Budget build.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by demm, Nov 7, 2011.

  1. demm

    demm Master Guru

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8600GTS
    Those aren't available on that site, but for like 3€ more I can get these:

    http://arvutikeskus.ee/est/TOOTEKAT...M-4GB-PC12800-DDR3-HYPERX-KIT2-KINGSTON-99149

    So these are a better choice I presume?

    The next is i3-2120 and that's out of my budget, besides it doesn't seem like it adds much to what the 2100 already has and i5 is too far off. The only way I could get that is if I switched the VGA to something like 6770, but should I?
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2011
  2. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    get these instead
    http://arvutikeskus.ee/est/TOOTEKAT...3-1600-Mhz-2-x-2GB-9-9-9-24-15-V-N-Red-122908

    the ones you listed have 1.65 voltage for the ram. Thats too high for Sandy bridge, 1.5 is the recommended voltage and up to a maximum "recommended" of 1.58. I personally would use a max of 1.6

    if you wan to future proof yourself get these, its 8GB 1600mhz with 1.35 voltage.
    http://arvutikeskus.ee/est/TOOTEKAT...600-Mhz-2-x-4GB-9-9-9-24-135V-RipjawsX-127805

    and no don't skimp on the VGA like tommy said. Just go with what we have already.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2011
  3. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    no do not skimp on the vga to get a higher clock cpu
     
  4. demm

    demm Master Guru

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8600GTS
    If I do get those, then that's pretty much it. That's as much my budget allows me. Does the 1600mhz ram give like a noticable performance boost and will there be a time when 4gb of ram won't be enough..?
     

  5. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Generally yes, but it won't be a huge performance difference. But it'll give you maybe a 2-5% boost. But the main thing is that its 8GB which will last you a long time.
     
  6. demm

    demm Master Guru

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8600GTS
    Bit of a confuse with the whole quoting thing, I meant that the 4GB kit is pushing my limits, the 8GB kit is out of my budget by around 20€.
     
  7. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    you do not upgrade often 2x4gb will last quite a while to come. get that ram i3 2100 and the mb and vc and you have a capable gaming machine.
     
  8. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Ah, i figured you could allow it considering you saved $30 from before. But get either of the two. not that kingston ram

    If you wait another 6 years to upgrade, you'll probably need more ram before then. Id say in 2-3 years, 8gb will be required
     
  9. demm

    demm Master Guru

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8600GTS
    Well, I'll try to get the extra penny somewhere, but for now what I'm definitely sure about is:
    i3-2100
    Gigabyte H61M-USB3-B3
    G.Skill F4 4GB(the ones mentioned before)
    XFX 6850 XXX Edition
    Coolermaster Elite 350
    Corsair 430w 80+ psu

    And that's pretty much all I can afford.


    I don't think I'll wait 6 years this time :D 2-3 years is pretty much what I'm lookin' for from this build.
     
  10. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Id say you have an excellent budget gaming pc right there :thumbup:
     

  11. demm

    demm Master Guru

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8600GTS
    Coolio!

    Now just to wait til' Monday to get the cash and then 1-5 workdays for the whole stuff to get to me. If all goes well, then maybe by next weekend I'll be playing Skyrim :D This will be the first pc I put together myself, so let's hope it'll go well.

    Thanks for the advice guys!
     
  12. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Hoping skyrim is good. :biggun:
     
  13. lehtv

    lehtv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    Here's the performance difference between i3 and G840: http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/405?vs=289 roughly proportional to the difference in price, so get the i3 as long as you can afford to

    I really don't see why you couldn't go with Kingston ValueRAM. Lifetime warranty like the rest of them and 1.5V so it should work just fine. You'll never notice the difference between 1333mhz and 1600mhz. It's not 2-5% like Agent claims, it's more like 0-3% depending on application. In gaming, 0%. http://www.anandtech.com/show/4503/sandy-bridge-memory-scaling-choosing-the-best-ddr3/1

    It's not a lot of money to go with 1600mhz though so that's fine too, just know that 1333mhz would suit you just fine
     
  14. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    man you wanna a nickel and dime the guy out of an i3 2100 which has 4 threads that will be used in lots of games into buying a dual core with just 2 threads. the difference between 1333 and 1600 is very small in price. why dont you take your own advice and sidegrade to 1333
     
  15. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    QFT. 9000%

    i swear he goes to every ram thread and says dont go with what others say and buy 1333 ram instead because he is a penny pincher
     

  16. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
  17. Postalisback

    Postalisback Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 760 TwinFrozr 2GB
    I've been using Kingston ValueRAM for the past year and a half or so, working fine for me, even though the sticks are different speeds (1066MHz/1333MHz)
     
  18. lehtv

    lehtv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    What? Are you serious? I can't believe I'm actually reading this.

    What is it about my post that indicates I want him to buy G840? He asked what the difference in performance is, and since no one had yet provided that info, I did. Then I agreed with the rest of you that he should get the i3 as long as he can afford it. Do you want him to buy the i3 if he can't afford it? I should hope not.

    I also already know the price difference between 1333mhz and 1600mhz is small, this should be perfectly obvious as the post you replied to says so.

    We've been over this, let me remind you: http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4136361&postcount=59. Perhaps at the time you were too lazy to read?

    If you actually read my post, I didn't say he should not go with 1600mhz RAM. I said 1600MHz is fine. Also, your accusation of me being a "penny pincher" is nothing short of stupid, the OP is building a budget system. This so-called "penny pinching" would actually be a good thing when the performance gains from paying more are so minute as in the case of 1600mhz vs 1333mhz.

    EDIT
    No, it doesn't look familiar, I've never seen this article before.

    In a non-overclocked system at 1680x1050, it shows a 0.6% increase in Metro2033. 5% increase in F1 2010 (at a framerate where the difference doesn't matter). 0% increase in CIV 5. Here it shows a 0% increase in Crysis and 0.1% in Metro at 1080p.

    Given that the performance increases quite a bit higher at 4.7GHz than at stock in the xbitlabs tests, I'd be willing to bet that the slower i3 would benefit from faster RAM even less than the stock 2500K.

    Oh, another thing I just remembered. The Gigabyte H61 board doesn't support 1600mhz RAM, unless there's something wrong with the manufacturer specs.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2011
  19. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    you told him to switch here. you even got the clock speed wrong it 2.8 according to your link. and if you werent trying to get him to buy the pentium why did you link him to it?
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2011
  20. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    You must have edited your post, because what you said below "0%" claim wasnt there

    And how is my penny pinching comment stupid? I recall you saying get 1333 mhz instead of 1600 in alot of builds that werent budget ones. In fact, i remember a 2000$ budget build you said get 1333 instead and i replied saying it wasnt a budget pc. You reply with there are no performance differences
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2011

Share This Page