cannot softquadro 5600 ultra

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by oohah, Nov 7, 2003.

  1. gursky9

    gursky9 Guest

    How to Overclock?

    While my system is much faster as a quadro, I still want to overclock a bit. Since my system registers as FX700 rather than an MSI GF 5600 I can't use the MSI overclocking utility. RivaTuner shows my speeds, but doesn't seem to give me the option of overclocking.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. trally

    trally Member Guru

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are you saying???? Please take a look to the panel and enable the abulity of overclock.You can do it in two ways:via Hardware o via Driver.
     
  3. gursky9

    gursky9 Guest

    Hardware:
    In the low level system tweaks panel there is a check box to enable low level hardware overclocking. For some reason I can't check this box or move the sliders. Is there any way to correct this?

    Driver:
    To be honest, I'm new to RivaTuner and haven't figured out how to overclock via driver. I'm seaching the documentation, but I'll take any advide you have.
     
  4. oohah

    oohah Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY FX 5600 Ultra
    Hi gursky9,

    I have not been able to access the low-level overclock options either.

    However I have been able to get at the driver-level overclocking. I don't know which is better.

    The way I access the driver level overclocking is to click on the "customize" option under "Driver Settings". (You can find this under the "Main" tab.) Then click on the first button in the menu that flies out. You should then see the driver-level overclocking options.

    Driver level overclocking hasn't seemed to do anything for me so I have turned it off.

    oohah
     

  5. gursky9

    gursky9 Guest

    I found another way. NV Hard. Seems to work, though the increase in bench scores isn't that great. I'll probably be nice to my hardware and only overclock when I'm dealing with a large model and need the extra juice. Any danger in using Riva and HV Hard at the same time?
     
  6. gursky9

    gursky9 Guest

    Thanks oohah,

    That looks like a good way to do it. I'll let you know if I find any difference in performance with Riva driver-level or using NV Hard.
     
  7. oohah

    oohah Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY FX 5600 Ultra
    Thanks man!

    Does anyone know the answer to these questions I have asked before:

    How does texture ram affect my performance? Should I use more or less? I have 2 gigs of ram.

    Is there any guide anywhere on what some of these tweeks do? I don't know what mipmapping or loadbias is, as well as most of the other stuff. (I just turn it up!)

    I still am not getting as good benches as most of you, and I feel that my specs are pretty good. (Check them over on the right.)

    What else can I do for a performance 'bump'?

    Thanks, oohah
     
  8. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    oohah:

    i remember that i told you already the answer to this memory question, so why do you ask again.
    Is your FX a PCI graphics card?! No. So allocating memory is absolute nonsense. But i told you this already. :rolleyes:
     
  9. oohah

    oohah Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY FX 5600 Ultra
    Why the rough reply Bluefirexp?:confused:

    Thank you for your replies. :cool: but remember, you are a "Member Guru", and I am a newbie, what may seem obvious to you may not be to me....:O

    But I am getting there.

    Because your answer, while informative, did not allow me to understand how texture memory affect performance as thoroughly as I would like. That is why I asked if there was a guide, so I wouldn't annoy people.

    Which I understand to mean it is good to maximize texture memory.

    Then I asked later:

    Because I would like to understand EXACTLY how it affects my performance. That is the way I am. That way I can make an educated decision, and possibly help others in the future.:)

    Which brings me to ask now, why did you tell me to maximize my memory before but tell me it is nonsense now?
     
  10. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    Hey Oohah, sorry, i was just angry about diffent things yesterday and that's why i behaved so stupidly, sorry man :)

    That's what i posted:


    This is in the Direct3D Tab and that's what i mean is absolutely not relevant :)
    But "Maximize Texture" in OpenGL tab ( you can't set the amount here, only maximize ) is very helpful, if you're working in shaded modes :)
    As Specviewperf has scenes with lots of shaded vertices, it will also increase your bench result.
     

  11. oohah

    oohah Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY FX 5600 Ultra
    No problem bluefirexp,

    Good looking out with all the info. :rock:

    oohah
     
  12. cmmc

    cmmc Guest

    FX5600 converted sucessufull to Quadro Go

    Hello for all.

