Bios By Bret

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by bretware, Jul 25, 2008.

  1. bretware

    bretware Master Guru

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Two ATI 6850's
    how much is it changing at idle?
     
  2. Lowteckh

    Lowteckh Member Guru

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4850 @ stock
    1500-2800 on and off every second or so
     
  3. bretware

    bretware Master Guru

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Two ATI 6850's
    You and any one else that has download the "625Mhz stock Saphire"(only) bios, can fix the dead spot in the fan by reflashing with the bios from the same link,it has been changed.
    The 680Mhz and 660Mhz versions are ok.
    Sorry,
    bretware

    Fan should change about 50-60 rpms at idle
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2008
  4. Lowteckh

    Lowteckh Member Guru

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4850 @ stock
    Fixed it by randomly tweaking stuff.

    -Fan spins at around 1300rpm/0% constant at idle which is pretty quiet.
    -700/1060 was pretty much the limits for my card.
    -10 minutes of atitools produced no artifacts.
    -7X degrees on load for 10 minutes constant, not bad?
    -Fan is loud on load, silent/quiet on idle.
    -Memory clock on GPUZ says 1050, but on bios I have it set as 1060.

    Don't be concerned about my Speedfan temp (the one with 95); this is something that is completely normal with the 780G matx board.
    Also note that my case is not very well ventilated (compared to big honkin' full towers) since cooling is limited in matxs.

    I can post my bios if you want a reference.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2008

  5. felang

    felang Master Guru

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI GTX 680
    First of all i'd just like to say great work with the fan speed mods, I had edited my bios similarly but I actually prefer the settings from your bios.

    I have a question though, i have Visiontek 4850s in Xfire and the stock voltage for 3d seems to be 1.084 not 1.123 as you have stated. I have modded my profile to 1.123 and can now finally get past 650 on core, on stock volts would get arfifacts at 660.

    Are you sure that 1.123 is safe for everyday use?
     
  6. bokloz

    bokloz Master Guru

    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980Ti
    the fan sound is very bad and it randomly go up and down,the bios made by me is better
     
  7. foxX

    foxX Member Guru

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI Vega 56 AB OC
    thank you, bretware. much appreciated!
     
  8. Strifey

    Strifey Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    VisionTek HD 4870
    Are you(or anyone?) planning on making a BIOS for the 4870's? Much thanks to anyone who does.
     
  9. qwertyaas

    qwertyaas Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Visiontek 4850
    Wanted to just wait for Rivatuner to OC and setup fan profiles but flashing the card is too tempting! Great work!

    Too bad of the 3 Visiontek 4850s I tried, the max memory OC I could hit was 1050.
     
  10. bretware

    bretware Master Guru

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Two ATI 6850's
    did they all make 1050? And what was the max stable core on all 3?
     

  11. BigAlBeast25

    BigAlBeast25 Master Guru

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 970 SLI OC
    how would u go about removing this??
     
  12. spanket

    spanket Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 5770
    the dynamic fan speed sux cok for 2d only ok for gamez wot u do is after bios update u got new range of values aceptable for CC an u make adjustments from dat wot i got is 2d profile where everything is 160/500 .94v and manual fan 28% when i wanna play game i got overclock profile loaded with fan on auto dat wot works best 4 me it kicks ass now not hot not loud just right dun need to change cooler and fps in games r good i dun no y ppl use more dan 45% fan speed it too louf u go deaf and da fan wil proly die and cook ur card when u try rma they might go u got **** bios no rma for u that would sux huge elephant cok!
     
  13. bretware

    bretware Master Guru

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Two ATI 6850's
    BigAl, you can revert back to the shipped visiontek Bios by flashing with the visiontek bios at this link,


    -------Link is dead---------


    spanket, I'm having a little trouble understanding your rant, but I think you don't like the fan noise in 2D. Everyone has a different idea of what temps are too high and what speeds are too loud. These speeds were set with the idea of keeping the card temps between 60-70c while trying to keep the fan from running too much above 70%. The T-slope makes it hard to balance the high speed/high temp with the low speed/low temp. You got to remember that everyone is going to have different case temps, and that I needed something that would work in hot cases. The MSI Bios has "thermal table based automatic fan control mode" this is a very nice feature, If it was in all the Bios I would set up all the cards this way. It is reported that the MSI Bios will work on the following cards, ATI HD 4850, Club3D HD 4850, Connect3D HD 4850, Diamond HD 4850, Force3D HD 4850, Gigabyte HD 4850, HIS HD 4850, Powercolor HD 4850, Sapphire HD 4850, Visiontek HD 4850,But I can not confirm this. Also you will have to edit it yourself, because it defaults to the curve.

    Good Luck
    Bretware
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2008
  14. floske

    floske Active Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Strix GTX 9700
    Bret, the Gigabyte Stock Bios has a core setting of 62 MHz in clock info 03.
    You might want to change.

    Edit: How would I go on about making it less power consuming?
    I have set the frequencies to 160/500 at a voltage of 0.96V. (Clock info 01 02 04 05 07 08) Running smooth. The other clock settings are left to standard.

