Chatter: NVIDIA RTX 4090, RTX 4080 and RTX 4070 > 16384 cores, 24 GB GDDR6X, up to 2.75 GHz and 450W TGP

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jul 7, 2022.

  1. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,345
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    So ppl will have to rely on user experience (which can be affected by multiple variables) rather than actual measurable scenarios? OK, got it.
     
  2. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    8,155
    GPU:
    RTX 2080S AMP
    Image is blurred becouse its in the background. Check out the monitoring in the left. 320w usage its a 3080 10gb, it was a reddit post of a guy complaning as usual. :D

    4070 should be 3080ti level of performance. Im sure it does have enough horse power.
     
  3. cucaulay malkin

    cucaulay malkin Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,247
    Likes Received:
    3,431
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 Ti
    it can
    in dl2, cp, control,metro and many others
    deathloop doesn't even use hq rt, it's just the memory management is awful, and you're really pushing 3440x1440 rt on with 8GB more than it's recommended.amd choices must really stink if you decided to get a 2080S for 3440x1440.
    2080S never was a 3440x1440 card for ray tracing, it's worse than 2070S is at 2560x1440 and that was borderline what you can call a smooth fps, just above 50fps. If it drops into 40s too much it's not good. Playable,but you really want more.
     
  4. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,345
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Fwiw... the hidden variable of course is ray tracing which is not used in the bench.
    [​IMG]
     

  5. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    8,155
    GPU:
    RTX 2080S AMP
    If you or me get a 4070 plan is to keep atleast two years before 50 series and there is no way 10gb will be enough. Futureproofing is real despite what people say. :p

    2080S is mighty impressive even at 3440x1440 when DL2 with full rt runs 50-60fps. I can wait for 4070ti.
     
  6. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    2,824
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 Strix OC
    /facepalm

    Selective reading and zero comprehension of what is written...

    Frametimes can obviously be monitored, but individual frametime spikes, caused by vram swapping, barely have an impact on average fps, thus isn't reflected in the benchmarks on this site. It is only with a severe lack of vram that you will experience a loss in average fps. A moderate lack of vram "only" causes vram swap stutters.

     
    GamerNerves likes this.
  7. H83

    H83 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    1,488
    GPU:
    MSI Duke GTX1080Ti
    Are the specs correct??? Like 18,432 cores for the full AD102 chip and 10,240 cores for the 4080, almost half? And the 4070 is only going to have 7168?

    The difference between the higher and lower cards seems bigger than ever.

    And the TGPs are horrible and it seems undervolting is going to be almost mandatory for those cards...
     
    Maddness likes this.
  8. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,345
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Dude, we are not talking about 'vram in general' which of course is important and can be demonstrated with anemic cards like the example you used. Find something with a 3080 10gb which we have been using as the main example in our argument. Undyings example of insufficient vram for the card in Deathloop remains as a 'warning' with no demonstrable evidence this is so.

    This is such a huge issue that one would expect numerous articles in multiple tech sites with empirical data demonstrating this with current cards, yet all we have is a.... 3gb card from yesteryear. :rolleyes:
     
    GoldenTiger likes this.
  9. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,893
    Likes Received:
    8,155
    GPU:
    RTX 2080S AMP
    I actually have Deathloop installed and with the 2080 i have the same warning just like the 3080. Despite that there is no noticeable performance degradation even with rayracing but i've noticed some texture popin. I walked in the room and table with some coffee mugs ware low ress until i came closer it took 2-3 to load. Does not happen that often but it is a distraction.
     
  10. haste

    haste Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    746
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 @ 2.1GHz
    Looks like I was right about the bus widths and NVIDIA's attempt to mitigate the need of higher bus widths with cache:
    Anyway, the memory on 4080 should be GDDR6X though. Even with 64MB of L2 cache, the 256bit bus + GDDR6 doesn't seem to be enough
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2022
    tunejunky likes this.

  11. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,345
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Found this. Looks pretty smooth to me.

     
  12. Picolete

    Picolete Master Guru

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    R9 290 Sapphire Tri-x
    The more you buy the more you save in heating
     
    Devid, Prince Valiant and Undying like this.
  13. tunejunky

    tunejunky Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,692
    Likes Received:
    1,354
    GPU:
    RX6900XT, 2070
    yee-haw cowpokes, let's saddle up and ride...

    spec-wise Lovelace is lovely. yes we know she's a bit of a power whore, but she has that "new shiny" smell.

    my only nit to pick is 10Gb memory on the 4070. that's freaking nuts.
    didn't we already go through this with the 3080?
    in the meantime AMD smiles as they'll be offering 12Gb in the same price range.

    i won't like the price, but i know some of my GPU's are getting long in the tooth and i have an Nvidia (full) G-Sync monitor so unless AMD just kicks ass at the price-point i'll probably get a 4080 (it would be a 4070 if it was 12 Gb).
     
    Undying likes this.
  14. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,345
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    And you've never experienced pop-ins in any other game where vram was not an issue?
     
    GoldenTiger likes this.
  15. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    157
    GPU:
    Noctua 3070/3080 FE
    The price on the 4080 is disappointing if true but makes my decision to pick up a 3080 FE late in the day (at MSRP) easier to swallow. 4080 will be way in front in perf but is a tier above in price to match. If things continue with massive prices and stupid power requirements I will stay with Ampere for as long as is reasonable and go back to consoles.

    $1000 for a 4080? Yeah, nah.
     
    tunejunky likes this.

  16. nizzen

    nizzen Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,192
    Likes Received:
    904
    GPU:
    3x3090/3060ti/2080t
    There is a difference between need and use. Some games caches more vram if you have more. The game doesn't stutter if you have less, if the game doesn't need it.
    One example of this is call of duty games :)
     
    GoldenTiger likes this.
  17. nizzen

    nizzen Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,192
    Likes Received:
    904
    GPU:
    3x3090/3060ti/2080t
    Set down one option from ultra to high fixing the problem. Can't even notice it.

    Some people just want to make problems, instead of solving them.... Typical people that actually don't play games....
     
    GoldenTiger and schmidtbag like this.
  18. BLEH!

    BLEH! Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,308
    Likes Received:
    315
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury
    These TGPs/TDPs are totally unacceptable. 300 W, MAX!
     
    PhazDelta, Kaarme and schmidtbag like this.
  19. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,625
    Likes Received:
    2,239
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Regarding vram usage..

    I had 780gtx 3g and you know what? It was fine, the only downside was it used more system ram and tiny bit lower avg fps, RoTR was a great example then, i used ultra textures, vram to max and i could play just fine,.

    980ti with 6g played the same as 3g, the only real difference was, with 3g it used 10-12gb system ram with 6g 7-8gb system ram.

    And it was like that by any game, unless you had a crap unreal engine that stream stuttered even with 24gb vram lol.
     
    GoldenTiger likes this.
  20. Kool64

    Kool64 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    606
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    now I'm extra glad I traded my old video cards and a bit of cash for my cousins "mining" 3090
     

Share This Page