Catalyst 10.1(8.69) by MSI

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by marthand, Jan 14, 2010.

  1. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,623
    Likes Received:
    478
    GPU:
    MSI 5600XT G. MX
    I do, so, what's the problem?
    No everyone is rich to buy a Full HD Screen you know.
     
  2. Ghosty

    Ghosty Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,077
    Likes Received:
    296
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon Graphics
    To be fair though... LCD screen with 1680 x 1050 res will cost less than $100 these days.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2010
  3. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,623
    Likes Received:
    478
    GPU:
    MSI 5600XT G. MX
    Yes, but no here.
    Still, what's the problem with using that RES?
     
  4. Ghosty

    Ghosty Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,077
    Likes Received:
    296
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon Graphics
    There isnt any issue with that resolution. :) I think the point was that he was surprised that anyone still played games in that RES... But not in a bad way.
     

  5. XLR8

    XLR8 Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870 512MB
    sure, plus full HD screens are everywhere.
     
  6. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    5700XT
    my next step will be a top card and LED screen with 1920x1024 or sumthing like that (when they get cheap at those resolution)

    1280x1024 at 19" its fine, if i need more detail, maybe AA... (which i dont notice over 2x but well,and 2x only when i stop watching for errors on the image, i use 2x), from my experience with screens, you'll notice difference the first days, but after that, you get used to it and you are in the same situation :puke2:

    Different points of view i guess :p

    but ill prolly wait to next generation of console ports to do that (aka xbox3 and ps4) <-- Excuse, i only need bigger screens to view porn better.

    if i dont need to, i wont spend money :infinity:


    PD: With triple buffering going under 60FPS it goes 55, but if you are lower than 55, where it goes, 45 or 50 or 30?
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2010
  7. Daemos of Chaos

    Daemos of Chaos Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 470 @ 895/2150
    Play a game like Crysis on a 24" screen @ a resolution of 1920 x 1080 and you will understand what everyone is on about.
     
  8. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    5700XT
    Gimme me a new GPU E:!, i dont like spending so much @ pcs, my current pc was bought (1000€ at its days) with gaming earnings, specially after buying car, im student yet (working a little bcs a company likes me so they gave me decent earnings for very few and versatile hours, but student).

    And altho i beat most FPS in single and will play BF BC2 a lot (i hope), my most played games are RTSs and RPGs so graphics aint my highest priority.

    For now im fine (it may sound weird for a guy who plays at 1920x1024 alrdy, its like when people tell me that they game at 800x600, but well :p). And ill play it in 2years, its still there anyways =).

    oh and btw, most people i know (physically), game at 1280x1024 u_U, keep on mind that most of ppl here spend and tweak their pcs more than the "normal" level.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2010
  9. Ti3Kob

    Ti3Kob Master Guru

    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    980Ti @1505/7600
    With triple buffering, if you are lower than 55 fps, you'll be at 54, 53, 52, etc. It's not dependant from a divider like double buffering, you are "fps free" with the max @ your refresh rate, 60 fps for 60Hz, 75 fps for 75Hz, or 120 fps for 120Hz. You can have 68.54 fps with triple buffering and a 120Hz screen.
     
  10. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    5700XT
    oh ok, thx for explaining, thought so but as people was saying those exact numbers =)


    will try d3d overrider
     

  11. pogostickio

    pogostickio Master Guru

    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    Hallryu's HIS 5850 GPU
    On a few games like Test Drive Unlimited, Borderlands, Crysis & Warhead I just couldn't get vsync to enable. I think it's an issue with the LG HDTV 42" and the HDMI connection to the 3D card. Never had an issue with my previous setup - CRT 21" monitor through the regular VGA cable.

    I use ATI Tray Tools for changing IQ settings but vsync wouldn't switch on so I had decided to get used to screen tearing at the native resolution of 1920x1080 @ 60hz. Max IQ in all games (except the Crysis genre) with my new rig :) but no vsync until I came across a post elsewhere on this forum last weekend. Thanks to that post I downloaded D3DO and screen tearing is a thing of the past.

    -------------------

    I also have issues with drivers and an ATI 5770 1gb card. No AF with some beta's. Poor fps with a couple of the latest official drivers. I'm stuck with the ones from the installation disc or those specifically for 5770 cards from AMD/ATI's website.

    I installed the 10.1's but no change. The installation didn't work fully as it finished way too soon without the black screen blips. And it said install successfull even though it wasn't. The update fail will be because I installed over the existing drivers which I don't normally do. Most probably the newer/older driver issue explained a page or two ago. I'll tinker around this weekend.

    Currently using : - 8.66.6-091006a-089804E
     
  12. AbjectBlitz

    AbjectBlitz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R390 1200/1720
    I used to play 1600x1200 on 21" CRT since 2000 and Only move to Widescreen because the good old CRT died and got LCD last year 1920x1200. How do you guys put up with the Jaggies? or use high levels of AA?

    I've always preferred high res and no aa than low res and aa.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2010
  13. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    5700XT
    i use 2x aa mostly, but bcs im heavy cpu bottlenecked i tend to use 4x and 8x nowadays, i may be blind, but while gaming i dont notice jaggies (depends of obviously, good graphics ones, i dont notice) -_-.

    Only when i stop and watch some borders i see jaggies (and with AA 2x i almost dont see em unless i focus A LOT), but im not a "relaxed" gamer :p
     
  14. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,139
    Likes Received:
    271
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Ti
    Yes,i prefer that too but with our cards we can turn AA to the max and still get smooth gameplay at 1920x1200.
     

Share This Page