BIG mousecursor R9-290

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by KBDE, Dec 31, 2013.

  1. KBDE

    KBDE Master Guru

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    R290 4gb
    I have this strange mouse cursor problem i cannot fix and is driving me absolutely crazy.
    Its there since i swapped out my nvidia for this amd card. I'm on windows 8.1 with latest drivers atm, but older drivers and drivers that come with 8.1 have the same problem.

    I can "fix" it partially by enabling pointer shadow, or fully by enabling pointer trails. But these options both drive me crazy so this is no fix.

    I did some searching and its related to the famous ati mouse cursor corruption bug. Which could potentially be fixed with a bios upgrade of the mainboard or a driver update. Or better a combination of both.

    But since i am on the latest bios available for my Asus P8P67 PRO mainboard i am running out of options.

    Ideas are welcome, if i cant fix it the card goes back to the shop.
     
  2. Elite3540

    Elite3540 Master Guru

    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G OC
    Did you try clean uninstalling/installing your previous drivers and then installing the latest driver available for AMD cards?

    Please, if you want to clean uninstall/install use DDU:

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=379505

    Also, what card did you buy?

    Here is the latest driver available for AMD users:

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=384818

    AMD Catalyst 13.12 WHQL (13.251.0.0 December 6)

    _____________________

    Welcome to AMD/the AMD section. :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2013
  3. KBDE

    KBDE Master Guru

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    R290 4gb
    Its a Sapphire R9 290 4GB with hynix memory.

    I did a clean driver install, again and again.
    I made sure no nvidia leftovers are there.
    Whats crazy is that the cursor has its normal size if i grab one of the edges of a window and drag it. As soon as i let go its big again.

    Also if i logoff, the mouse is normal. If i login its big again.

    /edit: I actually just did a clean install of windows 8.1 x64
    Guess what, same mouse cursor problem. Direct after first boot it was ok (no ati drivers installed).
    Before i had to chance to download the latest ati drivers windows automatically installed the ati drivers from windows update and i had the big cursor again.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2013
  4. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
    DPI issues?
    I wonder that did Windows 8.1 also making the cursor larger while making the windows larger.
     

  5. KBDE

    KBDE Master Guru

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    R290 4gb
    Not sure, i played around with the dpi settings to no avail...

    But just to make sure its not some kind of problem with my hdtv's hdmi implementation. I will try a different 1080p monitor with DVI connection.
     
  6. macVIRII

    macVIRII New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 290x
    Mine is doing the same thing.
    But only on the clone screen (LG TV)
    I`m also having some 2d acceleration (chrome and some video playback) black screens (only driver recovery)
    Windows 8.1
     
  7. KBDE

    KBDE Master Guru

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    R290 4gb
    Ok i think i know whats the problem.

    I tried with a DVI monitor 1080p and all is fine.
    Then i also connected the HDMI HDTV in dual screen.

    Now, and this is "funny", the main screen which is now the DVI monitor the mouse is normal. If i move it to the other screen (hdmi hdtv) it jumps to the big size again. Back to primary screen small again etc.

    So what i think is the problem the stupid ati driver reads out the broken (?) edid hdmi display information of my hdtv and somehow thinks it great to just scale the mouse and leave everything else like window size etc @default.
    I wonder what the ati devs where thinking when they implemented this sh*t.

    I will need to look into some sort of reghack to disable this or maybe load a different monitor driver?
     
  8. Elite3540

    Elite3540 Master Guru

    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G OC
    So you are saying Windows automatically installs the AMD driver?

    What driver?

    Please try to uninstall it again with DDU because DDU disabled automatic installs by windows, so you can install the driver safe without windows installing the other driver automatically.

    After the install you can just launch DDU again and re-enable the settings (Default) of windows.
     
  9. KBDE

    KBDE Master Guru

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    R290 4gb
    It doesn't matter. Believe me i have tested everything so far.
    All drivers that work for the 290 have this big cursor / hdmi edid problem.
    That said, i am not done yet; there must be a way to overrride this bs.
     
