CRU (Custom Resolution Utility) Tips, Tricks and Monitors OC (LCD/LED/CRT)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by OnnA, Oct 3, 2016.

  1. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    CRU (Custom Resolution Utility) Tips, Tricks and Monitors OC (LCD/LED/CRT)

    Custom Resolution Utility known as CRU was made by ToastyX from this site -> Forum-Monitors-Video-Cards

    ======================================================================

    1. OC your Monitor

    Run CRU as Admin !

    Here is New CRU Beta (supports AMD Freesync & HDMI 2.0) -> CRU-1.2.99-p2

    And here Normal version of CRU 1.2.6 Download CRU-1.2.6

    Then Set your desired Resolutions + Refresh rates
    Here is my Settings for CRT Diamond PRO 2070SB

    My Settings D-PRO 2070SB

    [​IMG]

    Also make sure you have this Option set:

    [​IMG]

    If you want to OC your LCD/LED from default 60Hz to 75Hz:

    [​IMG]

    And also some usefull knowledge:
    "LCD standard" should be the same as "CVT reduced blank" except for TV resolutions like 1920x1080 @ 60 Hz, which uses the CEA standard because that's more common (even with computer monitors).

    "LCD native" just uses the 60 Hz "LCD standard" timing parameters for all refresh rates. This works better when adding higher refresh rates with some LCD monitors and TVs. This is also what is filled in by default when clicking the "Add..." button.

    "LCD reduced" uses non-standard timing parameters to reduce the pixel clock for certain resolutions by reducing the totals. For example, it will keep 1920x1080 @ 72-77 Hz under the 165 MHz pixel clock limit for single-link DVI using timing parameters that I've found work with many LCD monitors.

    "CRT standard" should be the same as the "CVT" standard. It is mostly useful for CRT monitors, and it also works for adding lower resolutions with LCD monitors.

    "GTF" isn't included in CRU, although I did write the code for it. It is an old standard that has been replaced by the CVT standard.

    "DMT" doesn't make sense as a timing option because the DMT standard only defines timing parameters for specific resolutions and refresh rates. "LCD standard" uses the DMT standard for 1360x768 @ 60 Hz and 1366x768 @ 60 Hz because those are common with LCD monitors and TVs, and the DMT standard for 1920x1080 @ 60 Hz is the same as the CEA standard.
    by ToastyX

    TIP -> If something goes wrong go into Windows Safe Mode and Hit Reset-ALL in CRU directory !
    TIP -> Its always good to have some Vendor Specs for your Monitor (google it) to know what H/V Refresh rates it supporting.

    TIP for 1080p LED/LCD users, you can set Refresh Rate 75Hz and/or Custom Resolution:
    2200x1125 total, 148.50 MHz pixel clock / 148.5 MHz 2200 x 1125 @ 60.00Hz

    Here you Have -> Pixelclock calculator
    Also this is great Site for some Testing -> Blur Busters UFO Motion Tests

    Also is good to see what resolutions or refresh rates work for your Monitor by setting Custom Resolution in CCC !

    =========================================================================
    2. Enable Freesync for your Monitor
    (GPU will have to support it, DP or New HDMI Strongly recomended - Bandwidth is what Freesync needs)
    In CRU Edit Extensions Blocks and Add Freesync Range.

    [​IMG]

    Here the AMD freesync Demo to test your settings -> AMD_FreeSync_Demo_0_9_1_setup

    Pro TIP for Freesync Monitors Users -> Here you CAN adjust Freesync Ranges easily e.g. from 45-75 to 33-75

    Like always look into Monitor Specs and H/V (Horizontal/Vertical) Reresh ranges and set this in here:

    [​IMG]
    TIP:
    AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher modifies the AMD/ATI video driver to allow higher resolutions and refresh rates by removing the 165 MHz pixel clock limit for single-link DVI and HDMI, the 330 MHz limit for dual-link DVI, and the 400 MHz limit for VGA.

    -> AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher

    And nVidiia Pixel Clock Patcher modifies the NVIDIA video driver to allow higher resolutions and refresh rates by removing the 165 MHz pixel clock limit for single-link DVI and HDMI, the 330 MHz limit for dual-link DVI, and the 400 MHz limit for SLI and 400/500-series GPUs.

