ClockTuner for Ryzen (CTR) - and introduction guide and download

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Sep 29, 2020.

  1. mannix

    mannix Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 ArmorOC
    These are the CPPC tags reported via ACPI from the Processor to Windows at each boot.
    They slightly change at every boot; depends how the CPU is "feeling" at boot.
    You can see them in the system event logs:

    upload_2020-11-3_20-13-4.png
     
    daghtus likes this.
  2. seamen

    seamen Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX 2070S/ 8
  3. suty455

    suty455 Master Guru

    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    181
    GPU:
    Nvidia 3090
    It should not make any difference in that respect, this change was done simply to reduce inter core latency so all cores now have direct access to the cache on the block rather than having to go via an IO that is what has in turn increased the IPC of the CPUs
     
  4. daghtus

    daghtus Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    RTX 2080S, 8 GB
    But @seamen is right. With Zen 2, one was able to set different clocks over different CCXs (which may have had cores of vastly different quality) but with Zen 3, there are going to be more cores in a CCX which makes it potentially worse for CCX overclocking. I hoped I could set different voltage per CCX one day but nope, it's getting even worse in this respect.
     

  5. mannix

    mannix Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 ArmorOC
    Seems is going to be quite the opposite, hopefully :)

    https://twitter.com/1usmus/status/1311988058825293825
     
    daghtus likes this.
  6. GSpectre

    GSpectre New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 24GB
    Just an FYI, CTR isn't applying the profile after the computer has been put to sleep and woken back up. Do you have the code in GitHub? Maybe I can try to help. If not, it would be a nice bug to fix :)
     
  7. chaosophy

    chaosophy Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    AMD RX Vega 64
    This keeps coming up a lot. Is it not possible to just add a trigger condition to the scheduled task that fires based off of an event id?
    Just use an event id that is generated by the power sub system when it brings the PC out of sleep.
     
  8. Taylor Swift

    Taylor Swift New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Dual Geforce GTX 1080
    How do I delete the "WinRing0x64.sys" file that's left in CTR 1.0 beta 3? I can delete everything else but this file. I can't find the process that's running it or there isn't one, I can't force delete it in command prompt, or replace it with a different file. The only thing I haven't tried is going into safe mode. Has anyone else experienced this supposedly potential trojan left by CTR?

    Update: Was able to delete it in safe mode. Even if it's safe I feel like the user shouldn't have to go into safe mode to delete it. I have CTR 1.1 beta 7 but I'm nervous about keeping it or upgrading to any future iterations.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2020
  9. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,329
    Likes Received:
    4,251
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    disable it with elevated autoruns.exe, deleting a on demandkernel driver while its still enabled is not a bright idea.

    kernel services can be stopped using SC.exe
     
  10. samy2

    samy2 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2700 mobile 8GB
    Hi i have an AMD Ryzen 9 3900 CPU (non x) with 65W TDP is it compatible with ClockTuner? Has anyone tried running it?

    Seems to work without problems for me on an Apex 15 Laptop.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2020

  11. modemiso

    modemiso New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 5600 XT 6GB
    Hello everyone ! I have a problem.I have downloaded all the programs : ClockTuner, AMD Ryzen Master(which I already had installed on my pc) and Cinebench20.All right.Everythings seems fine but the only problem is that I've got a lower benchmark after I did the diagnostic and the overclock.I don't know why...
    I want to mention that
    ->I enabled 1usmus' ryzen power plan -1.1.
    ->Load Line Calibration set to 3.
    ->and made some changes in BIOS :
    PBO = Disabled
    Global C-state Control = Enabled
    PPC Adjustment = PState 0
    Power Supply Idle Control = Low Current Idle
    CPPC = Enabled
    CPPC Preferred Cores = Enabled
    Wanted to Enable Cool n Quiet aswell but didn't find that option anywhere.
    My build is Ryzen 5 3600/RX 5600 XT/MSI MAG Tomahawk B550.
    All of these were made prior to optimization and overclock done by ClockTuner.
    What should I do?Thanks in advance guys !

    **EDIT** Came back with an edit :
    Made another Diagnostic and the result was this :
    ***ClockTuner for Ryzen 1.1 beta 7 by 1usmus***
    AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor (870F10)
    MSI MAG B550 TOMAHAWK (MS-7C91)
    BIOS ver. A.40 SMU ver. 46.65.00
    DRAM speed 3200 MHz
    11/05/2020 14:41:36



    AVX light mode
    Cycle time: 120000 ms
    Reference frequency: 4050MHz
    Reference voltage: 1300 mV
    Voltage step: 6 mV


