CapFrameX OSD with RTSS

Discussion in 'Rivatuner Statistics Server (RTSS) Forum' started by ZeroStrat, Nov 4, 2019.

  1. ZeroStrat

    ZeroStrat Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti
    So, there's a limited amout of chars not only lines? Can you extend this for CX in RTSS please?
     
  2. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    2,494
    There is no such thing as a line limit. There is a text buffer limit for each slot. Peek into RTSSSharedMemory.h, hypertext slot limit is defined there. Extending it would break compatibility with existing implementations, it is a no go, sorry.
     
  3. ZeroStrat

    ZeroStrat Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti
    Using variables for the colors works fine.
     
  4. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    2,494
    Using variables for everything (colors, alignments and sizes) makes resulting hypertext much more compact, reaving more room for other things.
     
    ZeroStrat likes this.

  5. ZeroStrat

    ZeroStrat Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti
    @Unwinder
    What is the relation between "NV_GPU_POWER_MONITOR_POWER_CHANNEL_STATUS_V2 channels[NV_GPU_POWER_MONITOR_POWER_CHANNELS_MAX];" and the enum "_NV_GPU_POWER_CHANNEL_POWER_RAIL"?

    I would like to identify the entries.
     
  6. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    2,494
    Power channel info structure contains rail field per each channel in array.
     
    ZeroStrat likes this.
  7. ZeroStrat

    ZeroStrat Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti
    What about RDNA2 support? Do you know the Overdrive version?
     
  8. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    2,494
    Cannot comment that, sorry
     
    ZeroStrat likes this.
  9. ZeroStrat

    ZeroStrat Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti
    How can I use bar charts instead of relative numbers (core usages)? EmbedGraphs (RTSS_EMBEDDED_OBJECT_GRAPH_FLAG_BAR) are displayed at the end.
     
  10. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    2,494
    I'm afraid that I don't understand your question. Graphs are displayed where you display them in hypertext.
     
    ZeroStrat likes this.

  11. ZeroStrat

    ZeroStrat Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti
    Is it possible to close RTSS via a specific shared memory instruction? We've tried C#'s Process.CloseMainWindow but doesn't work.
     
  12. Andy_K

    Andy_K Master Guru

    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 960 OC
    If MSI AB is running, too it will restart RTSS when closed.
     
  13. ZeroStrat

    ZeroStrat Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti
    MSI AB isn't running.
     
  14. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    2,494
    ā€œ-uā€ command line switch unloads running instance
     
  15. ZeroStrat

    ZeroStrat Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti
    How can I use a command line within my C# code?! Or did I miss something?
     

  16. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    2,494
    Start new instance of RTSS.exe with this command line switch. It will do the job.
     
    ZeroStrat likes this.
  17. Taxxor

    Taxxor Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX5700XT Nitro+
    To better explain what we're trying to do: Some people might want to bench without the overlay running due to possible performance impacts but still want to use it when they are not currently benchmarking.

    So we added an option that disables our own overlay infos when a capture is running and enable it again when the capture is finished.

    To be completely safe in terms of any possible performance impact we'd like to also close RTSS completely and start it again when the capture is finished.

    I can start RTSS with "proc.StartInfo.Arguments = "-u" " but Close() or CloseMainWindow() don't work and I don't want to use Kill()

    It works with "proc.Kill()" at capture start and "proc.Start()" at capture finished but with this every time RTSS is killed it's tray icon remains and the user is left with dozens of RTSS icons after some benchmarks^^

    And "proc.CloseMainWindow()" only works when the RTSS window is open but not when its minimized in tray.
     
  18. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    2,494
    That can be a bad idea for some applications. For some applications RTSS start prior to launching the game can be necessary to work properly.
     
  19. Taxxor

    Taxxor Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX5700XT Nitro+
    That's why it would be an optional setting^^
    I don't think many users would even use it, but if there are problems with a specific application, the user that wants to use this option would then close RTSS manually anyway.

    Another option would be to use the global OSD toggle in RTSS, I'd assume there's not much left that could impact performance if this is off.

    Right now we can disable/release our own overlay with our hotkey and in case the option is enabled automatically for the duration of a benchmark, keeping other clients visible.

    Could we also use a command when a benchmark is running to toggle the global OSD switch like the AB hotkey does or is this only possible through AB?
     
  20. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,202
    Likes Received:
    2,494
    .\SDK\Plugins\Client\HotkeyHandler\HotkeyHandlerWnd.cpp

    CHotkeyHandlerWnd::OnOSDOn()
    CHotkeyHandlerWnd::OnOSDOff()
    CHotkeyHandlerWnd::OnOSDToggle()
     
    ZeroStrat and Taxxor like this.

Share This Page