COD: Black Ops 3 PC graphics performance review

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Nov 6, 2015.

  1. SA SYS

    SA SYS Active Member

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GEFORCE GTX 1080 FE
    blah blah blah

    This is one of the reasons why BF kicks COD's a$$ in PC

    next year! next COD i hope to be from modern warfare series and have more optimized for PC .... I don't buy COD:BO III ..... maybe after some prise off ... :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2015
  2. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,926
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    Aorus 1080 TI
    It doesn't, really, and I wouldn't hold my
    breath for the next (two?) iterations. Especially not the next one which comes from IW, easily the worst studio with gems like MW3 and Ghosts under their belt.
     
  3. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,656
    Likes Received:
    1,628
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Looks like its only SP that's buggy..

    When i played that open beta it ran great maxed, including textures @extra.

    1080p i was always above 120fps, only dsr 1620p cripled it a bit to ~ 70ish fps..

    But i noticed it can be cpu intense, more then gta5.. saw some higher cpu usage spikes time to time..
     
  4. nizzen

    nizzen Master Guru

    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    177
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    Windows 10 , 358.78 gameworks driver
    5960x @ 4500
    3-way Titan X
    Ultrasettings (max) no v-sync @ 4k

    ~100-110fps with 3-way Titan X @ stock
    ~ 140-150fps with 3-way Titan X @ 1400mhz

    98-99% gpuload on all gpu's

    Where is 4k monitors with 144hz? :D
     

  5. Elder III

    Elder III Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    239
    GPU:
    Both Red and Green
    This game sounds like a real mess performance wise. Have a Beer (or 3) on me Hilbert, you deserve it after testing this steamy pile of horse apples. :beer:
     
  6. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    With your GPU setup (and DEEP pockets) i will go for this marvel:

    http://www.144hzmonitors.com/monito...h-ultrawide-curved-g-sync-ips-gaming-monitor/

    34 inch, ultrawide (21:9), IPS, curved, 30-100Hz G-Sync, 3440x1440...

    No need of 4K

    :D
     
  7. maize1951

    maize1951 Master Guru

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 8GB
    I've been playing it and have noticed that on my 8GB of memory it uses approximately 80% of the memory, time to relieve that bottleneck with another 8GB of memory (already ordered).
     
  8. GeniusPr0

    GeniusPr0 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    It will then use 11-14GB.
     
  9. rodrigoles

    rodrigoles Master Guru

    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 680 1254/7000
    Kepler was a mistake, it's nothing but trash.
     
  10. the9quad

    the9quad Master Guru

    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    1080ti MSI Gaming-X
    That is about what it uses on my system with 32 gb of ram.
     

  11. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    What about committed bytes and commit charge % while playing?

    Do you have PF disabled?
     
  12. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,160
    Likes Received:
    82
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    About 13.5GB at 1080, FXAA, mostly maxed.
     
  13. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,112
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    My experience with 780ti sli was a great experience.
     
  14. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    So i guess it will be more than 16GB in crossfire setup like GTA V...and even bigger for the9squad with his 3x290x.

    I will try tomorrow when i finally get the download.
     
  15. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,160
    Likes Received:
    82
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Yes no doubt. It seems i/o heavy too.
     

  16. the9quad

    the9quad Master Guru

    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    1080ti MSI Gaming-X
    I'll check later, right now watching the TIDE beat up LSU.
     
  17. Mechwarrior419

    Mechwarrior419 Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    980TI 1515mhz Core
    Question for all you SLI users.

    For me the game has serious issues with SLI, but only in multiplayer ( singleplayer has none of these issues ).

    First is the disappearing red dot. If I am using any kind of optic the dot will disappear at random. The only way to fix this without turning off SLI is to set the textures to Extra
    ( which for me causes rediculous stutters on most maps), or to set Shadow Textures to low and disable all the options in that portion of the options screen. Either of these by themselves will fix the disappearing red dot, but neither eliminates the slight microstutter I am seeing on my G-Sync (1080p 144hz) display, even though I am getting a steady 120 fps.

    Disabling SLI eliminates all these issues completely, and with everything set to to high except AO to extra and all options ticked on I am able to get 70-100 fps. Luckily G-Sync saves the day and this is still super smooth.

    What really amazes me about all this is the fact that the situation is the exact opposite in the campaign with SLI enabled. There is 0 micro stutter ( or any stutter at all ), my red dots don't disappear, and I get super high frame rates.

    Just curious if any other SLI users have experienced any of this ( especially the red dot part ).
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2015
  18. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,160
    Likes Received:
    82
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    I have a feeling you'll be seeing > 20GB commit charge with those 3 GPU's.
     
  19. Spets

    Spets Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,006
    Likes Received:
    59
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti XC Ultra
    SLI has been working fine for me. What setting is your "Order Independent Transparency" on?
     
  20. Mechwarrior419

    Mechwarrior419 Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    980TI 1515mhz Core
    I have that sent to on. I believe I tried turning just that option off and I still had the issue. But I'm certainly willing to revisit it.

    Edit:

    Just checked it and it was set to high. I disabled it and it made no diff whatsoever. Luckily though I just set the texture quality to extra which solves the red dot problem, and through some miracle am not encountering any stutters and very minimal microstutter.

    Another problem I noticed is that in multiplayer sometimes textures won't load in at all. Not sure if this is an SLI problem or not. I will do further testing tommorow.

    The weirdest thing though is that if I start a custom private game I have none of these problems. The appropriate textures load, the red dot is fine, and microstutter is not an issue. Go figure.

    Honestly though I am hopeful this stuff will get fixed. Its minor stuff that I'm sure a patch or driver or 2 will be able to sort out.

    EDIT 2:

    Well it seems that the texture loading issues I am having stem from SLI as well. If I have SLI enabled and join a match in progress it becomes obvious the right textures aren't being loaded and it looks really horrible. Its easiest to notice by looking at the the rock walls and boulders in a few of the maps.

    So looks like 1 card for multiplayer until these issues are sorted out. At least SLI is flawless in campagin and zombies doesn't need the grunt of both GPUs.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2015

Share This Page