    This is my first post here, (sorry by my bad engish, is not very good)


    I read the previus posts about how to convert FX5600 to Quadro, the main problem for me was to find in the driver-list (in patched detonator) the option "Quadro Go FX 700", I didnĀ“t found it in any detonator version that a tried. But i followed the method proposed by "gursky9" and really works !!! 100%, so Thanx gursky9. :)

    My PC has some old components (Atlhon Tb 1Ghz, 896 Mb SDR PC133 RAM, Hdd 80Gig 7200 Rpms in WinXP Pro SP1) and my specview is a lot better now.
    My previus Video-card was a Gf2 MX400 64sdr@Quadro



    Well my results are as follow:

    PC
    Athlon Tb 1Ghz
    Win XP Pro SP1
    896Mb PC133 SDR
    HDD 80Gb 7200rpms


    .. With my old VGA... (soft-moded, Too, of course :) )
    SpecView 6.1.2
    GF2MX400@Quadro2EX 64Mb SDR (Softmoded)
    AWadvs-04 ...................39,94
    DRV-07 .........................9,926
    DX-06 ...........................12,11
    Light-04 ........................3,522
    MedMCAD-01.................12,06
    ProCDRS-03...................7,334

    ..Now the same system with my FX5600 non quadro.
    SpecView 6.1.2
    MSI GFX5600 256DDR
    AWadvs-04....................41,54
    DRV-07..........................9,728
    DX-06 ..........................12,08
    Light-04........................3,473
    MedMCAD-01................16,26
    ProCDRS-03...................25,1

    ....and .... :D
    SpecView 6.1.2 (AMAZING REALLY!!!!)
    MSI GFX5600@QuadroFXGo700 256DDR
    AWadvs-04 ....................146,4
    DRV-07 ..........................33,44
    DX-06 ............................41,76
    Light-04 .........................7,687
    MedMCAD-01..................71,88
    ProCDRS-03....................26,31


    Now..SpecView 7 (I don't have previus benchs in this Spec)
    MSI GFX5600@QuadroFXGo700 256DDR

    3dsmax-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 7.148
    drv-08 Weighted Geometric Mean = 44.07
    dx-07 Weighted Geometric Mean = 41.64
    light-05 Weighted Geometric Mean = 7.750
    proe-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 9.904
    ugs-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 4.842

    I think that i was highly beneficied with the softmoding, my system is some old, but still i can to use it for Autocad and Autodesk inventor perfectly.

    I donwloaded in Nvidia Site the MAXtreme_4.00.29.00.exe and POWERdraft_15.06.06.exe softwares.

    MAXtreme ruled perfectly for me in MAx 5, but POWERdraft_15.06.06.exe Don't run in my Autocad 2004 :( , reading the help file, i found that that Powerdraft version still don't run under Autocad 2004, well, i seek in the net, and finally i found a newest version, that really works :) in Autocad 2004

    http://public.pny.com/quadro/FX3000g/PowerDraft AutoCad 2004/
     
  13. animedia

    animedia New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Pixelview GF6600GT 500/900
    This my latest result with Spechviewperf 7.1.1
    i am using detonator 45.28 + RT14.1 & win2k sp4

    >>Result in ORIGINAL FX5600 (NOT ULTRA)<<

    3dsmax-02 Viewset
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Test Weight Frames DLB Visual Double Frame Buffer Depth Stencil
    # Per Sec Sec ID Buffer Red Green Blue Alpha Buffer Buffer
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1 5.50 6.07 N/A 5 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    2 5.50 3.86 N/A 5 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    3 5.50 3.69 N/A 5 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    4 5.50 2.30 N/A 5 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    5 17.00 28.4 N/A 5 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    6 5.50 8.72 N/A 5 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    7 5.50 3.62 N/A 5 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    8 5.50 4.66 N/A 5 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    9 5.50 1.86 N/A 5 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    10 17.00 21.0 N/A 5 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    11 5.50 6.53 N/A 5 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    12 5.50 3.20 N/A 5 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    13 5.50 3.77 N/A 5 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    14 5.50 1.84 N/A 5 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    3dsmax-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 7.099



    >>Result After Mod to Quadro Fx500<<


    3dsmax-02 Viewset
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    --
    Test Weight Frames DLB Visual Double Frame Buffer Depth Stencil


