It's Adrenalin that is refusing the custom res, despite the fact it works using the same settings on my NV.
     
  4. Malik Sajid

    Malik Sajid Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RX 570 8GB
    Hi, guys! I was fiddling with my S24C750 to determine its freesync range and I managed to get it operated at 76hz with no problems and no frames skipping, as for the minimum refresh rate it can't handle anything lower than 48hz!

    Is there anything I can do to extend that range? I'm using a cheap HDMI cable, would buying a decent one give me a better results?
     

  5. Zach b

    Zach b New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Amd Vega 64
    I have an Acer Acer XR342CK, 75mhz with free sync.
    Are you legit telling me I can get rid of my Vega 64 and pick up a gtx 1080 ti and STILL have 100% fully working freesync!?!?
     
  6. amlett

    amlett New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    OnnA, do you think that FS could work on an Eizo Foris FG2421? (120hz)
     
  7. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,501
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    If this is that one:
    -> https://www.displayspecifications.com/en/model/726457

    Try 31-120 or 35-120 or 40/49-120
    Also try to use HDMI for OC
    maby you can do it Via DP -> DP as always has Wider bandtwidth, therefore you can have more OC headroom.
     
  8. amlett

    amlett New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X
    Yes, that's the one. I don't have an amd card around right now, but I'll give it a try. Thanks
     
  9. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,501
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Vega refresh or VEGA 56/64 @ MSRP will do just fine.
    Here in Europe prices are normal -> Mindfactory or OC.UK (FC5 included)
     
  10. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    622
    GPU:
    Nitro 5700 XT

  11. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,188
    Likes Received:
    2,043
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    True, but then Sapphire released the Nitro+ and especially the Pulse with a much higher MSRP price tag. (750 Euro I believe is what the Pulse Vega 56 retailed for here around Europe when it was revealed.)
    (Pushed up to 1000 - 1100 EUR in certain retail stores due to Vega being incredibly high in demand before it came down to 700 - 800 EUR and can now be found for around 500 - 600 EUR or lower.)
     
  12. HonoredShadow

    HonoredShadow Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,267
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    MSI 980Ti+KS800 TV
    Can you use this program to completly remove 4k resolution in windows?

    I run at 1080p and less on a 4k monitor and games keep switching to 4k when there is no way to change res in game.
     
  13. RzrTrek

    RzrTrek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    661
    GPU:
    RX 580, MESA 20.0.2
    I'm curious to hear what you regulars think of freesync and if it's worth the investment?

    MSI MAG27CQ 27" 1ms, 144hz, 1440p with freesync https://www.msi.com/Monitor/Optix-MAG27CQ
    ASUS MG278Q 27" 1ms, 144hz, 1440p with freesync https://www.asus.com/Monitors/MG278Q/

    How will it look on my freesync monitor if my frames were to drop below ~40/48fps and what's the reason for it being capped to being with?

    Does that mean I can only use the full benefits of my freesync monitor between ~40/48-144hz during gameplay and regular desktop use or how does it work?
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2018
  14. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,501
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    RzrTrek and z8373767 like this.
  15. z8373767

    z8373767 Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    Fury Nitro 1070/600
    Yeah, your framerate need to be in FS range to tearless and smooth gameplay. Above or under the range it just cause FS OFF, nothing more.

    LFC is awesome. My monitor (AOC G2460PF) on stock had 48-144Hz, next i installed beta drivers from producer which gave 35-144Hz and now i have 29-146Hz Freesync Range via CRU mode.

    My next monitor must have Freesync2, HDR and minimum 120Hz.
    I saw a sample on PS4 and Infamous, also in Punisher Netflix Series, HDR looks great on my TV
    Also i will need new RIG for this (CPU 8/16 and Navi)
    Maybe in next two or three years (Cyberpunk 2077, S.T.A.L.K.E.R 2)

    Taste Freesync magic, you will never want back.
     
    OnnA and RzrTrek like this.

  16. RzrTrek

    RzrTrek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    661
    GPU:
    RX 580, MESA 20.0.2
    Thanks for the advice guys. I really appreciate it.

    I was actually looking at the Samsung C27HG70, but it was over my budget.

    However I didn't notice that it was within the 30-144hz range, which is something I've been looking for.
     
  17. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,501
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    ^^ Also you don't need 144Hz and above.
    Better to have 1440p (It's not 4K era yet) with 70 or better up to -->120Hz
    Freesync range: 30,35 and Up to Max
    HDR or at last 10Bit
    IPS or similar tech (with good colors & B/W + B/C stuff)
    Samsung making some good (in Budged) Monitors
    IMO you need to save more (2-3months) and go for some new Q-led Sammie HDR Freesync2 for 399€ you'll have some good 1440p 28" one.

    Don't rush, Monitor will serve you some time :D
    I'm not changing mine, waiting till OLEDs Hits us (I hope it will be Q2-3 2019).
     
    z8373767 likes this.
  18. RzrTrek

    RzrTrek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    661
    GPU:
    RX 580, MESA 20.0.2
    I just want a quick 27" monitor with 1440p and from what I've read online OLED will not be optimal for gaming due to burn in over time?

    Also I've been using my monitor since 2011 and just want the best possible gaming experience once ACC has been released.

    ---

    I did some more research into freesync and it seems like the technology has not matured yet:
    https://translate.google.com/transl...i-144-hz-och-hdr/5#content&edit-text=&act=url

    ---

    Perhaps I should just buy whatever monitor I can afford and see for myself (can always turn it off) can't be anything worse than what I've had for the past 7 years.

    :D
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2018
  19. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,501
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
  20. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,501
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    8 Bit Full RGB i can go up to 74Hz with Working FreeSync !
    with YCbCr Limited 4:2:2 (it's more towards Magenta/Red) i can go to 75Hz
    RGB 4:4:4 Limited (it's more towards Teal/Blue) 74.5Hz

    IMO changing the DP cable to Some Copper/Silver with Gold plated plugs connectors is the one & only solution to get 75Hz 32 Bit RGB with FreeSync :D
    (It's Radeon Only Quality FreeSync Mod ;) )

    -> https://www.amazon.co.uk/Quntis-Dis..._rd_t=40701&psc=1&refRID=FR2E2F3MCHT48XZZBSRV


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2018

Share This Page