Broken fan, broken card.

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion' started by Regent, Jan 25, 2017.

1. Regent

Regent New Member

GPU:
    Secret
    Actually, i installed MSI Afterburner. Next step, i uninstalled MSI afterburner.

After that, my GPU fan spinned with 20-30% power all the time, even in games, and my card burned like my ass right now. I installed afterburner again and fan working now, but only with launched afteburner. How can i fix that and delete this wonderful program FOREVER?

I hope you understood what i tried to say and you can help, because 5 min ago this great program just stopped my fan (don't know reasons) and temperature was more than 100.

Thanks.

2. JonasBeckman

JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury OC
    I am no expert on this software and only use part of it's functionality most of the time but far as I'm aware at least then unless you activate the hardware monitoring functionality of it then Afterburner shouldn't have any way to monitor or alter fan speed, also varies depending on AMD or Nvidia GPU's and then there's other factors as well such as laptop models which are far as I know at least mostly unsupported.

However If you did activate hardware monitoring (Or if it's on by default, I do not remember.) and it's not a software conflict with some other program (IE for AMD it could be the Wattman in more recent drivers if you also used that.) then just changing the fan speed back to auto should work to reset this (Reboot might also help after that to clear up anything stored in memory.) though if this doesn't help for some reason then uninstalling and re-installing the display driver should reset the setting for this completely, little bit more work but it's pretty straightforward though I don't think you'd need to go that far. :)