    # Per Sec Sec ID Buffer Red Green Blue Alpha Buffer Buffer
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    --
    1 5.50 13.4 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    2 5.50 8.94 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    3 5.50 5.90 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    4 5.50 3.62 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    5 17.00 43.2 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    6 5.50 16.7 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    7 5.50 8.28 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    8 5.50 7.80 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    9 5.50 3.05 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    10 17.00 45.5 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    11 5.50 19.3 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    12 5.50 16.1 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    13 5.50 8.83 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    14 5.50 3.99 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    --
    3dsmax-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 14.55


    >>And after tweaking and OCing i get score increasing in specviewperf 7.1.1<<


    3dsmax-02 Viewset
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Test Weight Frames DLB Visual Double Frame Buffer Depth Stencil
    # Per Sec Sec ID Buffer Red Green Blue Alpha Buffer Buffer
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1 5.50 14.4 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    2 5.50 9.97 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    3 5.50 6.64 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    4 5.50 4.08 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    5 17.00 43.5 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    6 5.50 18.4 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    7 5.50 9.28 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    8 5.50 8.48 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    9 5.50 3.55 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    10 17.00 47.1 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    11 5.50 20.1 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    12 5.50 17.1 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    13 5.50 9.91 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    14 5.50 4.79 N/A 4 True 8 8 8 0 24 0
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    3dsmax-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 15.91
     
  14. oxo

    oxo Guest

    wierd... i finally got it working by using 45.28 and modified it with some strings from the dell inf script... but my scores are lower than expected in 3dsmax... maybe because i set the OpenGL settings to combustion(?). i use that more often than max :)


    GeForceFX 5600 stock 45.28 Driver

    Run All Summary

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
    3dsmax-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 5.862

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DRV\SUMMARY.TXT
    drv-09 Weighted Geometric Mean = 29.10

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DX\SUMMARY.TXT
    dx-08 Weighted Geometric Mean = 34.47

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    light-06 Weighted Geometric Mean = 12.81

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
    proe-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 11.06

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
    ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 5.861


    QuadroFX Go700 stock 45.28 driver

    Run All Summary

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
    3dsmax-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 10.87

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DRV\SUMMARY.TXT
    drv-09 Weighted Geometric Mean = 45.48

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DX\SUMMARY.TXT
    dx-08 Weighted Geometric Mean = 58.13

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    light-06 Weighted Geometric Mean = 25.74

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
    proe-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 12.88

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
    ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 6.717


    still A LOT lower than the Dell Precision M60 scores, but better than my unSQ'd scores. gonna try boosting some more, and re-bench and to remember to turn off my antivirus... lol :D

    btw, this is on a dual-monitor setup so it is lower than single-monitor scores :)
     
  15. ?man

    ?man Guest

    I attempted to SQ my FX5600. Changed the lowlevel setting in rivatuner, uninstalled the old driver OK. Rebooted and now it does not completely boot. Stop Error to a blue screen core dump. It complains about the video driver. Unfortunately i can not safe mode or VGA boot either without the same problem. I deleted the NVstrap.sys file as someone else suggested but I'm still going blue.

    I have another windows installation that allows me into windows so my card is OK. I also removed the FX5600 and installed a generic VGA card with the same result.

    Been down for 2 days now Help! Thanks
     

  16. fyi

    fyi New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Though this thread may be old, it might worth an update because with new ForceWare you don't need to mod anything. Before procecding, please check nVidia's Partner Certified Drivers and carefully choose one from the list. Recommended versions are 53.03, 67.22, 70.78, 71.84, 77.56 and above.

