1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can games using PhysX run faster with newer files ?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Super1, Apr 21, 2018.

  1. Super1

    Super1 Active Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia
    Hello

    Can games using PhysX run faster with newer files(replacing in-game files) ?
    which we can obtain them from C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Engine.

    Thank you.
     
  2. Astyanax

    Astyanax Master Guru

    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Replacing the files is usually unnecessary.

    The phsyxloader.dll will almost always prefer the newer files installed by the physx runtime instead of those in the games own folder, they will already be using the newer versions.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2018
    nz3777 likes this.
  3. Chastity

    Chastity Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    215
    GPU:
    Nitro 390/GTX1070M
    Easy thing to do is rename the Physx files in the game dir, so they aren't loaded and then compare performance. For example: physxloader.dll > physxloader.dll.old
     
    Super1 likes this.
  4. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,390
    Likes Received:
    879
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Most of the time no, like astyanax said, but some don't do that and you need to, its a trial and error..

    Or if it stutters, then it can help too..

    I did that by assassin's creed 4, xcom declassified, alice 2, old batman, and few more.
     
    Super1 likes this.

  5. Astyanax

    Astyanax Master Guru

    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    i've checked all of these at some point and they all executed the physxloader in the game directory but used the physxcore and physxcooking files from the runtime installed.

    Even the supposed alice returns tweak was proven bogus, i suspect that was a bug if ever it actually improved performance.

    now if only ubisoft would grace those of us wanting to play black flag with a pascal board with a fix for the turbo turbulence physx.
     
    Super1 likes this.
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,603
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Done that several times out of curiosity, have not noticed any improvements, but in one game received funny glitches like flying objects.
     
    Super1 and airbud7 like this.
  7. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,390
    Likes Received:
    879
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    From what I saw when I tested/played those games it didnt raise fps, maybe stabler minimum with less typical 32 or was it 37fps drop, and more smooth.. I had to rename few cooking files, those that weren't used by newer libraries or used lower library even if newer available. e.g. 2.8.4, while there was 2.8.6 or even 2.8.9
     
    Super1 likes this.
  8. WareTernal

    WareTernal Master Guru

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    XFX R9 380X XXX
    I've had to replace PhysXCore.dll to get XCOM Declassified to run on a 1060, and it definitely used the local PhysXCore.dll file in the game's folder.
     
    Super1 likes this.
  9. Astyanax

    Astyanax Master Guru

    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    I don't remember if Xcom even used the physxloader library, if not it is hard linking to the physx core which is absolutely the wrong thing to do.
    2K isn't known for robust development practices though.

    Gunna reinstall it and check what its doing.

    ===

    Not sure why you needed to replace anything, xcom is bundled with 2.8.4.8, which should run on pascal just fine.

    2.8.4 is the highest minor version but bug fixes go up to 2.8.4.11


    o.o ok, the bureau fps tanks once you reach that thing spitting out green particles
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2018
    Super1 likes this.
  10. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,390
    Likes Received:
    879
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Yes that, i uploaded repaced files in one thread here, you can try it, if it helps a bit, i think it still drops, but not to 5-10. Also it runs smoother now, less streaming stuttering.

     
    Super1 likes this.

  11. Chastity

    Chastity Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    215
    GPU:
    Nitro 390/GTX1070M
    FYI: If a .dll exists in the local program dir, the app will always use that one vs any installed in the system directory. There's no version checking by the OS.
     
    Super1 likes this.
  12. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,603
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Little note: only if app loads dll-file without full or relative path.
    Many variables as we see.
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2018
    Super1 likes this.
  13. WareTernal

    WareTernal Master Guru

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    XFX R9 380X XXX
    See next quote.
    See previous quote.
    You're right. I shouldn't have mentioned the 1060 since it's probably running on CPU. My point was simply that sometimes you can improve things by using a newer PhysX dll. There are many references to users with various systems/issues needing to apply this fix:
    https://pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/The_B...oom_with_the_plane_suspended_from_the_ceiling

    Little note:
    "If the string specifies a relative path...the function uses a standard search strategy to find the module"
    "If SafeDllSearchMode is enabled, the search order is as follows:
    1. The directory from which the application loaded."
    "If SafeDllSearchMode is disabled, the search order is as follows:
    1. The directory from which the application loaded."
    I think for most purposes, that what Chastity said was correct.
     
    Super1 likes this.
  14. Astyanax

    Astyanax Master Guru

    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    physx apps usually use a GUID to check for and use the installed runtime instead of the bundled,, Xcom fails at this

    Also, there are some applications that override the dll search path (for security sake)
     
    Super1 likes this.
  15. Astyanax

    Astyanax Master Guru

    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    I had no crash in that location with the bundled physxcore, but the apex particle performance are terrible.
     
    Super1 likes this.

  16. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,603
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Chastity used word "always". I merely pointed that this is the case only if programmer did not specify full path.
     
    Super1 likes this.
  17. Super1

    Super1 Active Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia
    Thanks everyone.
     

Share This Page