  10. KBDE

    KBDE Master Guru

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    R290 4gb
    Found some edid tools
    http://www.entechtaiwan.com/util/moninfo.shtm
    http://www.avsforum.com/t/1227161/e...*******-issues-for-ati-5xxxs/90#post_18165143


    Did a readout with GetEDID-1.2 and this is the result: (check the screen size)
    Code:
    Monitor
      Model name............... SAMSUNG
      Manufacturer............. Samsung
      Plug and Play ID......... SAM0659
      Serial number............ n/a
      Manufacture date......... 2009, ISO week 45
      Filter driver............ None
      -------------------------
      EDID revision............ 1.3
      Input signal type........ Digital
      Color bit depth.......... Undefined
      Display type............. RGB color
      Screen size.............. 160 x 90 mm (7,2 in)
      Power management......... Not supported
      Extension blocs.......... 1 (CEA-EXT)
      -------------------------
      DDC/CI................... n/a
    
    Color characteristics
      Default color space...... Non-sRGB
      Display gamma............ 2,20
      Red chromaticity......... Rx 0,640 - Ry 0,330
      Green chromaticity....... Gx 0,300 - Gy 0,600
      Blue chromaticity........ Bx 0,150 - By 0,060
      White point (default).... Wx 0,313 - Wy 0,329
      Additional descriptors... None
    
    Timing characteristics
      Horizontal scan range.... 26-81kHz
      Vertical scan range...... 24-75Hz
      Video bandwidth.......... 230MHz
      CVT standard............. Not supported
      GTF standard............. Not supported
      Additional descriptors... None
      Preferred timing......... Yes
      Native/preferred timing.. 1920x1080p at 60Hz (16:9)
        Modeline............... "1920x1080" 148,500 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
      Detailed timing #1....... 1360x768p at 60Hz (16:9)
        Modeline............... "1360x768" 85,500 1360 1424 1536 1792 768 771 777 795 +hsync +vsync
    
    Standard timings supported
         720 x  400p at  70Hz - IBM VGA
         640 x  480p at  60Hz - IBM VGA
         640 x  480p at  67Hz - Apple Mac II
         640 x  480p at  72Hz - VESA
         640 x  480p at  75Hz - VESA
         800 x  600p at  60Hz - VESA
         800 x  600p at  72Hz - VESA
         800 x  600p at  75Hz - VESA
         832 x  624p at  75Hz - Apple Mac II
        1024 x  768p at  60Hz - VESA
        1024 x  768p at  70Hz - VESA
        1024 x  768p at  75Hz - VESA
        1280 x 1024p at  75Hz - VESA
        1152 x  870p at  75Hz - Apple Mac II
        1152 x  864p at  75Hz - VESA STD
        1280 x  800p at  60Hz - VESA STD
        1280 x  960p at  60Hz - VESA STD
        1280 x 1024p at  60Hz - VESA STD
        1440 x  900p at  60Hz - VESA STD
        1440 x  900p at  75Hz - VESA STD
        1680 x 1050p at  60Hz - VESA STD
        1600 x 1200p at  60Hz - VESA STD
    
    EIA/CEA-861 Information
      Revision number.......... 3
      IT underscan............. Supported
      Basic audio.............. Supported
      YCbCr 4:4:4.............. Supported
      YCbCr 4:2:2.............. Supported
      Native formats........... 1
      Detailed timing #1....... 1280x720p at 60Hz (16:9)
        Modeline............... "1280x720" 74,250 1280 1390 1430 1650 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync
      Detailed timing #2....... 1280x720p at 50Hz (16:9)
        Modeline............... "1280x720" 74,250 1280 1720 1760 1980 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync
      Detailed timing #3....... 1920x1080i at 60Hz (16:9)
        Modeline............... "1920x1080" 74,250 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 interlace +hsync +vsync
      Detailed timing #4....... 1920x1080i at 50Hz (16:9)
        Modeline............... "1920x1080" 74,250 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1094 1124 interlace +hsync +vsync
    
    CE video identifiers (VICs) - timing/formats supported
        1920 x 1080p at  60Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1) [Native]
        1920 x 1080p at  50Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1)
        1280 x  720p at  60Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1)
        1280 x  720p at  50Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1)
        1920 x 1080i at  60Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1)
        1920 x 1080i at  50Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1)
         720 x  480p at  60Hz - EDTV (16:9, 32:27)
         720 x  576p at  50Hz - EDTV (16:9, 64:45)
        1920 x 1080p at  24Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1)
        1920 x 1080p at  25Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1)
        1920 x 1080p at  30Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1)
        NB: NTSC refresh rate = (Hz*1000)/1001
    
