Borderlands 2 + MSI 670 oc + Physx High

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by mentalpeace, Sep 26, 2012.

  1. mentalpeace

    mentalpeace Active Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 670 Oc edition
    mmm i will test when i get home...but there are way too many people reporting these slowdowns...so i dont think that could be the problem. Anyhow, i will try today and report back.
     
  2. KingpinZero

    KingpinZero Master Guru

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Armor GTX1080
    Guys try this rapid fix: go into option and lower the FOV. I've lowered it to 82 and all my problems are gone.
    Mind you I'm on medium physix, didn't tried high yet.
     
  3. Matt151b

    Matt151b Master Guru

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gtx 1080
    I play at fov at 110. No problems for me.
     
  4. Pey

    Pey Master Guru

    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 980 STRIX @ SLI
    I have a single 680 gtx now, playing 2560x1600 max details, pshyx high and i´m getting 50-60fps.
     

  5. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,122
    Likes Received:
    765
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    Keep spreading this dynamic clock bs of yours, but know this:

    BL2 fps drops are entirely due to game issues. GPU on 60% usage while having low fps means CPU is trashing due to PhysX calculations done on CPU, leaving GPU starved - hence low GPU usage.

    It blows my mind how bad can you be with numbers to think that 20,30, or 60MHz drop on 1000GHz GPU can halve your fps. Not to mention that your usage stays low even after the drop.........:puke2:

    You are barking at the entirely wrong tree
     
  6. ren008

    ren008 Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
    Good place to test is in Thousand Cuts just outside the Hyperion Gate looking back out here in the pic.

    [​IMG]

    Running Maxed out @ 1680x1050 with:
    Vsync on = 40fps and 670 clocks down to 914 mhz
    Vsync off = 40fps and 670 max boosts to 1215 mhz
    Physx to Low gets me an extra 4 fps sad...

    GPU usage both scenarios right at 45%
    CPU hover around 45-50% usage

    Must be driver related... Hope NVIDIA fixes this, as 40fps is still playable but when fighting in this area FPS can drop too close to 30fps for my liking.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012
  7. The Phoenix

    The Phoenix Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    gtx 970
    in that same area,same resolution as you,vsync on,AO quality ,16xaf,8xaa,4xsupersample,fxaa on,not sure about all the gpu cpu usage but i still never drop below 59fps
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012
  8. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    Try enabling v sync, and capping frames in-game.
     
  9. adrock311

    adrock311 Master Guru

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8gb
    Did anyone figure out why some of our GTX 670 cards cant run physx high without terrible framerate drops into 30's and 40's yet? i thought GTX 670 should be able to handle physx high?

    look at this tweak guide nvidia just posted for the GTX 660 Ti, it can do 60fps, physx high, 1080p:

    [​IMG]
     
  10. GhostXL

    GhostXL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,013
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX 2080 Ti
    Because high Physx in almost every game I've played has a huge hit to a single card. Lot's of processing needed.

    Best to get an addin card for Physx. I hooked up an old GTX 285 and it's doing the job just fine. I wasn't sure if it could keep up at first, but it does.
     

  11. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,933
    Likes Received:
    1,810
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Not really its inefficient physx2 code, still even at 2.8.4.6 and on top of that they used i7 3960X 6core cpu to overcome cpu bottleneck..


    Also we don't know where they measured those fps, could be at the begging where everybody gets +60fps xD


    Edit:
    I wish they start using physx3.x already (its at 3.2 atm), but i guess they needed to milk physx2 some more.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2012
  12. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    90
    GPU:
    1080Ti/RadVII/2070S
    I'm using a Asus GTX 670 Top and am getting the frame rate drops too. Sometimes it will drop into the 40s even using super-low screen resolutions like 1360x768. I tried adding in a GTX 460 Amp! I had going spare and it did nothing to help at all. The CPU being used is a 2600K at 4.3Ghz.

    I might try going back to my old 580 to see if that helps with this game. :/
     
  13. adrock311

    adrock311 Master Guru

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8gb
    hmm are you sure the GTX 460 was being properly detected as a dedicated physx card?
     
  14. applejack

    applejack Master Guru

    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 GAMING X
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2012
  15. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,122
    Likes Received:
    765
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    thx for the update ^^
     

  16. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    90
    GPU:
    1080Ti/RadVII/2070S
    Yup. Had to reinstall the driver of course but had the 460 dedicated to physx. I even ran a vantage CPU test with PPU set to on and my 2600K got over 60k so it was working alright.
     
  17. adrock311

    adrock311 Master Guru

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8gb
    cool, if a GTX 460 doesnt help much on physx high, then this game must need a patch
     
  18. adrock311

    adrock311 Master Guru

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8gb
    GTX 600 series card owners who are getting stuttering with physx on high ; try forcing triple buffering in nvidia control panel, helped me.
     
  19. NeoandGeo

    NeoandGeo Master Guru

    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 970 @1420
    TB in control panel doesn't work on non-OpenGL games. It's a placebo if you noticed anything different.
     
  20. The Phoenix

    The Phoenix Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    gtx 970
    delete post
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2012

Share This Page