ClockTuner for Ryzen (CTR) - and introduction guide and download

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Sep 29, 2020.

  1. AncientWords

    AncientWords New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA FTW3 2080ti
    This is the info I was looking for, thanks! Getting the same error on an MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC.


    Edit: Stopped getting the message at LLC6. Maybe I should give LLC7 a go after a full run at LLC6.

    It'll be under advanced/overclocking settings for CPU voltage somewhere. The guide says you can use auto, so maybe give CTR a go as is?
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2020
  2. Ignatuz

    Ignatuz New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 EVGA FTW
    Hello! I have a ASUS PRIME X570-P and Ryzen 3600 but i don't see on levels the LLC and they have names Auto, Regular, Medium, High and Extreme. Which one is? Greetings
     
  3. NightWind

    NightWind Member Guru

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    136
    GPU:
    Asus ROG 2060 Super
    It's a nice and useful application and it works well so far. Thank you very much for sharing it with us.

    Manual oc resulted in 5401 points in CB20 so far.

    With the ctr application: stoc ~4900, optimized 5166 points, which is good considering that it doesn't run that hot like with manual oc (translates into +6,25% performance gain and -13,3 Watts).
    The 3800X cpu was diagnosed as a 'Gold Sample', which is also quite nice, it reminds me of those Gainward GS GLH gpus, so yesterday I named the cpu ''golden sample - goes like hell'', for fun. :D:cool:

    Enjoy the app.

    CTR1_Bench.JPG aa.JPG Cinebench 5401.jpg
     
    Tim24 likes this.
  4. Osky087

    Osky087 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5700xt
    I had to llc 2 for my asus 370x to stop getting the llc error
     

  5. sVortex

    sVortex New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080
    i was under the impression that CTR is supposed to overclock and undervolt. but the default settings for my 3700x just overclocked VERY SLIGHTLY and just raised the volts. so standard overclock as far as i can see.
    also it doesnt give me the option to change the testing mode for some reason, but that might be me not understanding how it works. if anyone knows im interested and wanna learn :)
     
  6. Osky087

    Osky087 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5700xt
    Now I'm getting a there's a need to increase lol
     
  7. AncientWords

    AncientWords New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA FTW3 2080ti
    Well, my system went from 3705 (manual OC) @ 1.325V 4.2ghz to 3713 @ 1.275V 4.125ghz, so that's something I guess.

    Ryzen 3600 + b-die + 280mm aio (I don't like fan noise)
     
  8. mannix

    mannix Active Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070 ArmorOC
    If you want to overclock set a positive voltage offset in BIOS instead of Auto.
    Compensate for too high voltage under load setting a lower LLC.

    With Auto voltage my LLC is reported too low, -2/3%. even at Extreme.

    My 3800x is really bad and with an all core 4400 MHz in BIOS doesn't even boot in Windows.
    Never been able to run the 2nd CCX at 4400 MHz before.
    Max per-CCX with 1st CCX at 4400 MHz was 4300 MHz.

    With CTR seems stable, didn't test much so far, requires 50 mV less and generates much less heat.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Jazman77

    Jazman77 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    No matter what I set my LLC to I still get message "There is a need to reduce LLC" (tried 1-5). I'm running a Asus x570 TUF Gaming-Plus with 3900x. Anyone found a way to adjust settings for this BIOS or CTR?
     
  10. Coger

    Coger New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080ti Founders
    I can launch CTR fine, but as soon as I click the diagnostic button my pc freezes and reboots.
    If I run the program without diagnostic, it launches cinebench but reboots a bit later. Running cinebench by itself is fine - it completes a full render

    Running a 3600, ASUS x470-i

    Tried LLC3 and LLC4, confirmed that virtualisation is off in BIOS and have set the other settings required too. Anyone else have an instant reboot on Diagnostic button?
     

  11. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,987
    Likes Received:
    2,526
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    Load line calibration and voltage drop is part of the known issue isn't it?

    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/j223zk/1usimus_clocktuner_for_ryzen_released/

    EDIT: This seems useful too.

     
  12. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    349
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
    It is pretty useless to be honest

    CB20 doesnt even pass on the first try without hitting the 80c limit when ran in CTR @ 4025mhz

    Running CB20 normally that speed would hit about 70c max

    it finally set speeds of 4175/4150 for my 2 ccx's when i can get 4300 all core with less voltage and heat manually

    this causes game perf to drop as normally 1 or 2 cores do hit 4400 or 4375 ect so im losing ~200mhz of perf during gaming
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2020
  13. icedman

    icedman Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    112
    GPU:
    MSI Duke GTX 1080
    Very interesting article will be trying this on my 3700x soon. thanks Hilbert.
     
