BioShock Infinite

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by S†v0r, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. ZebMacahan

    ZebMacahan Master Guru

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080 Ti
    Both games showing here too now
     
  2. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,973
    Likes Received:
    483
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    I now have both remastered games and they're downloading. Both are 21+ GB in size which is (bio!)shocking (ha!) as the originals are both sub-10 GB in size. Anyway, I only got them to show in my library by searching for BioShock on the Steam store then clicking on Play for each one which then added them to my library. They were not showing at all until I did that.

    Minor gripe but why does BioShock Remastered show AFTER BioShock Infinite in my library? Makes no sense... BioShock 2 Remaster shows right after the original BioShock 2... :bang:

    *EDIT*
    Ah, right, B R comes after B I alphabetically but B 2 R is unaffected because it is the same as the original B 2 only with R! Really wish we had some kind of manual sort for the library to get round these quirks.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2016
  3. drewho

    drewho Master Guru

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080
    strange they're 12GB here
     
  4. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    1,550
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Download size is smaller then the final installed size. BioShock was about 11 gigs to download, but installed it's about 20.
     

  5. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,528
    Likes Received:
    264
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    I thought the same and it was just the second game, but then noticed that the remastered version was not under the original game like i had expected, but under Infinite.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    1,550
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Yeah, that annoys a little. Because a number comes before the alphabet. So, BioShock 2 Remaster falls after BS2. While Infinite is alphabetically before Remaster... that's just... ugh.

    Beyond annoying.
    Several times I've starred at my library on Steam and just wished I could rearrange stuff.
     
  7. drewho

    drewho Master Guru

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080
    the mouse movement is still pretty ****ed up in bioshock one
     
  8. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,973
    Likes Received:
    483
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    That's crap but I've always played these games with a controller personally. Of course, the only reason these Remasters exist in the first place is because of the PS4 and Xbox One so it is not surprising that priority has been given to the controller and mouse/keyboard second.
     
  9. nhlkoho

    nhlkoho Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    362
    GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    No they didn't. I just played the intro and when he looks around right before the plane crash you can see them. It's just darker with more smoke in the cabin.
     
  10. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,528
    Likes Received:
    264
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Yeah, it would just look so much better.
    It's why i still use the slow and buggy Mediaportal as an video player as it allows customisation of stuff like that.

    Off to try it now, hopefully good news :)
     

  11. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Reeeeaaally?

    And they downgraded the water.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2016
  12. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    1,550
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Just played a little over an hour. Looks good, really good. You can quickly tell the increase in texture detail, the additional props outside the windows in the water.
    And, yes, as said above, the overhead compartments are still there. Those earlier images were just pretty badly compressed.
    And, now, the lights coming out from the compartments only shine down... as they should. Were as before they would also light up the areas above them.

    Once I turned on v-sync the mouse movement got instantly better. With it off, FPS were over 400 and the mouse felt jerky and kind of janky.
    With v-sync on... much better and more manageable.
     
  13. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,409
    Likes Received:
    82
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    Tried it, no 21:9 support, mouse acceleration and no custom FOV slider.

    No thanks.
     
  14. shafat777

    shafat777 Active Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gtx 980 SC 4GB SLI
    I am trying to run sweetfx for the Bioshock Remastered. But it doesnt seem to work? Can anyone tell me if its using dx 9 or dx 10?
     
  15. anxious_f0x

    anxious_f0x Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    377
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti SLi
    Am I being dumb? Can't find any advanced graphics options...
     

  16. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    1,550
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    There aren't any.
    Which... you don't really need any. It's running on the same engine as the original releases, they've updated the textures and models.

    But, ultimately, the game runs just the same as the original 2007 version did. Only updated and fixed from various issues that were common on newer OS.
    Also... physics that run higher then 30fps. :) Looks so good.

    But, I was running between 400 to 500 fps before I put v-sync on.
     
  17. shafat777

    shafat777 Active Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gtx 980 SC 4GB SLI
    Hey Damien

    Have you been able to run any sweetfx or reshade on Bioshock 1 remaster? I have been trying to find a solution for it. I have tried 32 and 64 bit dll, the game doesnt start using 32bit dll and it starts with 64bit but doesnt load sweetfx (no toggle message or anything). Any clue?
     
  18. anxious_f0x

    anxious_f0x Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    377
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti SLi
    Ok thanks, thought I was being blind lol, runs pretty good, over 100fps with 4K DSR, looks nice too, good to be back in rapture :D

    There is an expanded FOV toggle but yeah, no 21:9 support.
     
  19. angelgraves13

    angelgraves13 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    563
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti FE
  20. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,372
    Likes Received:
    1,349
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080Ti
    I thought they imported BS1 and 2 into the Infinity engine.
    BS1 original download size is 5800MB
    BS1 remastered is 20000 something

    Wonder what the extra space consists of?
     

Share This Page