    Manual overclocking mode enabled
    14:42:01: CCX1 (127): 4050 MHz, 1300 mV
    14:42:01: CCX2 (116): 4050 MHz, 1300 mV
    14:42:01: Step# 1. Diagnostic VID: 1300 mV
    14:42:01: Stress test started...
    14:44:08: Stress test stopped.
    14:44:09: Step# 2. Diagnostic VID: 1294 mV
    14:44:09: Stress test started...
    14:46:17: Stress test stopped.
    14:46:17: Step# 3. Diagnostic VID: 1288 mV
    14:46:17: Stress test started...
    14:48:25: Stress test stopped.
    14:48:25: Step# 4. Diagnostic VID: 1282 mV
    14:48:25: Stress test started...
    14:50:33: Stress test stopped.
    14:50:33: Step# 5. Diagnostic VID: 1276 mV
    14:50:33: Stress test started...
    14:52:41: Stress test stopped.
    14:52:41: Step# 6. Diagnostic VID: 1270 mV
    14:52:41: Stress test started...
    Thread# 13 fall down, usage 6.1%
    14:52:47: Stress test stopped.
    14:52:51: Step# 7. Diagnostic VID: 1276 mV


    Diagnostic results
    Max temperature: 71.5°
    Energy efficient: 3.17
    AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor
    Your CPU is BRONZE SAMPLE
    Recomended values for Overclocking:
    Reference frequency: 3925 MHz
    Reference voltage: 1250 mV
    Recomended values for Undervolt:
    Reference frequency: 3800 MHz
    Reference voltage: 1175 mV

    Now what?
    Should I introduce the values by myself?Or just press Start and let it do its job? What do you think of the log? Thanks !
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2020
  12. NightWind

    NightWind Master Guru

    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    261
    GPU:
    Asus ROG 2060 Super
    Sure, try the test (start) to get some more results.
    To be honest, I'd recommend some better cooling first, then ask yourself if it worth the time for 200-300 MHz.
    Would that eventually be an option to change the cpu and get a better sample with higher energy efficiency?
     
    Tim24 likes this.
  13. modemiso

    modemiso New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 5600 XT 6GB
    Alright, here are the results.
    My CPU cooler is ID-Cooling SE-224-XT ARGB.
    I don't know, I want better performance out of my Ryzen 5 3600, as it is very slow.It is laggy, and has delay on the commands(ex: Whenever I use Photoshop and select a tool, it takes a while for it to process) + besides this, I sometimes stream and play at the same time, and it has some freezing moments..I don't know what to say.
    + Why my system is scoring lower than a default(no overclock) system after I used ClockTuner?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. NightWind

    NightWind Master Guru

    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    261
    GPU:
    Asus ROG 2060 Super
    Hmm, it could be the cooling-temps, the vrms on the mobo, the cpu's capabilities.
     
    Tim24 likes this.
  15. modemiso

    modemiso New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 5600 XT 6GB
    And what should I do in order to fix this?

    +I want to obtain the optimum performance from the CPU and from my PC in general.I need it at streaming and I don't want it to be unresponsive, or to have a delay in response.I mean I don't want it to be laggy or sluggish and I don't want to OC it so so much.Can you tell me what BIOS Settings+ what OC to make + what Power Plan to use in order to get this?
    Many thanks !
     

  16. seamen

    seamen Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX 2070S/ 8
    most likely you have an unsuccessful processor instance - as a result of weak acceleration potential, compare the default results in the Cinebench20 and with the recommended acceleration in CTR when 1.25V then choose the best, and CTR helps make the processor more powerful, but not all.
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...jkGOyVXcA7EX6TyqI72QDBWQl0/edit#gid=403143418
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2020
  17. Evono

    Evono New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    970
    So CTR made me a profile with 4300 on Both CCX with a VID of 1250.

    I enabled autoload on start but It didn't load it.

    I also cant Manually load it? is that a bug? CTR 1.1 Beta 7

    Also i can set these settings in bios ? did CTR only change the MHZ and VID?
     
  18. seamen

    seamen Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX 2070S/ 8
    AMD Technical Marketing Director Robert Hallock explained to the audience on the pages of the corporate blog that it makes sense for those who want to install Ryzen 5000 processors in existing motherboards to focus on the BIOS with AGESA version at least 1.1.0.0. The further evolution of the microcode will enhance the capabilities to manage the outburst.
    in other words, until the new BIOS comes out, you should not wait for the best results from the acceleration of 5000
     
  19. seamen

    seamen Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX 2070S/ 8
    in CTR settings are much thinner than just putting tension - I would not climb there with my hands if there is not enough experience, but to keep the profile done as in a screenshot
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  20. BlackNova92

    BlackNova92 Member Guru

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    16gb
    Just have a question, i used ctr for a while now, it worked without any problems, as of today though, (i think when i did the apply profile thing), it just crashed the pc and restarted it, then i played a game and it also crashed, now, i tried to use the program again to get a different oc(if that was the problem), and while it was working, it also crashed my pc, and now i'm sitting here without anything.

    is that a common problem? and how can i prevent my pc from crashing(while using it), i've followed all steps before starting the program, but it just doesn't work anymore and i don't know what to do tbh.
     

Share This Page