    -> nvlddmkm-patcher-1.4.0.zip

    Also you can Play with some HDMI settings (if you have HDMI Plug-in LED)
    TIP -> Don't set Bit Depth beyond Monitor Spec cuz' you'll have Black Screen Log-in (Run in Safe Mode and Hit Reset-ALL in CRU)

    Also please remember to add HDMI Block and give 660MHz OC for it ->

    [​IMG]
    TIP for CRT Users -> Freesync Working as intended but only in 56-120 Range Mode ! (you can test also in 50-120 range but Freesync is based on VESA Monitor standard so in my CRT lowest Refresh is 56Hz, thats why it is working only in 56-120 (and more) range !
    UPD. Demo runs OK in 56-120 but FC4 not, so only good setting for my CRT is now 57-120/74 ! (Tested and working OK)

    Also is good to read you Monitor PDF Manual, this is point of interest:
    e.g.:
    --
    Horizontal scan range
    30 kHz to 83 kHz (automatic) Try from 33-35 (and go Up in 5Hz steps, always restart after change + Run CRU as Admin)
    Vertical scan range
    50 Hz to 76 Hz (automatic) Give Max 75
    (When you OC you refresh rates for Monitor you Pick lower number from H or V Highest in this e.g. it will be Safe 75Hz becouse Vertical Highest is 76Hz)
    Optimal preset resolution
    1920 x 1080 at 60 Hz
    Highest preset resolution
    1920 x 1080 at 60 Hz
    ===========
    Next is good to have GPU to monitor connected by Display Port (it has Higher Bandwidth, this is Important factor for FS)
    Next if you have HDMI, try to OC your TDMS clock to 660MHz in CRU-> HDMI )

    you can Enable it easier via DP converter to HDMI that ToastX recommends -> Accell B086B-006B-2 UltraAV DisplayPort 1.2 to HDMI 1.4 Active Adapter

    Some setups need to be pluged by HDMI to DVI/DP etc. HDMI must be pluged in GPU (That's the easiest way to force Driver to detect Monitor as HDMI)
    Some other setups needs to be Pluged by Display Port.
    Last TIP -> Always restart you computer to reflect changes !

    Ne01 OnnA Note:
    I've decided to give This Great Utility its own thread (also to be more visible for others) & nV users also can Tweak/OC their Monitors.
    It's still under construction !
    ========
    Here is the list of Monitors that are capable & working with FreeSync:

    Qnix 2710 = OK
    Qnix QX2710 = OK
    LG 29UM58a = OK
    Yamakasi Catleap 2B = OK
    LG 27MA53 = OK
    Samsung S24C750P = Need work/Testing
    AOC Q2963PM = OK + some more Work/Testing
    Viewsonic VX2257 = OK + some more Work/Testing

    Easy instructions for DVI monitors:

    1. Pixel clock patch using AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher !
    2. Delete extra monitor profiles from CRU and restart driver
    3. Open CRU again and add EDID custom blocks (HDMI support & Freesync range) to all profiles that exist
    4. In Preferences tick: Include If slot avaible (like in 2nd screen)
    5. Unplug and replug DVI connection


    ========

    You may need to Edit Custom resolutions in Registry.

    Here:

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4d36e968-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0000]

    "DALNonStandardModesBCD1"=hex:13,60,07,68,00,00,00,60,13,60,07,68,00,00,00,75,\
    13,60,07,68,00,00,00,85,13,66,07,68,00,00,00,60,13,66,07,68,00,00,00,75,13,\
    66,07,68,00,00,00,85,08,00,04,80,00,00,00,60,10,24,06,00,00,00,00,60
    "DALNonStandardModesBCD2"=hex:12,80,07,68,00,00,00,60,14,00,10,50,00,00,00,60
    "DALNonStandardModesBCD3"=hex:12,80,10,24,00,00,00,90,11,52,08,64,00,00,00,85,\
    13,60,07,68,00,00,00,85,13,60,07,68,00,00,00,85,13,60,10,24,00,00,00,85,13,\
    60,10,24,00,00,00,85,16,00,12,00,00,00,00,85,13,66,07,68,00,00,00,85,06,40,\
    04,80,00,00,00,90,08,00,06,00,00,00,00,90,11,52,08,64,00,00,00,90,19,20,12,\
    00,00,00,00,75
    "DALNonStandardModesBCD4"=hex:12,00,10,24,00,00,00,00,12,80,07,68,00,00,00,85,\
    12,80,09,60,00,00,00,85,16,00,12,80,00,00,00,85,19,20,10,80,00,00,00,85,19,\
    20,12,00,00,00,85,17,92,13,44,00,00,00,85,18,00,14,40,00,00,00,77,18,56,13,\
    92,00,00,00,79,19,20,14,40,00,00,00,74,20,48,15,36,00,00,00,66

    Explanation now:
    20,48,15,36,00,00,00,66 -> it means Resolution: 2048:1536 at 66 refresh rate, you need to edit any of those settings to your liking.
    Exmp. If you need 1920:1080 at 80Hz -> 19,20,10,80,00,00,00,80 and so on.

