CPU bottleneck E8400 and 2x 4870 ?

Discussion in 'Benchmark Mayhem' started by Psi01, Aug 3, 2008.

  1. Psi01

    Psi01 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 4870 @stock
    Loo all!

    Iam a bit in the dark here, I think my CPU is limiting me here.. anyone got any ideas plz tell me :)
    I tried some benching aswell as some games and I feel the cards are capab le of more then iam getting.

    Crysis 1.2 benchmark@1920x1200 High: 41 FPS average
    CoD ingame @ 1920x1200 all max 4AA 16AF: anywhere from 75-200 FPS

    and this is what 3dmark06 tells me (1280x1024 @ default):

    [​IMG]

    and this @ 1920x1200 8xAA:

    [​IMG]


    Apart from the CPU score beeing incredibly low, the difference between 1280 default and 1920 8AA is really small. Anyone care to elaborate?
    (CPU runs @ 333x9 stock, the 333x6 is some powersaving thingy.. disabled it before, didnt make a difference tho)

    THNX
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2008
  2. tuco

    tuco Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 460's
    Well the 8400 has head room for overclocking, why not try it and see your crysis bench score rise.
     
  3. ebucemag

    ebucemag Master Guru

    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD 7850 2GB Crossfire
    depending on what your ram can do, you should be able to get an overclock of 400fsb x 9 = 3600mhz or higher.
     
  4. morbias

    morbias Don TazeMeBro Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,445
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    -
    The difference between 3dm06 at 1280x1024 and 1920x1200 is so small because the GPUs are limited at the lower resolution. That's what makes multi-GPU setups so great, you can run higher resolutions with minimal loss in performance.

    Also, I experimented with my CPU at 3ghz and 4ghz and got quite a difference in performance, with your faster cards I think the difference would be greater:
    [​IMG]
     

  5. Psi01

    Psi01 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 4870 @stock
    thnx.. Ill try a slight overclock later tnight see what happens @ 3,6 or something.
    thnx and later :)
     
  6. proFits

    proFits Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,866
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    3.6 is nice and stable here with not much effort, 4.2 Ghz is something to try out though, always fun and I'm as spending cautious as my cat cares about me
     
  7. Psi01

    Psi01 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 4870 @stock
    aaaand back. okay I tried a run @ 3,6GHz (400x9) and crysis at the same settings as last run scored exactly the same.. 41FPS average (seems low for two 4870...right?)
    CoD 4 at same map and setting went from 75-200 to about 95-2xx
    and this is what 3dmark06 came up with:

    [​IMG]

    CPU bottleneck?
     
  8. morbias

    morbias Don TazeMeBro Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,445
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    -
    Yeah, my average fps in Crysis stayed about the same too, but minimum fps went up a bit.
     
  9. aiksweba

    aiksweba Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 660
    I think that your CPU not setup correctly... i see 2400? Correct speed for 8400 is 3000 not?
    Maybe should be that! Good luck
     
  10. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,376
    Likes Received:
    313
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    probalbly you got something turned on in the bios........thats like cool en quit for amd. or so...cause your spedd is 2,4 ghz not 3 or 3,6^^

    as you can see. did you cheked zhe multi??

    greetz BetA
     

  11. Chock

    Chock Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x670GTX @40"+26" Samsung
    his cpu just throttled down after the benchmark :) dont worry
     
  12. Dmingo

    Dmingo Member Guru

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800 GTS 512 810/2000/2200
    CPU speed does very litte the higher the resolution from about 1600x1200 and above say maybe 2-4 FPS for like a whole 1ghz clock speed increase.
     
  13. Canerw

    Canerw Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX GTX280 XXX glouglou
  14. kapu

    kapu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,012
    Likes Received:
    530
    GPU:
    Radeon 6800
    My E8400 Went for 3.6Ghz without chaning anything in BIOS except FSB :)(and memmory ratio i supose). For 4.0Ghz i need to incrase voltage alot, like 1.35v :/.
     
  15. Canerw

    Canerw Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX GTX280 XXX glouglou
    Don't worry, in air you can push to 1.4 without expected problem with a good cooler.
     

  16. kapu

    kapu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,012
    Likes Received:
    530
    GPU:
    Radeon 6800
    I have after market cooler (Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro), it keeps my idle temp at 38C and full load 49C, but it is set to SILENT (800rpm), so cant hear it. At that 1.35v i have to set it to auto because of slient i get like 60C full load....

    And tbh i dont need 4.0Ghz i think ... i am running single HD4870.
     
  17. putty

    putty Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,660
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Saffire AMD R9 285
    maybe updating to 8.8 drivers?
     
  18. travee05

    travee05 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    get 8.8 updated drivers (make sure you uninstall others first) and try this thread
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=270486&highlight=4870

    I'm using this program instead of the stock ati program and find it to be awesome.
    It also has a section to adjust fan speeds on these cards.

    I have 1 4850 and my 3dmark is at 13k going to get a second and it should jump a bunch.

    Any who read this post and try this program. Don't only OC your pc OC your card... These things where made for it. Just watch your temps, witch you can also monitor through this program.

    Good luck :-D
     
  19. imjune

    imjune Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 460/768MB/SLI
    If u have ur CPU overclocked but the score doesn't get higher, it's simply not a bottleneck. But if u say, "this score seems too low for this monstrous video card", well then it's the software that doesn't fully support that monstrous card.
     
  20. rylen

    rylen Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1060 6GB
    I think your score is a bit low for your setup. My rig can score 14,025 with a single 8800GT(750/1840/2000), E8400 @ 3.6Ghz, and a single channel RAM(2 x 1GB), but I don't think it's your CPU's fault maybe it has something to do with drivers, idk just a guess.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2008

Share This Page