1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cant install GPU client...

Discussion in 'Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D !' started by Mannerheim, Nov 22, 2008.

  1. Mannerheim

    Mannerheim Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,778
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX580 8GB
    What shoud i do... heres a pic.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Added picture... look down...
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2008
  2. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,750
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    Reboot, after clearing out temp files/unwanted file with CCleaner and windows diskclean up.

    Had this issue before with another installer and this worked, is this console client or the tray client (with the virtualisation).
     
  3. Mannerheim

    Mannerheim Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,778
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX580 8GB
    ATI GPU2 .... CCleaner runned booted and still nothing.. I have That program in add remove and cant uninstall it... =/ Maybe thats why i cant install this..
    No idea how to remove it... Vista x64
     
  4. morbias

    morbias Don TazeMeBro Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,422
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    -
    Have you running the installer from another location, such as the root of c: ?
     

  5. Mannerheim

    Mannerheim Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,778
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX580 8GB
    Might have 1 isntalled as administrator. But its deleted...
    So.... no GPU folding ?? =/
    I use 2 accounts depending what i am doing.


    Problem is.. Windows tries to unsinstall old 1 and it cannot do it =(
    WHen i cancel install. It says cannot uninstall older version..
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2008
  6. x-speed69

    x-speed69 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080 Ti Lightning
    maybe it gives an error because you are installing old version?
    i'm running Folding@home-Win32-GPU-systray-620r1 :)
     
  7. Mannerheim

    Mannerheim Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,778
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX580 8GB
  8. morbias

    morbias Don TazeMeBro Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,422
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    -
    If you go to the Programs and Settings control panel and right click on the GPU client, does it give you the option to repair? If not, try uninstalling it.
     
  9. Mannerheim

    Mannerheim Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,778
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX580 8GB
    Gives me same as my first screenshot when i try to install... =( No repair.
     
  10. FatBoyNL

    FatBoyNL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    MSI 2070 Gaming Z
    Try to find Folding@Home-GPU-systray-612b8.msi on your PC or internet. Reinstall it (to repair the broken installation) and then you should be able to remove it properly.
    Good luck!
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2008

  11. Mannerheim

    Mannerheim Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,778
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX580 8GB
    Cant find it.... So no folding for me... Not gonna reintall Vista....
     
  12. Alexstarfire

    Alexstarfire Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,316
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce 9800GTX+ @ stock
    When you downloaded the file you didn't select the run/open option did you? Cause it looks like it's trying to run from the temp folder. Try saving it to your desktop and run it from there.
     
  13. Mannerheim

    Mannerheim Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,778
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX580 8GB
    I have saved it, tried to run all different way.... Uninstall just sucks ass... Cant uninstall = Cant install program... not as me or administrator =(

    HELP ME =(
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2008
  14. FatBoyNL

    FatBoyNL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    MSI 2070 Gaming Z
    You could try to have your OS think it has not been installed at all.
    Open regedit and search for the exact key (the name shown in Add / Remove Programs) in the Uninstall section of your registry. Make a backup of it and delete the whole key.
    If you do this right, it should not be shown anymore in Add / Remove Programs. And if you're familiar to the registry, you could als try to delete other references to the f@h client in the registry as well. You're gonna install it the new client anyway.
     
  15. Mannerheim

    Mannerheim Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,778
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX580 8GB
    and how do i do it in vista the gates ass ?
     

  16. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,750
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    You could try finding the files for its current installation (assuming that there are files) and delete all files and folders relating to it.

    Then grab CCleaner and delete the installer for it, and then install a new version.
     
  17. FatBoyNL

    FatBoyNL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    MSI 2070 Gaming Z
    In almost the same way ;)
    Look in your registry for the name which is displayed in 'Installed Programs' or whatever it is called.
     
  18. Mannerheim

    Mannerheim Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,778
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX580 8GB
    So.. its CPU npw doing all the work.. nothing has helped so far and im not gonna reinstall windows.. Other stuff is working perfectly...
     

Share This Page