Can't enable hybrid physx

Discussion in 'Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX' started by Herrasmies, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. Herrasmies

    Herrasmies Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi Radeon 5970
    Hey,

    So, I read that Nvidia had allowed PhysX to be used with an Ati card. I figured I would install my old 8800 GTX to this system and use it for PhysX. Well, I have a bit of a problem here. I installed the 257.15 driver set which supposedly allows the use of Ati card for rendering. I set up a fake display as informed, but when I go to Nvidia control panel, PhysX tab isn't there. What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. Scorch666

    Scorch666 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,802
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Try again with the 197.45 driver and patch 1.03.

    Worked for me when i had your problem.:)
     
  3. TARNY

    TARNY Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti
  4. teleguy

    teleguy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    153
    GPU:
    GTX 1070/Vega 56
    According to GenL Nvidia removed the tab and GPU PhysX is now enabled by default.
     

  5. JaylumX

    JaylumX Master Guru

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    RTX 2070S
    That is correct so in order to see if you have physx working download and run Fluidmark 1.2
     
  6. scheherazade

    scheherazade Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    fullHDs
    Physx tab is no longer there.
    Physx is on by default if it's available.

    You need to create a fake display for your nvidia card (unless you have an actual monitor plugged into it), and span your desktop over it.

    With video out off, it will not have physx. Hence why you need to span a display over to it.

    I'm using hybrid physx right now, with 257.15.

    -scheherazade
     
  7. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,805
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    you dont need to extend the desktop.
    install ati drivers, create 2nd screen for nvidia, install nvidia drivers, install physx mod 1.03 , reboot. done!
     
  8. scheherazade

    scheherazade Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    fullHDs
    My system, with windows 7, and no physx mod - just pure nvidia driver - still needs the extension.

    -scheherazade
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2010
  9. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,805
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    why dont you use the 1.03 physx mod ? i rather found it annoying to have my cursor or windows going off the side of the screen somewhere :D
     
  10. scheherazade

    scheherazade Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    fullHDs
    I follow the rule : if it isn't broken, don't fix it.

    -scheherazade
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2010

  11. toasty

    toasty Member Guru

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    2080Ti Trio X
    Hey,
    I have the chance to get a GTS250 512MB for pretty cheap today and was wondering what else besides win7 I need to make it work.
    From my understanding I just put both cards in then install 10.6 for the 5870 and 257.15 for the GTS250. I need to connect both cards to the same monitor somehow ( I only have one ) maybe with HDMI? [​IMG]
    And then follow the above image to fake a secondary display. Thats everything is it?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated on this as I don't want to end up buying it if I can't get it working for whatever reaseon.


    Edit: Main reason I ask is I have now read so many different ways of accomplishing this and it has left me quite confused.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2010
  12. Scorch666

    Scorch666 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,802
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2010
  13. toasty

    toasty Member Guru

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    2080Ti Trio X
    Thanks but I had read that already and was under the impression using 257.15 (downloaded from guru3d dated 22nd) meant I no longer needed the unnoficial patch, which is why I made this post to try make sure I knew what I was doing.
    Perhaps I should of started a new thread?
    Anyway my gts250 should be here on friday so if I have any probs I will no doubt be back begging for assistance. :nerd:
     
  14. S3rgin

    S3rgin Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    NVIDIA RTX2080Ti FE
    I'll give you a simple step by step.

    1. install both cards.
    2. install the proper driver for each card (cat. 10.6 / nvidia 257.15)
    3. reboot as required.
    4. once you're back to windows, assign a fake display to the nvidia card and extend it.
    5. you're done.

    just remember that with nvidia 257.15 there is no longer a physx enable/disable option anymore. it is enabled by default.

    you can test it with fluidmark.

    enjoy!
     
  15. toasty

    toasty Member Guru

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    2080Ti Trio X
    Thanks, this is pretty much what I was looking for. One thing though do I need only connect the ATI card or both? (to the monitor)
     

  16. S3rgin

    S3rgin Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    NVIDIA RTX2080Ti FE
    You need only to connect the ATI display.
     
  17. toasty

    toasty Member Guru

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    2080Ti Trio X
    Thanks! :banana:
     
  18. toasty

    toasty Member Guru

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    2080Ti Trio X
    Everything seemed to be working fine but then two random BSOD's later I have come to the conclusion adding this GTS250 has reduced my max stable CPU O.C by around 400mhz but why?
    3DMark Vantage Basic
    Main test results
    3DMark Score P20084 3DMarks
    CPU Score 37128
    Graphics Score 17418
     
  19. teleguy

    teleguy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    153
    GPU:
    GTX 1070/Vega 56
    Maybe it's because your system is getting hotter?
     
  20. toasty

    toasty Member Guru

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    2080Ti Trio X
    The CPU is watercooled with an external radiator so heat isn't the issue with these BSOD's as it would happen during itbt or vantage not just seemingly at random when just browsing the net etc.
    It would seem that after adding the GTS250 my CPU now needs more vcore as I upped it lastnight to 1.5125 and it's now fully stable at 3.6Ghz again.
    One thing I have noticed though is my clocks/volts on the 5870 are jumping into 3D all the time now even when moving a window or simply loading a forum page :(


    After disabling windows transparent glass this 3D clock madness seems to of calmed down.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2010

Share This Page