Call Of Duty:Ghosts Performance? Optimization?

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by tom12, Nov 5, 2013.

  1. tom12

    tom12 Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 4G Gaming
    So ya seriously how is the performance in different sets of hardware? Does it really require a GTX 780 to play on ultra?
    Minimum requirements are crazy enough..... it left me speechless i dont think i even pass the min GPU requirements.:confused: (although i do play on a monitor with 1366x768 resolution) Wanna play atleast on high.. So what about the rest of the guys here?
    I m thinking of buying it. but not sure.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2013
  2. mbm

    mbm Member Guru

    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 GTX
    tried it only about 1 min this morning..
    1920x1080, higest detail, 4xMSAA..
    totally unplayable...:(
     
  3. KingpinZero

    KingpinZero Master Guru

    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Armor GTX1080
    A 670 SLI cant run this game on ultra? Really? WTF
     
  4. tom12

    tom12 Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 4G Gaming
    :paranoid: DAFUQ?! ur kidding right?

    so if i buy it i have to play it on medium or low settings... COD on low settings..
    I dont get it y? is the graphics on par with Crysis 3 or BF4? or (obviously) terrible optimization.. ? :bawl:
     

  5. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,397
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury OC
    Disabling MSAA solved most of the performance problems I had (Posted in the screenshot thread and a bit in the COD 2013 thread.) but I thought it would work better on Nvidia hardware, strange.
     
  6. stereoman

    stereoman Master Guru

    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 GTX Windforce 3 OC
    I'm currently in the Jungle level after the plane crash, averaging 80 fps with my setup, everything set to max with 4xMSSA 1680x1050 120hz, one thing I have noticed with this game, it seriously takes advantage of multithreading, in resource manager all my cores are maxed I assume this has to do with the next gen consoles using multiprocessing, I was planning on upgrading my 1090T to something faster but i'm quite impressed with how my 6 cores handle this game, probably will step up to an eight core but so far i'm fairly happy with the performance.

    also forgot to mention, couldnt get this game to load with fraps enabled, had to start the game first then load fraps, not sure if this is a bug or what
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2013
  7. mbm

    mbm Member Guru

    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 GTX
    Can you get higher than 90 fps?
     
  8. stereoman

    stereoman Master Guru

    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 GTX Windforce 3 OC
    there's a torture scene on the plane before it crashes, it went upto 120 fps but I did have sync to every frame enabled, I assume that's the same as vsync.
     
  9. mbm

    mbm Member Guru

    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 GTX
    BF4 looks and runs better
     
  10. stereoman

    stereoman Master Guru

    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 GTX Windforce 3 OC
    I think they are both beautiful games, I actually prefer the campaign in Ghosts to BF4 but the weather effects in BF4 are outstanding, still haven't tried these games in 3dvision yet, that will be my next test.
     

  11. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,281
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Strix RX 480 8GB
    Turn off Terrain Detail, gives like 10-15fps boost.
     
  12. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Its a COD game, there shouldnt be any detail as it is.
     
  13. Phreakuency

    Phreakuency Master Guru

    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Titan
    There's not. Either it's massively un-optimized or they are just quoting high specs to make people think they pushed the graphics.

    At best it looks above average at max settings and runs 60fps (I use vsync) without a hitch.
     
  14. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,281
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Strix RX 480 8GB
    There is, Terrain Detail is Tesselation on terrain. :)
     
  15. Phreakuency

    Phreakuency Master Guru

    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Titan
    What we meant was even the highest detail on CoD still doesn't look great ;)
     

  16. kenzt

    kenzt Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 480 NITRO+ OC
    With my specs with everything on low i get so much lag, especially when i fire any weapon. Tottaly unplayable. I just can't understand how does this game consume so much resources and the looks of the game are always the same.
    In Battlefield you get a different feeling, like everything is really there, the structures, cars, everything is built in 3d, but with Call of Duty it was always about textures.
    This game is consuming 20-40% GPU on both cores, 3GB Ram, 20-30% CPU in all 8 threads.
     
  17. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,281
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Strix RX 480 8GB
    Then you guys need glasses :D, it looks pretty good.

    Obviously not as good as BF4, but still it's not bad at all.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2013
  18. Dezerte

    Dezerte New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus DCU II 680
    Going to do some further testing but, here's my take so far:

    - Maximum settings (4xMSAA) results in stutter-hell.
    - Auto-detect settings with either FXAA or TXAA is smooth.

    It's possible that MSAA is the culprit but as I said, I need to do some further testing. My PC should be in my profile.
     
  19. KingpinZero

    KingpinZero Master Guru

    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Armor GTX1080
    ^MSAA introduces huge VRAM usage on high resolutions. If you want to do a quick test, check the VRAM usage with MSAA/Ultra and FXAA/Ultra. It may use more than 2gb of vram, in that case, that would be an issue.
     
  20. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,852
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE NITRO 390x
    when I have vsync enabled I get audio drop outs during the loading screens.
     

Share This Page