    Regarding the necessary patch scripts vs. ForceWare versions below 5x.xx (no need to patch 6x.xx and above),
    • SoftQuadro4 - 42.51, 45.28, 53.03
    • NVStrapAntiprotection - 42.51, 45.28, 53.03
    • AnisoBooster (optional) - 42.51, 45.28
    • DetonatorFXAntiprotector - 45.28
    Target device in hardware wizard,
    • Quadro FX 1000 - 42.51
      Quadro FX 500/FX 600 - 45.28, 53.03 and above
      Note: DeviceID 0318/0319 (NV31GL) are recognized only by 42.51.
    Step by step softmod procedures,
    • Uninstall your old nVidia drivers and install one of the nVidia Partner Certified ForceWare driver, ex. 77.56.
    • Install latest RiverTuner, ex. v2.0 RC 15.7.
    • Install NVStrape driver. Custom PCI DeviceID with 031C-031F (unknown device), actually Quadro FX Go700 or NV31GLM (Pro). Check "Use ROM straps for PCI DeviceID programming." Click "OK" and reboot.
    • "Welcome to the Found New Hardware Wizard" shows up. Click "Install from a list or specific location (Advanced)" and Next.
    • Click "Don't search. I will choose the driver to install" and Next.
    • Browse to "Display adapters" and Next.
    • If you had previously removed the display driver, please click on "Have Disk" and browse to the unpacked nVidia driver, usually at C:\NVIDIA.
    • Uncheck "Show compatible hardware. Browse to "NVIDIA Quadro FX 500/FX 600" or "FX 1000" accordingly and click "Next."
    • There's a warning message, just click Yes.
    • Finished and reboot.
    Download SPECviewperf 6.1.2, 7.1.1 and 8.1 to check the stability of the SoftQuadro driver. Turn Vsync off to gain extra performance. Performance drops if you select "Dualview" from "nView Display Mode" of NVIDIA settings.

    What I've tested, 42.51, 43.51, 45.28, 53.03, 61.82, 67.22, 70.78, 71.84 and 77.56. Here're some scores,

    Testbed:
    • P4-M 2.0G OC 2.4G @ FSB800
      Windows XP Pro SP1
      2GB (4x512MB) DDR400
      GeForce FX 5600 @ 325/500 MHz with 128MB DDR

      Single Display Mode (1024x768 @ 32-bit)
      Vsync off
      Conformant texture clamp off
      Unified back/depth buffer on (default)
      Maximize texture memory on
      Enable overlay on
    Before mod,

    Geforce FX 5600 + ForceWare 53.03 --- SPECviewperf 7.1.1
    • ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
      3dsmax-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 7.934

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DRV\SUMMARY.TXT
      drv-09 Weighted Geometric Mean = 50.92

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DX\SUMMARY.TXT
      dx-08 Weighted Geometric Mean = 60.90

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
      light-06 Weighted Geometric Mean = 13.28

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
      proe-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 14.16

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
      ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 6.650
    After mod,

    SoftQuadro NV31GLM Pro + ForceWare 53.03 --- SPECviewperf 7.1.1
    • ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
      3dsmax-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 14.46

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DRV\SUMMARY.TXT
      drv-09 Weighted Geometric Mean = 84.25

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DX\SUMMARY.TXT
      dx-08 Weighted Geometric Mean = 94.56

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
      light-06 Weighted Geometric Mean = 22.78

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
      proe-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 24.64

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
      ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 18.81
    SoftQuadro NV31GLM Pro + ForceWare 67.22 --- SPECviewperf 7.1.1
    • ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
      3dsmax-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 12.23

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DRV\SUMMARY.TXT
      drv-09 Weighted Geometric Mean = 92.52

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DX\SUMMARY.TXT
      dx-08 Weighted Geometric Mean = 102.5

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
      light-06 Weighted Geometric Mean = 24.31

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
      proe-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 24.30

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
      ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 20.01
    SoftQuadro NV31GLM Pro + ForceWare 77.56 --- SPECviewperf 7.1.1
    • ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
      3dsmax-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 12.14

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DRV\SUMMARY.TXT
      drv-09 Weighted Geometric Mean = 90.07

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\DX\SUMMARY.TXT
      dx-08 Weighted Geometric Mean = 79.50

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
      light-06 Weighted Geometric Mean = 21.46

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
      proe-02 Weighted Geometric Mean = 24.86

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
      ugs-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 20.00
    SoftQuadro NV31GLM Pro + ForceWare 53.03 --- SPECviewperf 8.1
    • ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
      3dsmax-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 8.908

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\CATIA\SUMMARY.TXT
      catia-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 12.56

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\ENSIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
      ensight-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 6.916

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
      light-07 Weighted Geometric Mean = 3.868

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\MAYA\SUMMARY.TXT
      maya-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 20.94

