Can't force anti-aliasing for Medal of Honor: Airborne. Why?

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by mzso, May 5, 2021.

  1. mzso

    mzso Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    DUAL-RX580-O4G
    Hi!

    Even though I set Radeon Software to override app settings, I see glaring aliasing. So obviously it doesn't work. Now what?
     
  2. PhazDelta

    PhazDelta Master Guru

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    274
    GPU:
    RX6900XT Strix LC
    Use Smaa via reshade

    reshade.me
     
  3. JaylumX

    JaylumX Master Guru

    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    MSI 3080 TI 12G
    I believe the game uses Deferred Rendering rather than Forward Rendering techniques so enabling MSAA with DirectX9 games is a no go (correct me if I am wrong). It is best to use SMAA through SweatFX or Reshade as the fellow above recommended.
     
  4. mzso

    mzso Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    DUAL-RX580-O4G
    Thanks. I'll look into these, whatever they are.
     

  5. teleguy

    teleguy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    213
    GPU:
    GTX 1070/Vega 56
    Forcing AA works for me after disabling fullscreen optimizations in the game's compatibility settings.

    MOHA_2021_05_05_18_51_19_779.jpg MOHA_2021_05_05_18_53_42_461.jpg MOHA_2021_05_05_18_54_25_482.jpg

    It's also in GeDoSaTo's support list, it didn't do anything for me though.
     
  6. mzso

    mzso Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    DUAL-RX580-O4G
    Which AA method?

    Where are those settings?
     
  7. teleguy

    teleguy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    213
    GPU:
    GTX 1070/Vega 56
  8. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,200
    Likes Received:
    1,450
    GPU:
    6800XT Nitro+ SE
    Or just use VSR, this allows you increase the resolution beyond what your monitor can output but downsample to fit the display. This is an old game so newer hardware will breeze through it even at 4 or 5K which will in turn get rid of the jaggies.
     
  9. mzso

    mzso Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    DUAL-RX580-O4G
    I don't actually know what VSR is. Another external tool?
     
  10. teleguy

    teleguy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    213
    GPU:
    GTX 1070/Vega 56
    Virtual Super Resolution. You can enable it in both AMD's and Nvidia's driver software. However I couldn't make the game switch to the higher resolution, the options menu topped out at my monitor's resolution.
    That's why I suggested GeDoSaTo.

    Disabling the fullscreen optimizations didn't help?
     

  11. mzso

    mzso Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    DUAL-RX580-O4G
    I'm trying to decide what to try first.
    VSR seems to be a no-go since the option is missing in the display section

    By the way, how can I change Radeon Software's language to English? The many incomprehensible force-localized options are going on my nerves. (Too bad there's no Ati Tray Tools these days.)
     
  12. mzso

    mzso Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    DUAL-RX580-O4G
  13. teleguy

    teleguy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    213
    GPU:
    GTX 1070/Vega 56
    Are these options not available when you rightclick on the game exe and select properties?

    [​IMG]
     
  14. mzso

    mzso Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    DUAL-RX580-O4G

    Ah, okay. I got stuck on the first part which is apparently not valid for me.
    However, even though I set this and set to override app settings it's still completely aliased either with 8xeq or plain 8x.
     
  15. mzso

    mzso Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    DUAL-RX580-O4G
    Tried sweetfx. Set MSAA option to 1 (enabled)
    No change. The stupid airplanes in the main menu still look dreadful. Although in gameplay it looks better.
    So I'm not sure:

    I made some screenshots:
    https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1iT9UdSKsotkPG5MwJ4NmkmDYd82pwmGj?usp=sharing

    The barrels/airplane/planks looks like they're aliased. That shed is more like some different graphical corruption.

    Edit:
    I guess it was wishful thinking. It's jaggedy crap.

    Edit2:
    I'm testing reshade now. I get the impression that some stuff is AA-d but other's aren't. It seems like I get prominent jeggedness on edges where light hits, or such, no matter what.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2021

  16. teleguy

    teleguy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    213
    GPU:
    GTX 1070/Vega 56
    There's another option I almost forgot. There's a wrapper called dgVoodoo 2 whose main purpose is to fix graphics issues with older games however Directx 9 support has also been added later.
    Just put D3D9.dll, dgVoodoo.conf and dgVoodooCpl.exe into the game "Binaries" folder and you can enable AA in dgVoodooCpl on the DirectX tab.
     
  17. mzso

    mzso Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    DUAL-RX580-O4G
    Thanks. I'll check this on out as well.
     
  18. teleguy

    teleguy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    213
    GPU:
    GTX 1070/Vega 56
  19. mzso

    mzso Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    DUAL-RX580-O4G
    Well, seems like nothing works. The aliasing where light hit edges always remains, with everything I tried:
    alias-issue-MOHA.png

    Dgvoodo however seems to leave all aliasing. As wall as producing an unplayable framerate.

    But it fixes the issue I had with reshade, sweetfx and running the game directly, namely the iron sights looking like this (Which actually flickers at the display's refresh rate by the looks of it.):
    [​IMG]

    I'm starting to really hate PC gaming where I spend more time trying to get a game to work properly instead of just playing.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2021
  20. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,526
    Likes Received:
    4,271
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    [​IMG]
     
    Passus, AsiJu, Repo Man and 1 other person like this.

Share This Page