    CE audio data (formats supported)
      LPCM    2-channel, 16/20/24 bit depths at 32/44/48 kHz
    
    CE speaker allocation data
      Channel configuration.... 2.0
      Front left/right......... Yes
      Front LFE................ No
      Front center............. No
      Rear left/right.......... No
      Rear center.............. No
      Front left/right center.. No
      Rear left/right center... No
      Rear LFE................. No
    
    CE video capability data
      CE scan behavior......... Supports overscan and underscan
      IT scan behavior......... Supports overscan and underscan
      PT scan behavior......... Not supported
      RGB quantization range... Not supported
      YCC quantization range... Not supported
    
    CE vendor specific data (VSDB)
      IEEE registration number. 0x000C03
      CEC physical address..... 1.0.0.0
      Supports AI (ACP, ISRC).. Yes
      Supports 48bpp........... No
      Supports 36bpp........... Yes
      Supports 30bpp........... Yes
      Supports YCbCr 4:4:4..... Yes
      Supports dual-link DVI... No
      Maximum TMDS clock....... 225MHz
    
    Report information
      Date generated........... 1-1-2014
      Software revision........ 2.70.0.989
      Data source.............. File
      Operating system......... 6.2.9200.2
    
    Raw data
      00,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,00,4C,2D,59,06,00,00,00,00,2D,13,01,03,80,10,09,78,0A,EE,91,A3,54,4C,99,26,
      0F,50,54,BD,EF,80,71,4F,81,00,81,40,81,80,95,00,95,0F,B3,00,A9,40,02,3A,80,18,71,38,2D,40,58,2C,
      45,00,A0,5A,00,00,00,1E,66,21,50,B0,51,00,1B,30,40,70,36,00,A0,5A,00,00,00,1E,00,00,00,FD,00,18,
      4B,1A,51,17,00,0A,20,20,20,20,20,20,00,00,00,FC,00,53,41,4D,53,55,4E,47,0A,20,20,20,20,20,01,3A,
      02,03,23,F1,4B,90,1F,04,13,05,14,03,12,20,21,22,23,09,07,07,83,01,00,00,E2,00,0F,67,03,0C,00,10,
      00,B8,2D,01,1D,00,72,51,D0,1E,20,6E,28,55,00,A0,5A,00,00,00,1E,01,1D,00,BC,52,D0,1E,20,B8,28,55,
      40,A0,5A,00,00,00,1E,01,1D,80,18,71,1C,16,20,58,2C,25,00,A0,5A,00,00,00,9E,01,1D,80,D0,72,1C,16,
      20,10,2C,25,80,A0,5A,00,00,00,9E,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,0D
    

    Well after this i've edited the edid info
    Its now:
    Code:
    Screen size.............. 820 x 460 mm (37,0 in)
    
    Created a new monitor.inf file, and installed that with disabled driving signing (why do we need signed drivers for a monitor driver microsoft!! :bang:) rebooted and presto, no more big mouse. :cheers:
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014

  11. Elite3540

    Elite3540 Master Guru

    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G OC
    Great that you've figured it out on your own. :)

    Yeah about the signed drives, if you want the one problem fixed, you'll sometimes have to give something in return to fix it.
     
  12. macVIRII

    macVIRII New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 290x
    Can you tell wich bytes you had to change?
    And if you followed any size chart for them?
    Thanks
     
  13. KBDE

    KBDE Master Guru

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    R290 4gb
    The steps i've taken are:
    Dump the edid with GetEDID-1.2, you will now have a bin and txt file.
    Open the bin file in Entech Monitor Asset Manager.
    Byte 21 and 22 (hex 15 and 16) is what you will be looking for.
    I have changed mine from 10 09 -> 52 2E

    After that click on create inf and you will have your monitor file with override EDID active. Load it without driving signing.

    I found those values googling around. My HDTV is actually a 32" but i couldn't find it that fast so i took the 37" values. One thing to remember though is that i don't think there is any checksumm correction going on in the Entech tool.

