Core i9-10900KF performance leaks in 3DMark Time Spy - Ryzen 9 3900X Level Perf

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Mar 20, 2020.

  1. fry178

    fry178 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    204
    GPU:
    2080S WaterForceWB
    Then why buy a high core HT chip in the first place?
    could have easily gone with 6 C running HT for that.
     
    K.S. likes this.
  2. squalles

    squalles Master Guru

    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    Galax GTX 1080 EXOC OC
    you cant spend more on intel, the i7 10700k are 8 cores and 16 threads in same price of 3800x but very better than him, 10900k are 2 cores less than 3900x but rendering same on multi thread because have many better single core performance, so, the better choice is obvious, or choice are amd x570 and your processor and depends of software be improved to use all your cores, or you choice the intel and have the same or better performance even if when software cant be optimized

    if you want does amd performs close you need a x570 to hit 3733mhz on amd and its need spend much more money, because x570 cost more than z390, mainly the decents motherboards to hit the boost clock announced
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,209
    Likes Received:
    6,090
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    In case you were replying to me, the number of cores was not the point of my comment. I was on 6 cores (with HT) CPU before upgrade.
     
  4. fry178

    fry178 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    204
    GPU:
    2080S WaterForceWB
    No, meant why buy a cpu with HT, if your not using it?
     

  5. kakiharaFRS

    kakiharaFRS Master Guru

    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    77
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming X 1080ti
    cpu score seems around an overclocked 9900k but for having done roughly 60 time spy and 60 firestrike since dec 2019
    those benchmarks are unreliable same cpu same config drivers I have score ranging from 9500 to 12300 cpu for the same hardware depending on the day...
    I trust ingame benchmarks way more now like tomb raider or borderlands 3
     
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,209
    Likes Received:
    6,090
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    HT was not the reason. And 10 cores without HT is better than 6 cores with HT. If future games will learn how to use more than 8 cores then I can switch HT on. Right now I do not need HT.
     
  7. fry178

    fry178 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    204
    GPU:
    2080S WaterForceWB
    not better, but a lot cheaper, meaning more funds for the gpu, easily giving a lot more fps than the cpu (gains), as clearly your not using it for "production" (and turn on/use HT).
    Not even looking at the fact that by the time (all) games will make use of +8 cores will be a while,
    and most likely getting outperformed by any 6 C at that time, probably cheaper.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2020
  8. Pictus

    Pictus Active Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    R9 280x 3GB
    That is easy... :)

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transient_execution_CPU_vulnerabilities
    [​IMG]

    https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=lvi-attack-perf&num=1
    [​IMG]

    Outdated, but...
    https://www.tomshardware.com/uk/features/intel-amd-most-secure-processors
    "Intel currently has 242 publicly disclosed vulnerabilities, while AMD has only 16.
    That’s a 15:1 difference in AMD’s favor. The gap is just too large to ignore."
     
    Embra, fry178 and alanm like this.
  9. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,290
    Likes Received:
    1,553
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    @Pictus - excellent post. Thanks.
     
  10. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    213
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    When I overclock both cpu and memory on 9900k and 7980xe, they are both faster in any game than my overclocked 3900x. So looks like there is not much performancehit in those vulnerabilities updates....

    God 10600 points in Cinebench r20 with 7980xe overclocked, så it does beat the "unbeatable" 3950x in rendering. 7980xe is 2,5 years old :p

    PS: I love both AMD and Intel :)
     

  11. TLD LARS

    TLD LARS Member Guru

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    Asus Vega 64 VRMfix
    You did pay a lot for that kind of performance 2.5 years ago though.
    If you like to render and game, you could buy a 3950 and a 9900 system for the same money now and have 2 complete PCs.

    A 7980xe needs around twice as much power and cooling compared to a 3950x, delid and watercooling is pretty much a requirement for a 7980xe to beat the 3950x.

    The performance hits where mostly felt in SSD performance and other data move heavy tasks, so a 3950x with pci 4 SSD could be well over twice as fast compared to a 7980xe setup, so it depends on what you do with your system.
     
    fry178 likes this.
  12. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    213
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    On my 7980xe setup:
    2x Adata sx8200pro
    2x sx8200pro r0 7980xe.PNG
    Optane 900p 480GB
    optane 900p 7980xe.PNG

    Try to beat that with 3950x. I can't beat that with my 3900x on Asrock x570 Taichi ;)

    The 4k random read @QD=1 is faster on my 9900k setup, but slower on 3900x setup...

    So it depends on what you do :p
     
  13. K.S.

    K.S. Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,280
    Likes Received:
    614
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC
    pics or it didn't happen
     
  14. Dazz

    Dazz Master Guru

    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    94
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX RTX 2080
    You can use Optane on AMD setups... however you have to use 3rd party software cause it's locked down of course.
     
  15. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    213
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    Optane 900/905p works like a normal ssd with AMD. It's not the optane "cache" m.2 ;)
    Optane 900p worked on my Amd 1950x x399 too.
     

  16. Dazz

    Dazz Master Guru

    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    94
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX RTX 2080
    If you use AMD's drivers thats correct but if you use 3rd party software you can slide load Intel's proprietary driver so that it no longer uses the NVMe driver (interface limiter) Linus Tech tips did it

    Conclusion in most cases runs faster on AMD + Optane by around 10-20% than Intel with Optane but this will be due to the direct to CPU latency rather than going through the chipset (like Intel) and you need to spend $30 for the licence on the AMD platform. Remember on the AMD platform it must be on the top most interface which connects direct to CPU. So Intel have limited to their platform because they don't want their competitor to use cause it works just as good or better on their platform, but there are always work arounds.

    However who knows maybe Intel will sue premocache in the future or gets the feature removed? Thats the sort of crap nVidia did **physx** by removing AMD graphics card support with a nVidia card doing the physx calculations.

    Proprietary software is great is it not????

     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2020
  17. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    213
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    "No one" cares about cache programs, because it's not working unless you use the same files all the time. That is why I'm using Optane 900p. Fast loading when reading files from the first time :)

    Windows prefetch is doing much of the cachework anyway.

    My opinion.
     
  18. BReal85

    BReal85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    109
    GPU:
    Sapph RX 570 4G ITX
    So the "Ryzen 9 3900X Level Perf" is true for games? LOL
     
  19. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,918
    Likes Received:
    633
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    Oh they were supposed to SUPPORT AMD cards?
    LOL thats a new one.

    "grrrr Nvidia I write u becaz my HD5850 runs PhysX sooo slooow on Catalyst 12.1. Git ur sht together Ngreedia"
     
  20. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,584
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Wrong.

    as a tiered cache all writes are to the optane cache and lazy algorythms push this data to the hdd in good time, its actually a great way of preventing fragmentation.
     

Share This Page