Control

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by WhiteLightning, Jun 12, 2018.

  1. jmmy23

    jmmy23 Master Guru

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    1080ti
    Thats why i am saying. So i turned off DLSS and playing with RENDER 1080P or even 1440P with MSAA OFF.
    But in heavy combat sometimes 35fps .Overall 40-50fps :)
     
  2. Party Poison

    Party Poison Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    218
    GPU:
    Rtx 2080Ti

    So im on ultra 1440p ultra dlss with raytracing. In fights I drop to about 80 ish but in most areas its 100 ish.

    How come your fps is so low?

    If I test at 4k with 1440p render and all ultra my fps is the same if not better than what you are getting.

    You are using a 2080ti yes?
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2019
  3. Alex13

    Alex13 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,316
    Likes Received:
    144
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    Tried it for ~1h. The noise is wee bit hard to tolerate, just too much
     
  4. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    524
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    I thought I could get past the terrible noise in game,I was wrong and stopped playing.
    The skin ,dark areas hell even the toilet paper ,caution sign ,cleaning bottle.Just like the quest I was doing What a mess:Burn the trash

    4K Native resolution with 4K resolution scaling Maxed out RT High with 4XMSAA still not helping
    [​IMG]
     

  5. Party Poison

    Party Poison Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    218
    GPU:
    Rtx 2080Ti


    Thats a bug i think, It showed up for me after i was changing res over and over. Rebooted the game and its gone now aslong as I dont change the render res.
     
    sertopico likes this.
  6. Adicto

    Adicto Master Guru

    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 9600GT 512MB
    This never happened in my client.

    Still cant activate ray tracing, any solutions?
     
  7. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,139
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    I don't have Control.

    Just reposting what others had told me.
     
  8. Evileh

    Evileh Master Guru

    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Duel OC 8
    Yeah mine isn't no where near that bad either... I've seen it a few times though and party poison is probably right it's from switching graphics while in game a lot. I haven't seen it since not touching it.
     
  9. sertopico

    sertopico Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080Ti OC
    Yeah that noise problem occurs when you activate and deactivate rtx effects in game. It messes up with the screen space reflections. Rebooting the game or even waiting a while should solve the issue, probably it takes time for shaders to get recompiled, hence the noisey image.
     
  10. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,924
    Likes Received:
    1,062
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    So, I've tinkered with the game yesterday but not actually played it very much.

    First of all, Global Reflections is a GPU killer and completely destroys my OC. Temps are...okay (~74C) it's just that the frequency goes down from 2010 to 1900. Same really if I don't OC, then the stock clocks are reduced from ~1900 to 1790. On the other hand if I disable Global Reflections it takes away a lot of the realism.

    Next is RayTracing, it looks great but in order to have it enabled (High) DLSS is required or the FPS cost is just far too great (sub 50fps at 3440x1440). DLSS on the other hand makes everything blurry but on the other hand it's quite blurry from the beginning so it's not that bad considering all the graphical effect that comes with the package. I just disabled the Lightning since it added so much noise to the scene.

    Now I've understood that noise is a bug that goes away if the game is restarted so I'll try that.
     

  11. sertopico

    sertopico Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080Ti OC
    ^ Actually if you use rtx reflections you don't need the global ones at all, so you can deactivate them. Also, volumetric lighting can be set up on medium, giving you good results and 10 fps more. This game needs to be fine tuned before playing it, specially if you use ray tracing. In any case you need to use DLSS otherwise your fps will go down. Combat scenes are also very taxing. I tried it on my 1080Ti and I must say that ray traced effects look great but I am supposed to play it @720p to get good performance overall lol.
     
  12. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,874
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    thats not how this works.
     
  13. sertopico

    sertopico Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080Ti OC
    How then? Global reflections basically try to reflect things when SSR don't work, i. e. objects off screen which cannot be properly reflected. If rt reflections are enabled you are going to get everything reflected, therefore you don't need approximated reflections given from the global ones.
     
  14. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,874
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Raytracing is "extra" it isn't being used for every single possible reflection.
     
  15. sertopico

    sertopico Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080Ti OC
    From what I've seen it covers up pretty much every reflective surface. If not all of them, I would say the biggest part. The final result is very satisfying nontheless. :D
     

  16. jmmy23

    jmmy23 Master Guru

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    1080ti


    Just in heavy combat 38-45fps with res 1440P and 1440P render ,no dlss,Rtx high.

    With 1440P DLSS render to 960P is awesome 60-100fps


    Is this playable guys for you 40+- fps in combat?
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2019
  17. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,924
    Likes Received:
    1,062
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    I'm siding with @Astyanax on this one :) I was standing in the lobby at the very beginning of the game which has this floor where there are heavy reflections if turned on. When I turned off Global and Screen Space and had RTX on High there was no reflections on the floor whatsoever. I tried this on the next floor as well when getting close to the offices - same thing. Mind you I've only tested it there so
     
  18. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,139
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    It is going to be really difficult to wait a year for this one.
    Specially since, sadly, the PS4 version seems to be terrible. Digital Foundries performance breakdown shows the PS4 hitting 10FPS at times, with periodic stutters, hitches and other problems.
     
    emperorsfist likes this.
  19. emperorsfist

    emperorsfist Master Guru

    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    483
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1080 8Gb
    Considering the price it has on the PS4, that's BAD...
     
  20. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,139
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    PS4 Pro seems better, but even it can't maintain a solid 30fps. As it suffers dips occasionally, but according to the video is far more playable.
    Sadly, I only have a regular PS4.

    I love Remedy, they are one of my favorite developers.
    My wife told me to just "Shut up, buy the game off of Humble Bundle's store and register the key", but I'm stubborn.
     
    emperorsfist likes this.

Share This Page