    And the same in here:
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\amdkmdag]

    TIP - Its good to have this string Exported to a file for just Merging when Drivers gets updated, save some time.
    TIP - Also is good to have working settings in CRU Exported to a File.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2016
  2. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    And for my Freesynced CRT The Winner is:
    Freesync ON and v-Sync OFF


    This is The Frame Times test in Witcher III (Good repetable scene)
    Best Quality and the Frame Times with no Hickups is when FS in ON and The V-Sync OFF (CAP to 60FPS in Witcher menu)
    Witcher III is on Ultra with .ini Tweaks + Ubersampling is ON + Reshade + SweetFX used.

    programs used:

    FRAPS (turned ON when Game is lauched)
    And Of course The FLA Calculator -> http://www.gpureport.cz/Windows/FLAcalculator/FlaCalculator.aspx
    The Program is in English.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I know i have Low Frame Times but in CRT its how it is.
    Clearly it shows me the Freesync is Working (As i said ) and it is Better that Way.

    UPD.1
    Some additional tests:
    SoM, FC4, ME:C and Heroes VII DX9/10

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    UPD.2 testing Moar

    Here good example is Shadow of Mordor becouse it shows Frame Variations when Testing Performance (Build in Bench)

    Look in here (i can see this when gaming but here you have this in Graph)
    Freesync Gaming is more Fluent :)

    SoM FS-OFF / V-sync OFF (My Old Standard for Playing)
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]a
    SoM FS-OFF / V-sync ON
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    SoM Freesync ON / V-Sync OFF (My NEW Standard for Playing)
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2016
  3. kretex

    kretex Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice tips & trick :)
    its any negatif impact to monitor/led health?? :confused:
     
  4. davido6

    davido6 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    loved it since i found it pritty good really :)
     

  5. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    This shall be interesting.

    [​IMG]

    Fressync is not just software.
    You must have hardware to go with it.
    GPU has to have dynamic refresh rates with Adaptive Sync with display port except on new HDMI freesync monitors. Gpus still have to have dynamic refresh rates as well.
    Secondly, the LCD panel has to be able to dynamically change refresh rate without demonstrating visual artifacts.

    Its already been know to easily change the freesync range.
    Been doing it since Nov 2015.
    CRU has been updated to make this happen 10x easier then old method.
     
  6. Dragondale13

    Dragondale13 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried this out for a lil while but then my settings stopped showing up after a driver install.Think it's because I'm on DP 1.2a which doesn't need the patch.I saw no advantage after that as nvidia control panel allows me to go up to 70hz using CVT-RB, 71hz if I set display scaling to gpu.Same result I got from using CRU.I'm on a Dell U2414H A03.

    Now, if it's possible to get a custom refresh rate of 30hz or 40hz using this or any other similar utility, then I'll be more than happy to retry and experiment again.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2016
  7. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    It should not be such :)
    Besides you cant go out of Spec (yes it's impossible)

    Next -> you can always read in CRU Forums, but i know that ppl have good experience with this CRU (me too of course)

    try, and if something is wrong -> Hit reset :nerd:
     
  8. mtrai

    mtrai Master Guru

    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0

    WOW just wow is all I can say seeing this posted over and over by various people. I will admit I assumed as most there must be some hardware inside the monitor but it just simply is not true. Freesync is a standard that is part of DP and hence why it was only able to run there as HDMI has licensing issues, agreement issues, standards issues, and consortium issues as well as royalities for the use of HDMI.

