buying a 360 today..

Discussion in 'Consoles & console games' started by ScoobyDooby, Jun 29, 2008.

1. ScoobyDooby

ScoobyDooby Ancient Guru

GPU:
    1080Ti & Acer X34
    so I will be purchasing my first xbox today, and had a couple questions about it since I'm a total noob with them..

first off, is a 20gb hdd gonna be large enough? and what exactly is stored on the hdd> full games? or just like, save files and stuff?

secondly, what would be the better games to look at getting currently? naturally gta4 I would like to try out, but what else?

thirdly, how should I set it up? Would it be smart to add an external fan around it to keep it cool? maybe its just habit being a PC guy, but I have seen lots of these boxes just up and die when they get too hot..

2. TheBoss84

TheBoss84 Maha Guru

GPU:
    GTX 1080 + GTX 970
    Congrats on your purchase.

Well 20GB get filled up pretty quickly if you download many demos or trailers. The 120GB hard drive is of cours much better. But if you dont care deleting some files after you have used you should have no problems with 20GB.

As for games, there are so many out there. For me Fifa is a must have, but i dont think your a soccer fan. Other games like Gears of War, Mass Effect are great buys.

I once had a cooling kit that is attached right behind the XBOX. The only thing it did was just heating it up much more since the plastic thing was so big and the fans so small it only made the heat accumulate and not getting anywhere. Just make sure to keep it well ventilated. Besides 65nm chips should be on the shelves already.

I wish you a lot of joy with the XBOX 360.

3. scatman839

scatman839 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    The HDD is totally pointless unless you plan on downloading demos and movies.

Practically all games can be stored on the memory card that comes with the cheaper ones.

Games?

Lost Odyssey, The Darkness, Eternal Sonata.

4. vbetts

vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti