1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cat 5.4's are on ATI's website.

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Megabigd, Apr 7, 2005.

  1. XmodifierS

    XmodifierS Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA e-GeForce 8800 GTS 320MB
    I tried them and CSS gets pretty laggy, thats goes teh same with 5.3.s. Back to 5.1 for I get teh best perfomance. CSS even with errors in stress test I get 108.xxfps High all reflect all no aa/ff w/ 5.1s...got 98fps with 5.4's :(
     
  2. Undertakeroccl

    Undertakeroccl New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BBA Radeon 9800pro
    Atari TopSpin crashes at moment of starting any match, with this set... as well as with 5.3's... sad... anyone else?
     
  3. Incoming

    Incoming Active Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 Saphire 7970 3gb Xfire
    Can't tell any difference in games over the 5.3's

    3DMark 05 Score: 5845 with 5.4's. Exact same as with 5.3's

    Score: 5845 = Cat 5.3's
    Date: 2005-03-10
    CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) XP/MP/4 2406 MHz
    GPU: ATI RADEON X800 XT
    532 MHz / 540 MHz
    OS: Microsoft Windows XP
    Res: 1024x768@32 bit


    Score: 5845 = Cat 5.4's
    Date: 2005-04-09
    CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) XP/MP/4 2405 MHz
    GPU: ATI RADEON X800 XT
    534 MHz / 540 MHz
    OS: Microsoft Windows XP
    Res: 1024x768@32 bit
     
  4. DmZ

    DmZ Master Guru

    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX 260@285 Speeds
    They list a fix for the Dantooine bug on KOTOR 2... But it's still there. This is more of an Obsidian Entertainment/Bioware Aurua/Odyssey Engine issue than anything else. No driver is going to magically fix it.

    SWAT 4 plays pretty smooth with 4xAA and 4xAF...

    I'm just biding my time until I get my new Nvidia 6800 GT in a few months (Tax Return) :D
     

  5. Repo Man

    Repo Man Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    203
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    where in the Release notes does it say that this set fixes an issue with kotor 2 ?
     
  6. DmZ

    DmZ Master Guru

    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX 260@285 Speeds
    From the ATI Release Notes:

     
  7. assassinx1

    assassinx1 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon X850 XT
    that says Kotor, not kotor 2 unless they don't know the difference between both games.
     
  8. MrPhyX

    MrPhyX Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire X1800 XT 512M GDDR3 PCI-E
    These drivers seem very good to me,
    Great fps and image quality with UT2004,Far cry and Doom 3.
    No time for benchmarks ,too many games to play :)
     
  9. DeathtrapX

    DeathtrapX Master Guru

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    x800 XT 256mb sapphire 500/500

    Why are you using 5.1's for cs source? 4.12's are easily still the best for source =/ Hate to tell ya.
     
  10. Frant1c

    Frant1c Banned

    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon 9800Pro | 128MB
    after the 5.3s completly destroyed performance for an unknown reason, i believe before ill format next week ill use the 5.2's, i like 'em
     

  11. clawhamer

    clawhamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 780 Classified
    I've only benched 2 driver sets from the time I installed this card, 5.3 and 5.4.

    I've been using the 5.4 for some time now and like them alot, but I wouldn't mind benching the 5.2 as a lot of gurus' seem to like the proformance with them.
     
  12. GODzillaSDM

    GODzillaSDM Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    VisionTek AMD HD7850
    I too am getting errors on the CSS Stress Test. The hanging spinning blocks are replaced by red 3d spinning errors. Im sure its the 5.4's doing it. But playing CSS seems fine to me.

    Also, im getting much better framerates with doom 3: Ressurection. But it might be the 1.3 Patch by doom that helped, instead of the new CAT5.4 drivers.

    4.12's had always worked better than anything after it tho.

    *****CORRECTION*****

    Apparently other people are getting errors without the cat upgrade. Seems like it was caused by VALVE upgrade to CSS in APRIL.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2005
  13. MechWarrior

    MechWarrior Master Guru

    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 Classified Sli OC
    How are framerates in battlefield vietnam with theses puppies?
     
  14. Celsius

    Celsius Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX XXX 6800GS
    4.12 Omegas and 5.1 CATs have been my faves thus far. I'm definitely downloading these... hoping for some good results.
     
  15. XmodifierS

    XmodifierS Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA e-GeForce 8800 GTS 320MB
    Tell you the truth I've never really tried any other drivers with this card, first drivers I tried are 5.1's then so on. But 5.1s gave me best performance. As far as using 4.12, only tried it with my 9700pro. But now I will give it a shot. :)
     

  16. Zelius

    Zelius Guest

    Here's a temporary fix for the KoTOR2 issue:

    When the level is loaded, go to the graphics options, change something, apply those changes and then change them back. This fixes the problem... At least until you re-enter the level.
     
  17. SVT Amateur

    SVT Amateur Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS x850 XT PE VIVO PCI-Express
    Thanks, I'll have to try that.
     
  18. TestDriver

    TestDriver Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    1080 Ti, C49HG90
    the best way to fix the kotor2 issue, is to add this line:
    Disable Vertex Buffer Objects=1
    to your swkotor2.ini file, under [Graphics Options]
    then there will be no stuttering
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2005
  19. Whesel

    Whesel Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX560TI OC 1GB
    another way to fix that issue is to copy this file from the 4.11 drivers atioglxx.dll into your kotor2 dir - regardless of which driverset you have installed it'll use that file.
     
  20. sputnik

    sputnik Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 8800gts
    I've posted this twice by accident. I have a problem with the new Catalyst CCCs.

    I downloaded the drivers to see how they worked and they installed them successfully. However when i double click on the icon to open it, nothing happens. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling but nothing works. Can someone please help me out!!??
     

Share This Page