Catalyst 15.7 WHQL Problematic VSR thread.

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by PrMinisterGR, Jul 10, 2015.

  1. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,855
    Likes Received:
    148
    GPU:
    5700 XT UV 1950~
    15.7 as in the title. But yeah I installed 15.7 first on the earlier windows 10 version no VSR and after the update VSR was there without reinstalling the drivers.
     
  2. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,369
    Likes Received:
    396
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    What driver version for the GPU do you get from Device Manager?
     
  3. drlobster

    drlobster Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 290 x2
    Code:
    OS: Windows 8.1 x64 (fully updated)
    Card: Sapphire Radeon R9 290 (crossfire)
    Native Resolution: 4096*2160
    VSR Working: Yes
    Maximum VSR Resolution: 3200*1800
    Driver Cleanly Installed with DDU: Yes
    
    Using VSR due to lack of DisplayPort to Hdmi 2.0 active adapters.
     
  4. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,855
    Likes Received:
    148
    GPU:
    5700 XT UV 1950~
    Gotta check once I get home. I will edit it into this post :)
     

  5. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,369
    Likes Received:
    396
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    Make another one, because I might not notice :p
     
  6. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,855
    Likes Received:
    148
    GPU:
    5700 XT UV 1950~
    15.200.1046.0 says device manager ^^
     
  7. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,369
    Likes Received:
    396
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    That's 15.7 alright.
     
  8. DM789

    DM789 Master Guru

    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ???
    Code:
    OS: Windows 7 ultimate x64 - fully updated
    Card: MSI 7850 2GB PE
    Native Resolution: 1680x1050 @ 60hz
    VSR Working: NO
    Maximum VSR Resolution: don't know
    Driver Cleanly Installed with DDU: Yes
    DVI Cable on ViewSonic 22"
    Last driver installed: 15.7 but since the DXVA is acting weird, i went back to 15.15
     
  9. millibyte

    millibyte Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    106
    GPU:
    2070 subpar RTX OFF
    How hard would it be for an AMD rep to come in here with a simple statement regarding the discrepancy between the release notes and user experiences, even if it was to say something disappointing like GCN 1.0 is limited to 2560x1440. It's the lack of communication that's a bit annoying.
     
  10. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    I don't know you but i prefer silence to lies.

    AMD needed 6 months to "find" what modders did to enable VSR in series 7000 for months unlocking drivers via registry and enable it finally (?¿?) in 15.7(somewhat...).

    :3eyes:

    Six months to partially solve a "confusion" (sic) with series 7000 VSR and only a little effort to lock the modding of 4K VSR we had in modded drivers for 290(X) in the last drivers.

    Good job AMD...

    :bang:
     

  11. Voxvalve

    Voxvalve Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2 x AMD Radeon R9 290X 4G
    Works on DVI but not DP

    For some reason i have the option to enable VSR on my 2 monitors running DVI.
    But my center monitor that runs Displayport 1.2 does not have the option.
     
  12. kurtferro

    kurtferro Member Guru

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE NiTRO R9 390 WB
    do you know why AMD relase new drivers so slow?
    because they go on holidays after release new driver for some months, they need relax after a big work and if they are lucky in same time someone find a fix for their mistakes:banana:
     
  13. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,369
    Likes Received:
    396
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    [​IMG]
     
  14. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Everybody has a boss, Tiger Team is not an exception, so when AMD boss said there is no work....:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Wolfehunter

    Wolfehunter Guest

    Code:
    OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64 (fully updated)
    Card: ATI Radeon R9 290x OEM
    Native Resolution: 1920*1080
    VSR Working: Yes
    Maximum VSR Resolution: 3200*1800
    Driver Cleanly Installed with DDU: Yes
    Maximum VSR Resolution According to driver release notes: 3200*1800.
    Sorry for the delay had trouble registering to this forum. :) And I've been a lurker here for a few years felt I should contribute to some. :lurk:
     

  16. ddelamare

    ddelamare Master Guru

    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Inno3D GTX 1070 X4
    Code:
    OS: Windows 8.1 x64 (fully updated)
    Card: Sapphire Radeon R9 280x Vapor-X Crossfire
    Device ID: 6798
    Vendor ID: 1002
    Subsystem ID: 3001
    Subsystem Vendor ID: 1748
    Monitor Name: LG 29UM65(HDMI)
    Monitor Id: GSM5A2A
    Native Mode: 2560 x 1080(p) (60.000Hz)
    VSR Working: No
    Maximum VSR Resolution: N/A
    Driver Cleanly Installed with DDU: Yes
    Maximum VSR Resolution According to driver release notes: 3200*1800.
    
    [url]http://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/b2462/sapphire-vapor-x-r9-280x-oc.html[/url]
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2015
  17. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,369
    Likes Received:
    396
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    We have four pages of posts of people that can't make it work correctly. Maybe it's time for an answer from AMD?
     
  18. VAAS

    VAAS Member Guru

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus R9270OC 2Gb
    VSR not working on Rocket League
     
  19. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,369
    Likes Received:
    396
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    Do you have the extra resolution on the desktop? If yes, the VSR works and it is an issue with the game. Games that can't work at exclusive fullscreen don't "work" with either VSR or DSR.
     
  20. AMDJoe

    AMDJoe AMD rep

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD
    Hey guys! We're aware that some users are having problems enabling vsr, or that the option does not appear with Catalyst Control Center. We're currently investigating the issue and are aiming to resolve it as soon as possible in a future Catalyst driver. If users don't see the option for VSR under Windows 10 then this is expected behavior. As the Operating System is still in Beta and our Windows 10 drivers are provided 'as is'.

    We're planning to launch some new drivers in time for the official launch of Windows 10 on the 29th! As soon as they're ready we'll be sure to let everyone know about it.

    Stay tuned!
     

Share This Page