1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Chrome version 67 Add on Site Isolation as standard for protection against Spectre

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jul 15, 2018.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    33,508
    Likes Received:
    2,469
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    103
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    It will be interesting to see what kind of protections Edge and Firefox come up with, to mitigate Spectre and Meltdown. Though I think Chrome's latest protective measure will further reduce its overall efficiency vs Edge, which is easily the most efficient browser out there in terms of resource usage.
     
  3. HardwareCaps

    HardwareCaps Member Guru

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    Intel UHD 630
    I smell performance/latency losses...
     
  4. Robbo9999

    Robbo9999 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    124
    GPU:
    GTX1070 @2050Mhz
    I've been enabling Strict Site Isolation in Chrome for months using the chrome flags commands, and I didn't notice any difference in performance. I think the implementation is good, not a problem.
     

  5. apoklyps3

    apoklyps3 Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5-BLACK
    How to disable it?
     
  6. Labyrinth

    Labyrinth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,341
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    Tri-X R9 290 4G
    chrome://flags/#enable-site-per-process
     
  7. HonoredShadow

    HonoredShadow Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,258
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI 980Ti+KS800 TV
    Does it have much effect to performance? i don't care about memory just performace being on a Intel NUC.

    I'm also new to Chrome. If I paste that into the address bar does it automatically disable it? When I do paste it shows disabled in the box. So i'm guessing it's off already.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  8. Labyrinth

    Labyrinth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,341
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    Tri-X R9 290 4G
    It's off for me too, the command just helps to find it quickly.
    I wonder if it stays off if a PC is already protected from Spectre?

    Also found this (no idea if it's true)
    https://www.pcworld.com/article/328...-google-site-isolation-spectre-cpu-flaws.html
     
  9. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
    I have customized the flags to my liking but is this(haven't read upon it yet) something completely different compared to Strict Site Isolation?

    Btw this will be fun to test on Chrome with 250-300 tabs consuming 15-17GB of ram! :p
     
  10. GreenAlien

    GreenAlien Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 OC
    With this, do we still need the costly spectre microcode update?
     

  11. Sylencer

    Sylencer Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX 1070
    It does affect performance in flash-based Games. Not by much but if you want fast loading etc.. - it makes a difference.
     
  12. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,600
    Likes Received:
    923
    GPU:
    -NDA +AW@240Hz
    Edge? That pile of trash code? It can't even download 4GB+ files as it crashes moment this limit is reached.
     
    lucidus likes this.
  13. asturur

    asturur Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Geforce Gtx770 4gb (2SLI)
    Flash in 2018? that is another pile of security bugs. You do not need to protect yourself if you want to use the flash runtime
     
  14. Robbo9999

    Robbo9999 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    124
    GPU:
    GTX1070 @2050Mhz
    I would say that 'yes', you do need the Spectre microcode too. This strict site isolation is just another layer of protection when it comes to Spectre attacks. Whether or not anyone needs Spectre protection at all is another discussion point. Some people say it's an overblown threat, and some people run with Spectre protection disabled - in terms of not running the latest microcodes or by using InSpectre to disable Spectre protection.
     
  15. asturur

    asturur Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Geforce Gtx770 4gb (2SLI)
    Can someone explain me how spectre is triggered with a website like javascript + html ?

    I understood it was something about virtualization processes leaking on the host.
     

  16. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,010
    Likes Received:
    528
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    I enabled it in the latest vivaldi (chrome 67) and there's a slight delay when I close a tab. No other obvious impact at least. I'll take the improved security.
     
  17. WareTernal

    WareTernal Master Guru

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    XFX R9 380X XXX
    Is this serious?
    When you make blatantly false claims, attached to opinions like "trash code", it only undermines your opinion.
    The fact of the matter is that Edge can download files larger than 4GB with no problems.
    It's sad to continue to see posts like this, spreading false information.
    If you don't like Edge that's fine, and there are legit reasons to not like it - no need to make stuff up.
    Bandwagon Effect: A psychological theory where individuals will do something primarily because other individuals are doing it. It can also be referred to as herd mentality.
     
    yasamoka and Carfax like this.
  18. gydj

    gydj Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Titan Xp
    Now we have protection of all layers from CPU to mobo to OS to software....wonder how much performance cost these have added up to....did they downgrade my 8700k to 7600k?
     
  19. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,600
    Likes Received:
    923
    GPU:
    -NDA +AW@240Hz
    MS had limitations in place long time ago. Because they did not learn how to code stream download.
    Edge caches entire download in memory and then puts it to drive. Go, download some large file and observe how it is eating memory. Even in clean release of 1803, moment Edge hits 4GB of ram, it crashes.
    I did replicate this issue on 2 separate systems with different OS builds. Why? Because I wanted to download different Windows ISO from microsoft's site.
    That's why you have reports like:
    Unable to upload a file larger than 1.2GB
    Memory leak in Edge and Internet Explorer 11

    Timestamp 37:00 ~ 38:30
    And best part here is way MS integrates Edge into OS. Try to uninstall it. Or reinstall it.
     
  20. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    103
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    I've downloaded files that were well over 4GB with Edge, so your installation must be screwed up somehow. Also the download limit you're speaking of was from way back in the 32 bit era with Internet Explorer 6 and 7. The download limit was completely removed with IE8.

    As for Edge, it's my preferred browser on desktop due to its speed, efficiency and security. On mobile I use Chrome.
     

Share This Page