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
      proe-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 20.16

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\SW\SUMMARY.TXT
      sw-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 7.273

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
      ugs-04 Weighted Geometric Mean = 9.364
    SoftQuadro NV31GLM Pro + ForceWare 67.22 --- SPECviewperf 8.1
    • ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
      3dsmax-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 13.28

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\CATIA\SUMMARY.TXT
      catia-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 12.37

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\ENSIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
      ensight-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 8.013

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
      light-07 Weighted Geometric Mean = 13.32

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\MAYA\SUMMARY.TXT
      maya-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 28.49

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
      proe-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 23.97

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\SW\SUMMARY.TXT
      sw-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 8.350

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
      ugs-04 Weighted Geometric Mean = 9.871
    SoftQuadro NV31GLM Pro + ForceWare 77.56 --- SPECviewperf 8.1
    • ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
      3dsmax-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 12.53

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\CATIA\SUMMARY.TXT
      catia-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 18.56

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\ENSIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
      ensight-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 7.162

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
      light-07 Weighted Geometric Mean = 17.02

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\MAYA\SUMMARY.TXT
      maya-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 38.58

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
      proe-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 24.80

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\SW\SUMMARY.TXT
      sw-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 9.339

      ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
      ugs-04 Weighted Geometric Mean = 9.867
    You can see that 67.22 has better DX-08 score than 77.56, tested by SPECviewperf 7.1.1 but 77.56 has better CATIA-01 and MAYA-01 scores than 67.22, tested by SPECviewperf 8.1. Just for your reference.

    If you have GeForcec4, SPECviewperf tests show that there's no go for ForceWare above 5x.xx. 43.51 causes some trouble in DX-08 test. 42.51 might be the most stable driver you can get.

    This is my first post. Enjoy!
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2005
  17. mikela78

    mikela78 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    No luck with FX5600 to Quadro under Win2k

    I am trying to softquadro my FX5600 card on Windows 2000 with Rivatuner v2.0 RC 15.8, with no success so far.

    First I followed the intructions given here here with driver 42.51. My installation failed at the last step, 10d, right after I browsed my way to the "C:\45.28_patched\" folder and double-clicked the"nv4_disp.inf" file. Windows replied, "Windows was unable to locate a driver for this device."

    After uninstalling the default VGA controller, removing the oemX.inf file, and attempting to reinstall the 61.77 drivers, I got the same message: "Windows was unable to locate a driver for this device." I uninstalled and reinstalled a few more times to no avail, so I reformatted the Windows partition, reinstalled Windows, and then the 61.77 and 81.89 drivers installed and uninstalled cleanly.

    With a clean windows and drivers 61.77, I decided to try the newer instructions in FYI's post. I installed the NVStrap driver, chose custom PCI DeviceID 031C, clicked "Use ROM straps for PCI DeviceID programming," and rebooted.

    The same problem came up again. The "Find New Hardware Wizard" pops up, and I have the choice of "select a Device Driver, have disk," which does nothing when I point it to C:\Program Files\NVIDIA\61.77\nv4_disp.inf (the original driver installation directory), or I select "search for a suitable driver," point it to C:\Program Files\NVIDIA\61.77\nv4_disp.inf, and windows replies "Windows was unable to locate a driver for this device."

    Again I reformatted, reinstalled Windows, and did the above process again thinking perhaps I did not follow the instructions correctly the first time, again with the same result.

    Some observations:
    Everything is fine until I install the NVStrap drivers, set the device ID and save. Then it all goes to hell.
    Also, as far as I can tell Windows 2000 does not have the option to uncheck "Show compatible hardware" or "Browse to NVIDIA Quadro FX 500/FX 600 or FX 1000." I can browse to some ancient video card drivers that came with Windows, but I certainly don't see any quadro drivers there. If these options exist, they sure are well hidden!

    I will not try to softquadro again unless I get guidance on either what specifically I might be doing wrong, or someone suggests a way that I can undo the effect of the NVStrap so I can install and uninstall video drivers without reinstalling Windows.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2006
  18. Pazsion

    Pazsion Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5500 nvidia /quadro 600 unlocked?
    lol, yea doubled performance ehehe
     

Share This Page