ClockTuner for Ryzen (CTR) - and introduction guide and download

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Sep 29, 2020.

  1. Middle

    Middle New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX570
    Hi,
    thank you for your advice.
    I thought it may because the support for Ryzen 5 3500x by this software still have some issue.
    I am now using beta2.
    I will keep waiting and looking for next version.
    once again thank you.
     
  2. Xaring

    Xaring New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 970
    Hello there!
    First of all, thank you 1usmus for this awesome piece of software!
    Now let's see if anyone can help me get it working lol.

    I'm unable to even run the diagnostics phase on my system:
    Using beta 2

    I'm getting the following BSOD:
    Code:
    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (a)
    An attempt was made to access a pageable (or completely invalid) address at an
    interrupt request level (IRQL) that is too high.  This is usually
    caused by drivers using improper addresses.
    If a kernel debugger is available get the stack backtrace.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 000000000011d7c8, memory referenced
    Arg2: 0000000000000002, IRQL
    Arg3: 0000000000000000, bitfield :
        bit 0 : value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation
        bit 3 : value 0 = not an execute operation, 1 = execute operation (only on chips which support this level of status)
    Arg4: fffff804178897e1, address which referenced memory
    So i'm basically unable to even start the process :(

    My system:
    CPU: R5 3600
    Mobo: Asrock x470 Master SLI AGESA 1.0.0.6 (Not the best I know but I had an SLI set up at some point)
    GPU: GTX 970
    PSU: Corsair TX750M
    RAM: Corsair Veng. Pro. 16GB (8x2) DDR4 3200CL16 (samsung C die)

    I have gone through all the basic troubleshooting regarding this BSOD... Updated drivers, removed/disabled useless devices, run memory test, cleared registry and event logs...

    I can provide BSOD DMP file and dxdiag if needed.

    Thanks a bunch!
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2020
  3. NuttyProcessor

    NuttyProcessor Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080 Super
    I have serious (Dangerous) issues running CTR.

    Let me first share my setup:

    - Gigabyte X470 Gaming 7 (bios F50 agesa 1.0.0.4)
    - 3800XT
    - 2x8GB GSkill 3600c17 Samsung B-die
    - RTX 2080 Super
    - Cougar CM1000R
    - Deepcool Captain 360 white AIO
    - Latest win 10 enterprise

    In bios:

    - Disabled SVM
    - LLC control on Turbo (Both CPU voltage as SOC voltage)
    - Rest is on auto

    - RM 2.3.0
    - .NET Framework 4.6 (not sure where to find what version i have, but CTR 'worked')
    - CB R20


    The problem i encounter is after running Diagnostic (Silver sample, 4324Mhz@1.262v recommended) i press start, the OC applies and starts testing FFT's (custom p95 i presume). Within a few minutes i get a warning that the voltage is too high and the system immediately needs a reboot. At that moment CPU SVI2 TFN gives me a readout of 1.55V (!) Double check with HWi is the same. Had i not monitored the CTR process it would keep on testing small FFT's and ruin my CPU. Luckily CTR gave me a warning, but this is not without risk and actually pretty dangerous behavior.

    Anyone else experience this behavior? And if so, what did you do?

    Second question is why to keep voltage of XT processors below 1,25v? I experienced reboots even after maxing the power-limits in bios. (this before using CTR, so CTR is not to blame here). Its weird behavior of the XT chips apparently nobody talks about? Anyone with some insight? Thnx in advance!
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2020
  4. jpotts

    jpotts Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2070
    I'd be careful adjusting the LLC on the SoC. The peak voltage might spike too high, depending on the motherboard and how LLC is setup, it might be detrimental. What I'd suggest is, download HwInfo, run Cinebench on your own, and watch the voltages. If the max SoC goes above 1.1v, consider bumping the SoC LLC down a notch and repeat until your max voltage is around 1.1.
     
    fry178 likes this.

  5. jpotts

    jpotts Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2070
    In the second screenshot, it looks like one of the stress tests failed. Are you sure the OC was successful?
     
  6. NuttyProcessor

    NuttyProcessor Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080 Super
    Thnx for the advice, but i dont think the issues i explained above are concerning the SOC voltage. It is however a solid advice.
     
  7. 1usmus

    1usmus AMD Memory Guru

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
    Do you have a good cooling system ?
    CTR stopped the testing process because you exceeded the limits specified in "Max PPT" and "Max EDC". If you want to try again, change these values upwards. For example Max PPT 250 , Max TDC 170.
     
  8. 1usmus

    1usmus AMD Memory Guru

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
    I think this is because Vray generates a much higher load than AVX Light (CTR). Use the "Edit profile" to raise the voltage by 25 mV, I think it will help.
     
  9. NightWind

    NightWind Master Guru

    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    249
    GPU:
    Asus ROG 2060 Super
    Well, it always stops at some point, e.g. @4550 MHz. :)
    Thank you.
     
  10. Yuriy

    Yuriy New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 590 8gb
    After clocking CPU MPC-HC don't playback AC3 audio. Before work correct. Clear system win 10 pro
     

  11. Alan Rickard

    Alan Rickard New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5700 XT 8 GB
    I Have an issue with the process.
    Basically, my system crashes when certain Frequency is reached (4399Mhz), and when system loads back up, everything is back to default. I do have saved settings from Diagnostics, so I don't have to run that again, but because of the crash I can't complete the tuning process.
     