  14. Pictus

    Pictus Member Guru

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    RX 5600 XT
    Excellent, thank you!
    [​IMG]
    By using VDDCR CPU Power Phase Control = Extreme
    we may get better results, in Extreme mode all phases stay ON.
    For the Asus TUF setting the VDDCR CPU Switching Frequency to 350 may be also beneficial.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2020
  15. amit

    amit Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5970 -EK block
    Bronze Sample! unlucky!
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2020

  16. Pictus

    Pictus Member Guru

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    RX 5600 XT
    Brazil here...
    Batch BF 2004 PGT
    [​IMG]
     
  17. amit

    amit Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5970 -EK block
    Cool, I am taking back my words then. Guess I am just unlucky.
    Besides, After completing all steps, it gives me 4175 MHz clock on both CCX. but when i run Prime95 manually ( Smally FFT ) it instantly crashes. I then increased temp limit to 90c and run test again, then it crashed like after 2-3 seconds.
    So what could be wrong here? Should I use start over again with tool?
     
  18. kacperoo29

    kacperoo29 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 5700 XT
    My sample is so trash it just BSODs upon clicking DIAGONSTIC lol. Nothing unexpected here as it never even boosted to 4.2GHz despite voltages jumping up to 1.475V and in CB20 it barely reaches 3.85GHz at 1.35V. Early samples are really crap compared to the later ones.
     
  19. fry178

    fry178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    230
    GPU:
    2080S WaterForceWB
    @fersnake
    more than a year old, use the amd balanced plan that comes with the driver package from amd.
     
  20. Ignatuz

    Ignatuz New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 EVGA FTW
    I thinks works on Ryzen 3600 and ASUS PRIME X570-P reset settings to Default and change LLC to Medium (They have names Auto, Regular, Medium, High and Extreme) don't show me LLC errors. The tests fails some times at 4475 and 4450 on CCX1 and finish getting:

    CCX1 Quality 116 Frequency 4400 MHz Voltage 1275 mV OC=
    CCX2 Quality 127 Frequency 4425 MHz Voltage 1275 mV OC=

    I do the previous steps and open the program run DIAGNOSTIC finish and then START.

    Some logs:

    Diagnostic results:
    Energy efficient: 3.88
    AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor - Gold sample
    Recomended values for Overclocking:
    Reference frequency: 4475 MHz
    Reference voltage: 1275 mV
    Recomended values for Undervoolt:
    Reference frequency: 4300 MHz
    Reference voltage: 1175 mV
    AVX Light mode
    Cycle time: 240000 ms
    Reference frequency: 4475 MHz
    CCX delta: 25 MHz
    Reference voltage: 1275 mV
    Target voltage: 1275 mV

    Cinebench 20 started
    Cinebench 20 finished with result: 3536
    Voltage: 1.298 V PPT: 88 W Temperature: 66.3°

    Manual overclocking mode enabled

    Step# 5
    Sets overclocking parameters...
    CCX1 Quality 116 Frequency 4425 MHz Voltage 1275 mV OC=
    CCX2 Quality 127 Frequency 4450 MHz Voltage 1275 mV OC=
    Stress test #1 started! 09/30/2020 06:20:16
    FFT: 2048 CPU Vdroop: 2 % CPU Temperature: 59.7°
    Stress test stopped! 09/30/2020 06:21:41
    Stress test #2 started! 09/30/2020 06:21:41
    FFT: 1344 CPU Vdroop: 2 % CPU Temperature: 60°
    Stress test stopped! 09/30/2020 06:23:07
    Stress test #3 started! 09/30/2020 06:23:07
    FFT: 4096 CPU Vdroop: 2 % CPU Temperature: 61.2°
    Stress test stopped! 09/30/2020 06:24:33

    Step# 6
    Sets overclocking parameters...
    CCX1 Quality 116 Frequency 4400 MHz Voltage 1275 mV OC=
    CCX2 Quality 127 Frequency 4425 MHz Voltage 1275 mV OC=
    Cinebench 20 started
    Cinebench 20 finished with result: 3906
    Voltage: 1.275 V PPT: 92.5 W Temperature: 71.6°
    Profile successfully saved!
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page