    My next step is to fix the EDID of my TV so it works without loading a monitor driver. This needs checksum correction which the vladd EDID editor can apparantly do (http://www.avsforum.com/t/1091403/edid-override-thread/540#post_17905738) I just need to find a way to actually flash the fixed EDID into the monitor. But it seems powerstrip can do this, i'm not sure if it also works over HDMI. I guess i will find out soon enough. :)
     
  14. KBDE

    KBDE Master Guru

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    R290 4gb
    I've flashed the fixed EDID info into the TV (Samsung UE32C5100).
    Every HDMI port needs to be dumped/modded/flashed independently. (i did 3 of the 4hdmi ports) It now works flawlessly.

    There are some challenges though.
    I had to use a converter to convert the EDID data so powerstrip could do something with it. Its linked at the very end of this article: http://blog.komeil.com/2008/06/fixing-edid-dvi-monitors-no-signal.html

    Once converted i had to flash it with an old laptop since it could not be done with the R9 290. Also i had to use an older powerstrip since the latest no longer has the edid function.

    To flash the tv i had to enter the servicemenu to enabled EDID writing. (info menu mute poweron).

    After this has been done you will have to remove the cached monitor edid info in the registry. First remove the monitor in the device manager, after that delete the registry keys in: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\DISPLAY]
    (use the PsExec.exe tool with regedit if it doesn't let you)

    Finally one last reboot and you're done. :)
     
  15. Mooby29

    Mooby29 Member Guru

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@1150/1500mhz
    Thanks for your awesome discovery, I've created since a monitor.inf with good values for my 46 inch tv and rebooted. The big cursor is gone but everything modern UI related now looks too big like it were in a smaller resolution so it's quite annoying. Any idea how to sort this out ?
     

  16. macVIRII

    macVIRII New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 290x
    Thanks for the reply, I did manage to edit using the Lightware APP
    *link removed due to restrictions, google is your friend*

    (It was a little more user friendly as you only have to input the width and height in centimeters, I just used the bin from getedid)

    But as the Mooby29 stated, I think everything looks bigger on the "metro" interface... My girlfriend said I was crazy, I guess not!

    I`m getting the memory at 1250mhz because of the multi screen, and I`m pretty certain that the TDR I`m suffering while in 2d (Chrome, youtube, video playback) is because of the dual monitor... (and some noise screen of death too, mainly on the 13.12 whql)

    With that in mind I think I`ll make a fresh install of my Windows 8.1 (Actual install was using the refresh tool), and let`s see if it will go away.

    I guess not to many people use clone displays to play with TVs, that really makes more difficult to discuss issues.

    Maybe I`ll try the edid flashing later...
     
  17. Mooby29

    Mooby29 Member Guru

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@1150/1500mhz
    Homscreen in 1920x1080 looks like it's running in 1366x768. Icons just look way bigger.
     
  18. KBDE

    KBDE Master Guru

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    R290 4gb
    I just checked the new interface, indeed its bigger... login screen already hmm (while first that was the only normal screen). The mouse is also big in the login screen, but now in a different way, its scaled correctly (pixel wise, if you know what i mean) Not just ugly stretched out as it was before everywhere in windows.

    You can set the modern interface to small though in options.
    But why is it defaulting to big, maybe it now detects a HDTV and presumes it should be big? Maybe we should set the display size to 0x0 instead of actual values, or to 24" or something. I will try to read out the normal pc monitor later. I wonder what values are in there.

    ATM i am testing Ubuntu + Steam (since that also gave me huge problems before i did the edid fix). Here works everything fine now, perfect size fonts etc. With ATI binairy drivers loaded.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2014
  19. KBDE

    KBDE Master Guru

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    R290 4gb
    Ok update, i think this last one is not ATI's fault but Microsoft.
    If windows detects a large screen (32Inch and bigger?) it switches the startscreen and metro interface to BIG. (you can set it small again in metro display options, but the login screen will stay big)

    If i set the screensize to 24 inch in EDID (like the monitor i have here)
    Screen size.............. 520 x 290 mm (23,4 in) (HEX 34 1D)

    Everything is as normal: small login screen, normal metro interface and also normal windows desktop interface, mouse etc.

    If you check the display settings in the metro interface where you could set it to small first, the option has now changed to set it to big instead.
    Anyway, the default option is now good.

    Long story short. Instead of real screen size set it to 24inch and its perfect.
    I think i even go so far to update the EDID in the tv again, because this bugs me already.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2014
  20. Mooby29

    Mooby29 Member Guru

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@1150/1500mhz
    Indeed, these settings work flawlessly ! Thanks A LOT !
     

Share This Page