    First of all, does it even make sense what I'm trying to do here?
    Second, how can I improve? This card has plenty of kick for me at the moment, I just like it cool, energy efficient and not to noisy if possible :-/

    Thanks for advice
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2008
  15. bretware

    bretware Master Guru

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Two ATI 6850's
    Ya that looks good, 190Mhz clock I set is from vista tv testing, there was less bounce to 3D-L at 190. And the voltage setting are to ensure staiblity across different cards. I only have the Daimond to test on, wich by the way hits 690/1100 on stock voltage no problem.


    Better, try this 3D-H clock 690/1110 1.158V

    Good luck
    bretware
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2008

  16. floske

    floske Active Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Strix GTX 9700
    I just wonder, is there another way to make this card more power efficient?
    Could/should I go even lower with the settings ?
     
  17. bretware

    bretware Master Guru

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Two ATI 6850's
    your pretty much at the low limit. You could trade some fan speed for heat
     
  18. qwertyaas

    qwertyaas Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Visiontek 4850
    Yup. 1050 or 1070 (whatever the next step is) was the max. Wasn't able to pass that point without heavy artifacts in ATITool. On my current card, 700/1050 (previos 2 were 670 I believe) seems to be fine, and will see how far the core can go once RT comes out (then will probably flash it and the Vcore to 1.2v).
     
  19. bretware

    bretware Master Guru

    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Two ATI 6850's
    I found out what was causing the fan Bios not to work correctly, where it wont run and the report just shows a dot every few seconds,and 0%.
    It's caused by CCC, Make sure the Profile.XML is set to the min. fan speed, It' 33 for these Bios.
    - <Feature name="FanSpeedPercentTarget_0">
    <Property name="Want" value="33" />

    That was in the instructions but only for people that used the manual fix, for some reason CCC will not pick up the new setting, i cleared up the instructions a little.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2008
  20. Blacktreant

    Blacktreant Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SAPHHIRE HD 4850
    Hi Bret - pretty good job on the bioses some remarks though and would like some info from you since your higher understanding of stuff.

    I recently got an Sapphire 4850 card and ofc i was stunned of its idle load temps. Any way to shorten things out i quickly got to search more about the bios and powerplay stuff blah, blah, blah...

    [all are about sapphire 4850 and stock]
    Anyway here are my findings.
    1. RBE 1.11 and 1.12 show stuff differently eg load into these versions http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/16834/Sapphire.HD4850.512.080602.bin and u get things show differently.
    2. Its interesting that the 1st revision of bios for my sapphire and any otther cards bioses dated 23-5 -08 [http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/16724/Sapphire.HD4850.512.080523_1.bin]
    COULD downclock the the core to idle to 500 when using 2 monitors yet the above mentioned "newer bios can't". In that mode namely clock info 7 and 8[using 2monitors, it uses 500core, 993mhz mem! and not 750 for mem while also using 1.084 volts. In single monitor mode it idles @ the normal 500/750 - 1.046.
    3. Studying ur bios for stock sapphire u use 500/750 1.084 volt for dual monitor setup yet 1.084 was supposed for 2 monitors 500 core 993 mem.

    So if u also look the all the newest bioses - dated June as "080602" suggest and letting aside the MSI one wich is the only to use 160core you can easily understand that:

    - There is no 1.084 voltage used anymore
    - They chose max3d setting for running dual monitors [ that will answer many's questions - .. why doesn't powerplay work with dual monitors??...etc]
    - RBE 1.11 shows the correct uvd for apphire.HD4850.512.080523_1.bin as 500/750/1.046 where RBE 1.12 shows 625/993 for uvd all the way.

    So which RBE version report's the correct clocks? except i have a low understanding of the prog [ which is the case] clicking though in the program the UVD word displays other results if u look.
    Why did manufactures in the newest bioses do'nt support powerplay in dual monitor setup and where is that lost 500/993 mode gone? Maybe it was somethin to do with aero in vista? who knows...

    In ur bios you use 500/750 1.084 which 1.084 volt was supposed for the 500/993 dual monitor setup so in essence overvolting that idle clock [though we both know its safe in that :) ]

    My question let alone fan speeds, temps etc which bios should i use for my card - the stock one ?
    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/16724/Sapphire.HD4850.512.080523_1.bin
    or the newest one? http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/16834/Sapphire.HD4850.512.080602.bin ?

    What's goin on and ALL but ALL bioses from manufacturers dated june are the same like the 2nd mentioned above? [ example is the newest powercolor bios]
    they use 500/750 idle and uvd [according to RBE 1.11 [but not RBE 1.12] and there is no more 500/993/1.084 dual monitor idle mode ???

    Imho - the stock bios from MSI is wrong by using 160/500 it doesnt reduce power - it doesn't reduce heat and its offering worse 2d performance.

    One last finding - aside u folks have extreme temps [i mean hittin the 105c] i would't be so mad about ramping that fan and i hint @ the thermal cycle u put ur gpu to withstand which reportedly killed many nvidia g84 on laptops.
    On my case i have 69~74 idle 82 max load. Temps don't change so much so maybe that's better for the gpu. Cpu etc temps stayed the same as they were before i put the 4850 in.
    Many greetings
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2008

Share This Page