    See the following links about freesync, hardware, faq and so on.

    http://www.amd.com/en-us/innovations/software-technologies/technologies-gaming/freesync

    https://youtu.be/go8sbI38YxI Raja Koduri speaking on Freesync over HDMI and how.

    http://support.amd.com/en-us/search/faq/225

    AMD Freesync powerpoint on freesync over HDMI The second page is the important one, it is being added as a HDMI standard with EDID data blocks to allow for this not hardware.
    http://www.amd.com/Documents/freesync-hdmi.pdf

    Pre freesync HDMI white papers http://www.amd.com/Documents/FreeSync-Whitepaper.pdf

    Yes there are some min hardware reuirements such as HDMI 1.2, a GPU that can do freesync some can do even more. Like Low Framerate Compensation (LFC) and so on. However the monitor requirements only has to do with better quality lcd panels not any specific hardware controller unlike g-sync.
     
  9. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,818
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nah it'll be all right. because no1 is buying it, not even Onna
    He's already "benchmarking" without investing any effort in finding out whether FreeSync works or NOT

    I might be wrong, but this is how I read his FS posts:
    If someone put a gun to his head and asked him to answer truthfully whether FS hack works, OR ELSE :rpg:

    He would answer either:
    • a) I don't know
    • b) It doesn't work
     
  10. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,818
    Likes Received:
    0
    better? where do you get this from

    you need special scaler that is able to change refresh rate seamlessly on the fly.

    jesus why are we arguing... hit the OSD display info on your monitor/TV while gaming and see if refresh is going up and down...
     

  11. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

    All I have too say. Buy into this bull**** all you want.
     
  12. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,818
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-CRU-1-3-preview-P2

    the comedy goes on :D

    The "Admin" at MonitorTests who (almost) got confused by our techno-terrorist is actually CRU author!!!

    basically he's saying that even if FreeSync worked on these no-FS displays, there ought to be flickering every time FPS goes up/down
    which would be errr... kinda hard to miss,
    and would render the hack useless for practical purposes (gaming)

    Onna goes on to give him few tips on FreeSync:

    :banana: :banana:
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2016
  13. warlord

    warlord Master Guru

    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    :banana:
     
  14. Dragondale13

    Dragondale13 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    What wizardry is this!? :p Nice job guys, I'm a bit jelly tbh. :thumbup:
     
  15. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Model U2414H:
    Horizontal scan range
    30 kHz to 83 kHz (automatic)
    Vertical scan range
    56 Hz to 76 Hz (automatic)
    Maximum preset resolution: 1920 x 1080 at 60 Hz

    So i see that you can easily go up to 75Hz Refresh rate or
    Go for Higher resolution at 60Hz !
    Try this one -> 2200x1125 total, 148.50 MHz pixel clock / 148.5 MHz 2200 x 1125 @ 60.00Hz

    What? -> Tweak Moar :banana:
     

  16. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whats even more hilarious, is his blatant avoidance of our post against it.
    He totally is reminding me of The General. Sometimes I miss that troll.
     
  17. Dragondale13

    Dragondale13 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried again but it's a no go.The custom resolutions just don't show up.The very first time I used it, it worked but after driver install nothing.Not a huge deal but thanks anyway.

    Just got word today an associate of my bro is interested in buying the Dell.I was surprised anyone would've wanted it but I'm ecstatic..an Asus VG248QE is what I'll replace it with.I know, downgrade in viewing angles and color repro., but I need that multiple refresh rate.
     
  18. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not an avoidance :)
    Not everybody will be lucky with Freesync, i said that in Main Post.

    For starters its really working for me, Yes i know its little strange but it really Working and gameplays with it is much better.
    You see those frame times + FPS from my FRAPS + FLA runs, nothing to add more from my side.

    And:
    Trolling (from Urban dictionary)
    Being a prick on the internet because you can. Typically unleashing one or more cynical or sarcastic remarks on an innocent by-stander, because it's the internet and, hey, you can.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2016
  19. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,115
    Likes Received:
    0
    YES, you need to repeat whole procedure after Fresh Driver Install (for nV is a must)
    For radeons you need to enter CRU and then restart.
    But i've noticed that after WDDM 2.1 Driver 16.9.1 i have to Refresh all CRU settings (Again from the Start) Now its OK after Upgrade to 16.9.2

    Also i have Custom Driver for My Monitor (Made by Me)
     
  20. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dude seriously, I don't need a definition of trolling someone like you.
    Especially on here.
    You can keep trying all you want.
    Its hilarious.
    You'r post, website, descriptions, explanations are all so broken on every post.
    Its one thing if English is not your first language. But its the way you put things together that always have been odd to me.
     

Share This Page