Both Mantle and DX12 can combine video memory

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Feb 3, 2015.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    39,188
    Likes Received:
    7,836
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Robert Hallock (Head of Global Technical Marketing at AMD) hared something interesting on Twitter earlier on. You guys know that when your have a GPU graphics card combo with dual-GPUs that the mem...

    Both Mantle and DX12 can combine video memory
     
  2. jimdove

    jimdove Master Guru

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Windforce 1080ti
    o-O

    if true this will make SLI users cream :)
     
  3. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,036
    Likes Received:
    1,598
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    If this is true and not just a marketing ploy, wouldn't this also work on any crossfire or sli setups done with two physical graphics cards?
     
  4. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,800
    Likes Received:
    3,790
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Oh, now they want to bring in their hbm and dual gpu cards I think. 295 sales might gain a bit momentum and, who knows, maybe a 385x or something.

    We will see if this really works the way he pointed out.
     

  5. DeskStar

    DeskStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    147
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 HC
    Bring it!!

    Quad TITAN's standing by to stack some memory.....! Just hope they don't pull one over on us about how this is just for the newest brands and no backward compatibility with us guys with the older hardware.

    Please do not be another marketing rep blowing smoke attempting to rattle the cages of us hardware freaks that are out there.
     
  6. hapkiman

    hapkiman Active Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
    We shall see if what he says really works. I've seen a lot of claims over the years by different companies that turned out to be BS. Cautiously optimistic.

    :banana:
     
  7. jimdove

    jimdove Master Guru

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Windforce 1080ti
    I still will not go multi gpu even if this is true, the issues with games not supporting sli or doing it poorly are too great imo. I am biased as I had a nightmare 9 months with a 5970 back in 09, poor ati drivers + terrible xfire support in the games I was playing = RMA and lots of rage :D I cannot go through that again (first world problems)
     
  8. Lane

    Lane Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
    Last Civilization: Beyond Earth use allready SFR with Mantle..

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/8643/...crossfire-with-mantle-sfr-not-actually-broken

     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2015
  9. DeskStar

    DeskStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    147
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 HC
    Yeah I hear you....... Does sound a bit fishy as both GFX card companies have truly addressed their concerns on stacked/unified RAM architecture and how they plan on introducing it to the public. All in due time I suppose.

    Makes me feel like my kids on Christmas, or something........waiting ever so patiently to find out what the companies are going to give us.
     
  10. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,036
    Likes Received:
    1,598
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Seeing that even if I added a second 970 to my rig, I would still be under the power restraints that is the Mac Pro and the silly power connectors that comes with it. I would add a second one no problem if developers did use this API.

    I would have more than 4gb of memory then!(Joke)
     

  11. A M D BugBear

    A M D BugBear Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    344
    GPU:
    4 GTX 970-Quad Sli

    Soon as the games hit 6-8gb of vram, your quad titan's, even if they scaled at 100% full speed, your cards, all 4 of them, will be on their knees, 8gb vram???, forget it.

    maybe 6gb vram and settings,etc but at full 8gb vram? 100% even with 4 980 gtx's oc'ed, will be on their knees.

    5-6gb sounds good, over that, our cards ain't fast enough to do something like that yet and maintain very high fps at the same time.

    LOL, and LG is talking about 8k resolution this year? PLEASE!!

    Games wont move period at that resolution, as of now no, OLD!! games perhaps, Today's games? FORGET IT...

    If people own 4k, Try maxing out with dsr, should give you a hint how fast it will move, lol.

    5gb sounds perfect.

    Shoot, playing farcry4 @ slightly over 2560X1600 res(DSR), + maxed out settings + nvidia inspector 2xmsaa + 2xSGSSAA, sucker is moving like 17+fps to 20+ fps, seems to moving alright, looks great, lol.

    I cant imagine running 8k with farcry4 with everything maxed out @ 60fps, holy good god moly, thats NEVER going to happen for a LONG LONG TIME.

    As of the Mantle+DX12:

    All I got to say is this, its about time, how many years later and still haven't found out a way to stack the vram? I knew it was just a matter of time, good god about time, I wonder when this will be coming out in full force? I don't expect anytime soon.

    Matter of time before Nvidia comes up with there's, lol.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2015
  12. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,979
    Likes Received:
    1,843
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    But there is a catch, games will specifically have to be designed to take advantage of it... So, imo it will be very rare :p
     
  13. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,578
    Likes Received:
    600
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Be better for 970 users, as they'll have 7GB :p
     
  14. Solfaur

    Solfaur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,395
    Likes Received:
    874
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080Ti Ga.X
    Still way better for 290x 8GB users, as they'll have full 16GB!!!11one :)
     
  15. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,228
    Likes Received:
    626
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080Ti AMP
    No just no.

    We will still have full 8GB memory.

    But what this will do is be amazing for no hitting that 3.5GB wall that a lot of people are seeing.

    I don't see this at all I have hit 3.9GB and not had issues. Same over at PCPer who have tested BF4 at 6K resolution and only found the 970 to perform around 12% slower than the 980 and they too did not see any hiccups.

    This will essentially increase that wall, not just for 970 users but for everyone.

    This HAS to be made compulsory for devs if your game uses a lot of memory!!
     

  16. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,853
    Likes Received:
    6,805
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    nvm...
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2015
  17. DLG

    DLG Active Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac AMP 1080Ti
    this has to be the best news about graphics for since sli/cf existed
     
  18. ScoobyDooby

    ScoobyDooby Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,103
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    1080Ti & Acer X34
    Pretty much.

    Time will tell I guess, but very promising from these new APIs. Hope it comes to fruition! Would be a huge boost to gamers everywhere and makes CF/SLI far more relevant (not that it isn't already, just more!)
     
  19. stereoman

    stereoman Master Guru

    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    82
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Seahawk EK
    If it's true then hopefully they'll be able to patch it in for older games like with Battlefield 4 and mantle support, I've been using SLI since Voodoo2 days and I always thought it was a shame you couldn't use the memory on both cards, it's a huge waste, anyway fingers crossed this works.
     
  20. harkinsteven

    harkinsteven Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,924
    Likes Received:
    106
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 ti
    Awww this is sexy.
     

Share This Page