1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BF3 Stuttering Fix 285.62

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by neckdart, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. Ouzo

    Ouzo Master Guru

    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1080Ti Gaming X
    Green flickering goes for... DICE?
     
  2. Spets

    Spets Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,981
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Green flickering is a bug in the game, so yes, even consoles are having the same issue.
     
  3. Aveon

    Aveon Master Guru

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 670 DC2
    It should be DICE issue.

    Most of the stuttering issues seem to be resolved by turning HT off
    so I suppose the driver optimizations are needed.
     
  4. Aghoithae

    Aghoithae New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX580 SLI
    On my side I prefer turning Vsync off instead of Hyper-threading.

    We can clearly see that something is weird when we us the "Render.PerfOverlayVisible 1" (put a 0 to disable the overlay) command on the console :

    -When VSync is off, the GPU and CPU numbers remain always white.
    -When VSync is on, the GPU and CPU numbers remain always red.
    -When HT on and VSync too, the GPU and CPU numbers remain always red.
    -With HT on and Vsync off, the GPU and CPU numbers remain always white.

    I believe it's more a Vsync problem rather then a HT one.
     

  5. Phroster

    Phroster Master Guru

    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 980 Ti
    Found something weird, when I connect my Xbox 360 controller, the stutter is gone ! But when using only the mouse the stutter appears, keyboard input gives no stutter.

    So this must be some kind of input issue,
    i have had similar problems with some other games, dead island, also had an input bug, that dissappeared after using the xbox 360 controller.
     
  6. Phroster

    Phroster Master Guru

    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 980 Ti
    So i got myself a razer mouse, and set it too 1000hz, i'm still testing, but it seems that this makes a big difference, played for 15 minutes, almost stutter free.

    Using the latest driver + HT off.
     
  7. OpenSystem

    OpenSystem Active Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    290x Under Water
    So looks like I finally found out what my stuttering frame issue is!

    It seems I’ve been controlling BF3 in a way that was not intended by the developers, that is I’ve been using a mouse and keyboard when I should have been using an Xbox 360 controller as intended by the developers.

    See, BF3 doesn’t have stuttering frame issues with a 360 controller.

    How silly of me.

    I have this stuttering issue on both of my PC's i7860, GTX 460 SLI and a FX 8120, HD 6950 Crossfire. Both using the same mouse, RAZER DeathAdder Left Hand Edition / Abysuss.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2011
  8. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,001
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    lololololo:wanker:


    I had the same problem with crysis 2. it only stuttered when I used the mouse


    my logitech g5 is set to 1000hz
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2011
  9. Synapzz

    Synapzz Active Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 6950 1G
    275.33 is stutter free, but the game freezes after 10 minutes or so.
     
  10. aayman_farzand

    aayman_farzand Master Guru

    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    Turn on/off rawinput in the game. Steelseries Sensei with RI on, no stutters.
     

  11. Garone

    Garone Master Guru

    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 570
    Come to think of it I also had the same issue in Crysis 2 on my old PC.
     
  12. Synapzz

    Synapzz Active Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 6950 1G
    Well I fixed it for my system...

    Went back to 285.62 and turned Raw Input - Off. No more stuttering.
     
  13. ironhorse86

    ironhorse86 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 295 GTX
  14. Steve30x

    Steve30x Master Guru

    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX1070 OC
  15. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    285.62 may not be suspected but I NOT!!

    I played at +-5 first missions without any problems (no stutter nor shadows corrupted...) running 285.62whql. I got no freeze nor BSOD issues during few hours. :D

    with ALL MAX settings DX11 except motion blur disabled at 1280x720. :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2011

  16. Virtue

    Virtue Master Guru

    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 WF3
    well done ricardonuno1980
     
  17. wonton1017

    wonton1017 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Galaxy GTX670 SLI
    This may or may not fix your problems, but I have just noticed a HUGE AMOUNT of STUTTER/MICRO-FREEZES after downgrading from 8GB to 4GB of Ripjaws DDR3-1600mhz. (I was selling my secondary PC for a great price, and the buyer wanted 8gb instead so I threw that in for him for free. Little did i know, 8gb runs 1000000x smoother than 4gb in BF3. I looked at the task manager in windows 7, BF3 is using 3.8gb of RAM when I alt-tabbed!) Once again, these RAM are the same model. Same speed, timing, heatsink, model and etc. Just different SIZE.

    I also have a friend who has 4gb, and has been complaining to me about his SLI setup stuttering. We are going to buy 8gb in a few days to get rid of the stuttering problems.

    I know for sure that in MY system, the problem will go away 100% after the upgrade. I was running this game at Ultra settings (instead of 4xAA, i used 2xAA) on multiplayer @ 1920x1080 and I average at 80fps with lowest FPS being 60fps when **** blows up in front of my face. But after downgrading to 4gb, lowest FPS hit 20. Totally unplayable for me, score/min dropping every round due to the stutters!

    **ANOTHER PROBLEM THAT CAUSES STUTTER:**
    After downgrading the RAM from 8 to 4, I forgot to change my OC settings back to 5ghz and it was running at stock speeds. And WOW, the stutter was HORRIBLE. I believe 2500k NON-OC would be some what of a bottleneck for my cards. After overclocking, it ran 2x smoother but still suffered from some RAM limited stuttering issues.

    My system:
    i5 2500k @ 5ghz
    asus maximus gene-z
    MSI Hawk GTX560TI x2 SLI
    4gb/8gb DDR3-1600mhz GSkill Ripjaws
    Silverstone Strider 1500W
    Samsung 24" 1920x1080
    2x Intel x25-M 80GB SSD Raid 0
    + 1x 128gb G Skill Falcon SSD
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1

    Anyways, good luck everyone. Try upgrading your RAM, it's worth a try. Sell your 4gb for $20-$30? Buy brand new 8gb for $40.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2011
  18. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    you don't need upgrade to 8GB RAM because I got no stutter running my 4GB RAM (see my post #175 in previous page). lool
     
  19. Barton C++

    Barton C++ Master Guru

    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk GTX460 1GB @ SLI
    game play is now smoother than most games, with HT off in bios. SLI undervolted and oc'd gpus.
     
  20. wonton1017

    wonton1017 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Galaxy GTX670 SLI
    Well I just upgraded to Mushkin Blackline Frostbyte 8gb and the stuttering is gone 100%.

    I am pretty sure in MY system, the problem was with the 4gb.

    What settings are you even running at?

    I am running at Ultra presets, 2xAA instead of 4xAA at 1920x1080.

    Pretty sure your setup can't run my settings (no offense)
     

Share This Page