  12. Passus

    Passus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    493
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
    Neither mate

    thanks for the program
     
  13. jpotts

    jpotts Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2070
    Would anyone happen to know what the error in bold means?
    Thread# 17 fall down, usage 94.1%

    Code:
    ***ClockTuner for Ryzen 1.0s by 1usmus***
    AMD Ryzen 7 3800X 8-Core Processor (870F10)
    ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. TUF GAMING X570-PLUS (WI-FI)
    BIOS ver. 2607 SMU ver. 46.63.00
    DRAM speed 3600 MHz
    10/01/2020 12:38:54
    
    
    AVX light mode
    Cycle time: 45000 ms
    Reference frequency: 4050MHz
    Reference voltage: 1200 mV
    Voltage step: 6 mV
    
    
    Manual overclocking mode enabled
    Sets overclocking parameters...
    CCX1  Quality 136  Frequency 4050 MHz  Voltage 1200 mV
    CCX2  Quality 122  Frequency 4050 MHz  Voltage 1200 mV
    
    Step# 1
    Diagnostic VID voltage: 1200 mV
    Stress test started!  10/01/2020 12:39:41
    Stress test stopped!  10/01/2020 12:40:32
    
    Step# 2
    Diagnostic VID voltage: 1194 mV
    Stress test started!  10/01/2020 12:40:33
    Stress test stopped!  10/01/2020 12:41:23
    
    Step# 3
    Diagnostic VID voltage: 1188 mV
    Stress test started!  10/01/2020 12:41:23
    Stress test stopped!  10/01/2020 12:42:14
    
    Step# 4
    Diagnostic VID voltage: 1182 mV
    Stress test started!  10/01/2020 12:42:14
    Stress test stopped!  10/01/2020 12:43:04
    
    Step# 5
    Diagnostic VID voltage: 1176 mV
    Stress test started!  10/01/2020 12:43:05
    SOC SVI2 1.094
    Thread# 17 fall down, usage 94.1%
    Stress test stopped!  10/01/2020 12:43:21
    
    Step# 6
    Diagnostic VID voltage: 1182 mV
    
    
    Diagnostic results:
    Energy efficient: 3.43
    AMD Ryzen 7 3800X 8-Core Processor - Bronze sample
    Recomended values for Overclocking:
    Reference frequency: 4124 MHz
    Reference voltage: 1262 mV
    Recomended values for Undervoolt:
    Reference frequency: 3950 MHz
    Reference voltage: 1175 mV
    Clearly my sample is crap, but I'm not sure if part of the bad diagnosis is around some issue with how I have things configured? This was on LLC 2, so maybe it's a power issue? I tried on LLC 3, but it gave me a warning to use a "softer" LLC, which I assume means an LLC setting with a lower voltage curve.
     
  14. Rise_Kode_Works

    Rise_Kode_Works New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX3090 or whatever
    Unreal results. Gained ~750 points in Cinebench and Running at 45C in games 3950X with gigabyte x570 master VRMs and a 1200 watt power supply.
     
  15. redlabour

    redlabour New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX1070 G1
    3800XT is affected too. And it worked before. Why is it "now" a motherboard Manufacturer Bug?
     

  16. Taskman

    Taskman Active Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080Ti
    Same problem here. Diagnostics works perfect but during the test my computer crashes by basically just restarting.
    So can't complete it with my 3700x
     
  17. WhiskeyOmega

    WhiskeyOmega Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 MSI GXT

    Id say that ref voltage is way too much to be honest. I only went up to 1.250 from the default 1.225.
    At 1.325 you'd be hitting other limits anyway and create not only a unstable oc but degradation of the chip with the voltage being constant

    At 1.250 the only limit i had to increase was EDC at 140 not sure why its only set to 115 as that does seem low for a 3950x

    This is my setup anyway and it works well aside from the weird 4050 issue i was having with beta1 which seems to have stuck on with CCXs I dont have so it doesnt do anything and is a mere glitch at this point.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. chaosophy

    chaosophy Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    AMD RX Vega 64
    That is expected behaviour - though it will be at different values for different set ups/chip quality.

    If you follow the log you can see that is is running each test at reference MHz and then dropping the voltage by 6mV on each test, starting at ref voltage until the test fails.

    Manual overclocking mode enabled
    Sets overclocking parameters...
    CCX1 Quality 136 Frequency 4050 MHz Voltage 1200 mV
    CCX2 Quality 122 Frequency 4050 MHz Voltage 1200 mV
    .
    .
    .
    Step# 5
    Diagnostic VID voltage: 1176 mV
    Stress test started! 10/01/2020 12:43:05
    SOC SVI2 1.094
    Thread# 17 fall down, usage 94.1%
    Stress test stopped! 10/01/2020 12:43:21


    So at 1176mV the test fails as your CPU cannot maintain 4050MHz stable on 1176mV.

    All of the test have to fail at some point so that the program can determine the limits of each core/ccx and then recommend it's values for o/c or undervolt profiles.
    I'm luckier as mine fails at 1074mV but unlucky as the next test just hard power resets my PC every time, no matter what I try. :(
     
    jpotts likes this.
  19. Behemoth777

    Behemoth777 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 5700 XT
    Great piece of software! Worked great for me. The only issue I seem to be having is that I can't get CTR to open on boot and apply the profile automatically. I have to manually open the program every time I cold boot... However, I have noticed that if I cold boot and then reboot, CTR comes up on its own on reboot. I tried manually adding it to the startup folder and got the same result, won't open on its own on cold boot.

    Any ideas?

    Hardware:
    Ryzen 5 3600X
    ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
    DDR4 3600 2x8GB
    Sabrent 4.0 Rocket NVMe SSD
    Windows 10 Pro latest build
     
  20. 1usmus

    1usmus AMD Memory Guru

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
    You must use an administrator account otherwise CTR will not be able to load the profile.
     

Share This Page