Coffee Lake: Intel Going for 6 Cores Processors on Laptops

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Sep 15, 2016.

  1. fry178

    fry178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,787
    Likes Received:
    287
    GPU:
    2080S WaterForceWB
    @kaarme
    Not sure what games you're playing, but the stuff im running (incl os/wifi/dedicated soundcard) produces between 30-50% cpu load spread over all 8 "cores" on my 3770.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2016
  2. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    382
    GPU:
    Geforce RTX 3090 FE
  3. fry178

    fry178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,787
    Likes Received:
    287
    GPU:
    2080S WaterForceWB
    I know that hardware i have. Did you see i wrote "8"?! Which for win 7/8/10 it shows as a 8 core cpu.
    Never stated i had a cpu with 8 physical cores...
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2016
  4. TheSarge

    TheSarge Master Guru

    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 TI FT

  5. VENGEANCE

    VENGEANCE Member Guru

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GALAX GTX 1070 HOF @2164
    wayyyyyy tooooo longggg toooo wait.....most will propabely be on the Zen road
     
  6. Matt26LFC

    Matt26LFC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    Well I guess that just dashed a lot of peoples dreams of having a mainstream 6 core

    Not surprised its laptops only, why would they undercut their HEDT platform with this
     
  7. Vladimir43

    Vladimir43 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX480
    Looks like not just for laptops ... desktop as well!
     
  8. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,226
    Likes Received:
    504
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 580X SE
    depend mostly on how powerfull per core zen will be...

    better get a 4 core with more power per core than 8 weak one...
    AMD have done a moutain of hype in the past that born a mice. (remember the 1st real 8 core that should kill any i7 and that in fact have dificult to fight with i5)

    let's see when it will be in shop.
     
  9. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,643
    Likes Received:
    99
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    Intel did the same with Socket 478 Pentium 4, which was actually slower than the Pentium 3. They also said when they added 64-bit to the Pentium 4 Socket 775, however didn't redesign the chip much, meaning 64-bit applications ran slower. That held back the uptake of 64-bit.

    The difference between Intel and AMD is Intel can have a bad run like they are having now, but because the start point was already pretty good people are ignorant of it.
     

Share This Page