Can my PSU take a HD4870?

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Zareph, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. Zareph

    Zareph Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire NITRO+ RX480 4GB
    I'm considering getting a HD4870 to replace my 8800GT soon, and I'm wondering if my 500w PSU is enough? It has about 27.3A on the 12v rails combined, and I'm pretty sure the HD4870 doesn't use that much more than the HD3870, which I think my PSU can take just fine (since it can take an 8800GT).

    I think a 500w is enough, and I know it uses less power than the GTX 280, but I'm still not sure about the amperage being enough. What's the minimum specified amperage and wattage on the 12v rail needed for the 4870?

    I'd prefer if you don't suggest any PSU, cause I'm not seeking to upgrade...
     
  2. wafflezfire

    wafflezfire Active Member

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Diamond Radeon 5850
    On the official website, a 500w PSU with 2 x 75w PCI-E 6 pins is the minimum, so I suppose you're cutting it close.

    Btw, isn't that Antec Basiq noisy as hell? Mine is unbearable.
     
  3. Zareph

    Zareph Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire NITRO+ RX480 4GB
    Yeah, it's pretty noisy. As noisy as the PSU I had before though, so I don't notice it alot... But still, I don't wanna upgrade if I don't have to :)

    The Antec Basiq only has 1 PCIe 6-pin power connector, but I imagine using one converter will be okay... Still need more info on the amperage, but thanks alot mate.
     
  4. jimmy545

    jimmy545 Member Guru

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 580
    Dont wanna party poop or nothin - this is for your best interest!

    1. 4870 needs about 25% more power than 8800gt
    2. like you say, better to use amps on 12v than quoted watts as guide
    3. Hilbert on power page of 4870 review on Guru3d homepage, recommends 32 amps on 12v
    4. again 4870 uses about 25% more power than 3870, so youre right about 3870 and 8800gt being evenly matched
    5. even 4850 uses 10% more power than 8800gt and 3870, so if you dont upgrade psu, you should wait for the next nanometer drop

    Don't injure your pc!
     

  5. contrvlr

    contrvlr Master Guru

    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX570HD
    That makes it sound like alot, but it's only 8-10 watts, if a psu couldn't handle that low of an extra load it shouldn't have been being used in the first place.
     
  6. GREGIX

    GREGIX Master Guru

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    172
    GPU:
    6800XT Merc
    ur psu should take 2 3850 in CF, so i think 1 4870 isnt problem
     
  7. jimmy545

    jimmy545 Member Guru

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 580
    no, more like 25-30w extra (4850 that is)


    why f**k him up? that's f**ked up info!
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2008
  8. contrvlr

    contrvlr Master Guru

    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX570HD
    Check more reviews, the one's right here at Guru show an 8800 GT system using 6 watts more than the same system with a 4850.
     
  9. Makalu

    Makalu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,197
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA 8800 Ultra
    Antec Basiq 500 is one of those that doesn't give the 12V combined rating on the label or elsewhere...the info there only tells us that it must be at least 27A. However, Oleg at xbitlabs put about 35A (420W) on the 12V's here:

    http://xbitlabs.com/images/other/antec-psu-roundup/2gr2.gif

    An HD4870 needs about 10A total by itself...so the combined amount of 35A is certainly plenty for the rest of the 12V components in your system. The only possible problem is that this is a dual rail PSU with one rail dedicated to the CPU power connector and everything else on the other rail. The rail limit is 18A according to the label (sometimes these ratings are precise but more often then not an 18A rail OCP rating will be 20-22A in reality). But assuming it's 18A hmm well it still should be enough for your system I reckon...depending on how many drives and fans you have and also depending on how your motherboard is wired (many motherboards use the "CPU" power for other things besides just the CPU VRM...which in this case is a good thing since that would free up more amps on the other 12V rail).
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2008
  10. jimmy545

    jimmy545 Member Guru

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 580

  11. kapu

    kapu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,294
    Likes Received:
    713
    GPU:
    Radeon 6800
    How about 550W PSU with 3x 12v Rails each 18A.
    Combined 360W on 12v. ( I dont want to create new topic :p )

    ??
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2008
  12. Makalu

    Makalu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,197
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA 8800 Ultra
    should be fine...plenty of juice on the 12V's combined for everything plus some overhead and with the connectors distributed across three rails then rail limits won't come into play.
     
  13. Wolfseven

    Wolfseven Member Guru

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI NGTX580 1.2gb
    can a 850 watt Antec handel 2 of those? I might buy 2 for crossfire set up'

    If they have good Open Gl stats?
     
  14. Zareph

    Zareph Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire NITRO+ RX480 4GB
    I doubt it has one rail with 18A dedicated to the PCIe power connector or whatever you're suggesting, cause then it wouldn't even be able to take my 8800GT. Also, it certainly doesn't have 35A, that's the 420W version.

    So then the question comes into play; is 27A enough? With only one HDD and one DVD-RW...
     
  15. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    384
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    It has dual +12V rails. They did a common mistake in X-bit labs review and just 2x18A=36A the rails.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2008

  16. Zareph

    Zareph Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire NITRO+ RX480 4GB
    I know, that's not the problem, you know? -.-
     
  17. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    384
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    I think that it should work. I have one and it seems to be quite capable. A bit noisy but not annoying. Also, it is built by Fortron.

    I have to take back some words about X-bit labs "mistake". They might be right:

    Go figure... In that case it would have one 36A rail if I'm right (since it isn't dual rail PSU).
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2008
  18. Zareph

    Zareph Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire NITRO+ RX480 4GB
    But it's specified as a dual rail with 18A on 12v1 and 18A on 12v2, and I'd think it's illegal to lie to the consumer?
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2008
  19. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    384
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    I dunno about your PSU but in my PSU it says that is has two +12V 18A rails. They have probably opened the thing and that's why they made that statement. They do not really lie, they just split the rail to half.

    EDIT: I was a little bit faster, eh? Anyway, in this case it should be more than enough.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2008
  20. Zareph

    Zareph Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire NITRO+ RX480 4GB
    Well, I edited my post. It does indeed have 2 18A rails, but with a PSU with true dual rails, that would be 27A combined...
     

Share This Page