Crashing to desktop while playing Thief: Deadly Shadows

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by cyclinggimpe, Aug 11, 2004.

1. cyclinggimpe

cyclinggimpe Member

GPU:
    Asus 9600 XT (128)
    I just installed an Asus 9600 XT (128 mb) card on the weekend and also installed Thief Deadly Shadows with the latest patch. After about an hour of game play I get kicked out to the desktop or to a blue screen without any error messages. I am new to ATI drivers etc. as I used to have a geforce 2 Pro card.

I installed the 4.7 Catalyst drivers (bundle) and did some tweaking that I got from some messages in this forum and others.

Here are some of my settings in the Control Panel:

Under Displays: The monitor is set to 1152X864 but the refresh rate states 60Hz whereas under Display Properties for my monitor I have it set to 75 Hz ( why is there a difference)?
    Monitor Attributes: Checked "Use DDC information".
    Refresh rate override = Disabled. (Should this be set to "Same as Desktop"?)

Smartgart: Fastwrite is turned OFF.
    AGP Speed = 4X

I unchecked VPU Recovery.

Under Options: Checked "Disable quick resolution feature"
    Unchecked "Alternate DVI operational mode" I have a Viewsonic E70f 17 inch monitor with the latest .ICM file for it (WinXP).

I noticed one thing mentioned in some thread (I can't remember which) about XT cards should also have a setting for an Overdrive? I can't seem to find this setting anywhere and I have an XT card.

On a Thief forum it was suggested to drop down to 4.4 or 4.1 Catalyst drivers but then I won't be able to play Doom3 also (or will I be able to?). With the 4.7 drivers I have no problems with Doom 3 but I do with Thief 3.

Is anyone here playing Thief Deadly Shadows without getting kicked out? If so, which drivers are you using. I really don't want to keep uninstalling/installing different drivers each time I play Doom and Thief.

Thanks.