By default on a new system, Windows 11 will hinder gaming performance.

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Oct 6, 2021.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    44,322
    Likes Received:
    11,221
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    DannyD likes this.
  2. Dimitrios1983

    Dimitrios1983 Master Guru

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    103
    GPU:
    RX580
    Why all of a sudden is MICROSOFT really pushing security out of the woodwork? I don't stay up to the min hardware/software but seems like they are really pushing W11 and security aggressively! Are one of the reasons because of old CPU's being compromised from both INTEL and AMD? (mostly INTEL CPU's I notice) Is it due to politics with China or voting issues?
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2021
    Aztec2Step likes this.
  3. Nicked_Wicked

    Nicked_Wicked Master Guru

    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    121
    GPU:
    6900XT
    Can’t you just disable it by disabling virtualization in the BIOS?
     
    GSDragoon and akbaar like this.
  4. k3vst3r

    k3vst3r Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,593
    Likes Received:
    110
    GPU:
    KP3090 G9 240Hz
    So when AL launches could potentially see skewed results versus those who upgraded from win10 from prebuilt win11.
     

  5. Mpampis

    Mpampis Member Guru

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    172
    GPU:
    RX 5700 XT 8GB
    I'm not sure if every Motherboard BIOS has the option.
    My -not so new- Gigabyte AX370 Gaming K7 has it though, so I guess it exists in most of the newer models.
     
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    10,789
    GPU:
    GF RTX 3060TI
    You can`t disable Windows feature in BIOS.

    In BIOS you can configure the CPU and platform features which accelerate virtualisation in Windows.
     
    akbaar likes this.
  7. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,053
    Likes Received:
    886
    GPU:
    Inno3D RTX 3090
    Since Windows NT
    upload_2021-10-6_12-21-5.jpeg
     
  8. Nicked_Wicked

    Nicked_Wicked Master Guru

    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    121
    GPU:
    6900XT
    So what you’re saying is that if you disable virtualization the performance hit will be even worse? That’s quite something. o_O
     
  9. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,458
    Likes Received:
    7,803
    GPU:
    RTX 2080S AMP
    Its disabled by default i just checked so whats the big deal?
     
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    10,789
    GPU:
    GF RTX 3060TI
    If you disable virtualization in BIOS and enable VBS in Windows then yes.
     

  11. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,635
    Likes Received:
    5,420
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    its not on new installs or oem packages.
     
  12. DannyD

    DannyD Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,399
    Likes Received:
    2,724
    GPU:
    Palit 3070ti
    *Bookmarked
     
  13. Zooke

    Zooke Master Guru

    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    236
    GPU:
    3090FE + EK Block
    I'm guessing they decided that changing the setting during upgrading may cause issues, so that's why it's for fresh installs only.
    It is something to be aware of if as many of us will, you upgrade 1st then later down the line do a fresh install for whatever reason. After the re-install your pc will have vbs enabled by default.
     
  14. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,458
    Likes Received:
    7,803
    GPU:
    RTX 2080S AMP
    No, no i did a clean install yesterday and its disabled by default. I think its only enabled manually like the tittle said for "enterprise customers".
     
  15. DannyD

    DannyD Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,399
    Likes Received:
    2,724
    GPU:
    Palit 3070ti
    Buying a legit copy from keystore, downloading it to usb, and installing it on new mobo i could forsee issues.
     

  16. Krzysztof

    Krzysztof Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI RX VEGA56
    Something like DRM wich dont get issue with fps, funny .
     
    DannyD likes this.
  17. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,458
    Likes Received:
    658
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    The feature will be disabled for Windows Security when you disable the virtualization option/options in BIOS, it will even state that standard hardware security isn't supported, best practice is to disable it within Windows Security first though.

    EDIT: Virtualization is usually disabled pr. default on motherboards and older OEM builds.
    If you don't need it there is no point in having it enabled either.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2021
  18. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,681
    Likes Received:
    382
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    No need for BIOS stuff, VBS can be disable from within window. Its in "Windows Security" --> "Device security" --> "Core isolation", Just set Memory integrity to OFF.
    It's really no big deal and from what I heard, it affect mostly the *old* "unsupported processor"
     
    Undying and chispy like this.
  19. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,132
    Likes Received:
    423
    GPU:
    Geforce RTX 3090 FE
    Clean installed it today, it's off by default.
     
  20. Zooke

    Zooke Master Guru

    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    236
    GPU:
    3090FE + EK Block
    Thx for clarification, I was wrongly thinking it would start getting enabled by default on any new installation.
     

Share This Page