can someone explain modded drivers to me?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA Modified Drivers' started by qda, Jun 25, 2005.

1. qda

qda Active Member

GPU:
    XFX HD 6870 1GB
    OK, so.. I'm not a total newb, and I've tried lots of different detonators, and a few modded drivers, but I never REALLY noticed the difference..

I mean, i play with AF because pure trilinear filtering bothers me, and AA when I can, though i prefer to just up the resolution

SO, what I'm getting at is, why do you use modded drivers? Doesn't the quality increase mean a performance drop? And if not, why doesnt nVidia do this themselves? Just how much better is the quality?? (I'm just talking about the IQ modded drivers, not the performance ones, those make more sense... IQ down, FPS up)

if someone could just clarify a bit I'd appreciate it :)

2. MrRand0m

MrRand0m Ancient Guru

GPU:
    ATI 5850
    I am also a little confused at how some ppl claim to know better than NVIDIA....

3. adrichardson

adrichardson Guest

In some respects, it is because people come up with tweaks that Nvidia haven't fully exploited (some of which have been adopted into more recent Forceware versions). Remember that Nvidia are more concerned with supporting everything from the 7800gtx to the tnt2 in one driver - that inevitably means that they have to take compatibility with obsolete video cards over performance. Modded drivers aren't as concerned with backwards compatibility, as they accept that most people won't be trying to run doom 3 on their geforce 256.

In answer to qda's question, there is a normally trade off between IQ and performance, particularly is you just use Rivatuner and the Nvidia control panel to tune your card. However, the XG drivers give the best of both worlds. They use tweaks that boost performance, but are then tuned to maximise the IQ. This means that they are still better performers than the original driver, but can also give much better IQ.

4. adrichardson

adrichardson Guest